Click on images below to enlarge in a new window

Untitled (Self-Portrait)

Untitled (Self-Portrait), 1924
oil on paperboard
39.4 x 44.9 cm
Collection of the Vancouver Art Gallery, Emily Carr Trust
VAG 42.3.50
Photo: Trevor Mills, Vancouver Art Gallery

Self-Portrait

Self-Portrait, 1938-1939
oil on wove paper, mounted on plywood
85.5 x 57.7 cm
National Gallery of Canada, Gift of Peter Bronfman, Toronto, 1990
30755

In Her Own Words (Grades 4–7)

Objective:

Students learn about Emily Carr the writer.

Description of Activity:

Students listen to excerpts from Carr's autobiography Growing Pains and then respond to the artist's words in written and visual form.

Duration:

1 session, 60 minutes

Background Information for Teachers:

Emily Carr struggled for recognition as a painter for most of her life. Critics, patrons and even her own family complained that her canvases were too experimental. Her work as an author, however, was an immediate success. Her first book, Klee Wyck, won the Governor General's Award for 1941, the year it was published. A semi-autobiographical account of her travels to First Nations communities in British Columbia, Klee Wyck takes its title from the name given to Carr by the Nuu-chah-nulth people during her visit to Hiitats'uu (Ucluelet) in 1899.

Carr followed Klee Wyck with two other books, The Book of Small in 1942 and The House of All Sorts in 1944. Her other major works, Growing Pains: The Autobiography of Emily Carr (1946) and Hundreds and Thousands: The Journals of An Artist (1966), were published after her death in 1945. Growing Pains and Hundreds and Thousands contain some of the most engaging examples of her writing, showing how Carr often worked out her ideas about art on the page.

Read more about Emily Carr the writer.

Preparation for Teachers:

Materials for Students:

Process:

Part I

  • Read selected excerpts from Growing Pains to students.
  • Ask students to write down points and keywords that they remember from the reading.
  • Have students draw a portrait of Carr, inspired by her words.
  • Display student portraits of Carr.

Part II

  • After a class discussion about the portraits they have created, show students Untitled (Self-Portrait), 1924. Consider how Carr depicts herself in this painting. Where is she? What is she doing? How is she posed? What is she wearing? Carr does not look at the viewer in her self-portrait. Discuss the impact of this with students.
  • How does Carr's image of herself differ from how students see her? How are the two similar? Show students Carr's later Self-Portrait, 1938–39. Compare this painting to Carr's earlier self-portrait. How do the two portraits differ? What factors might have contributed to this change?

Further Engagement:

  • In addition to her novels and autobiography, Emily Carr kept a journal in which she recorded her impressions of the world around her. Have students read a selection of her entries. They may choose to write letters to the artist, or short stories, poems or plays inspired by her life, work and words.

Appendix: The Artist In Her Own Words

Cliquer sur les images ci-dessous pour les agrandir dans une nouvelle fenêtre

Untitled (Self-Portrait)

Untitled (Self-Portrait), 1924
huile sur carton épais
39,4 x 44,9 cm
Collection de la Vancouver Art Gallery, Fonds Emily Carr
VAG 42.3.50
Photo: Trevor Mills, Vancouver Art Gallery

Self-Portrait

Self-Portrait, 1938-1939
huile sur papier vélin, monté sur contreplaqué
85,5 x 57,7 cm
Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, Don de Peter Bronfman, Toronto, 1990
30755

Dans ses propres mots (4e-7e années)

Objectif:

Les élèves se familiarisent avec Emily Carr, l’écrivaine.

Description de l’activité:

Les élèves écoutent des extraits de Les Maux de la croissance, l’autobiographie de Carr, et réagissent aux paroles de l’artiste sous forme écrite et visuelle.

Durée:

1 leçon, 60 minutes

Information de base destinée aux enseignants:

Emily Carr a lutté pendant presque toute sa vie pour être reconnue comme peintre. Les critiques, les mécènes et même sa propre famille décrivent ses tableaux comme trop expérimentaux. Son travail d’écriture, toutefois, lui vaut un succès immédiat. Son premier livre, Klee Wyck, remporte le Prix du Gouverneur général en 1941, l’année de sa publication. Récit semi-autobiographique de ses voyages dans les communautés des Premières nations de la Colombie-Britannique, Klee Wyck a pour titre le nom donné à Carr par le peuple Nuu-chah-nulth au cours de sa visite à Hiitats’uu (Ucluelet), en 1899.

Carr écrit deux autres livres après Klee Wyck, Petite (The Book of Small) en 1942 et The House of All Sorts en 1944. Ses autres œuvres majeures, Les maux de la croissance: autobiographie (Growing Pains: The Autobiography of Emily Carr) (1946) et Hundreds and Thousands: The Journals of An Artist (1966), seront publiées après son décès en 1945. Dans Les maux de la croissance et Hundreds and Thousands, on retrouve certains de ses textes les plus prenants, où l’on voit que Carr développait souvent ses idées sur l’art par l’écriture.

Pour en savoir plus sur Emily Carr, l’écrivaine.

Préparatifs des enseignants:

Matériel pour les élèves:

Marche à suivre:

Partie I

  • Lisez aux élèves des extraits choisis de Les maux de la croissance.
  • Demandez aux élèves de noter des arguments et des mots clés dont ils se souviennent suite à la lecture.
  • Invitez les élèves à dessiner un portrait de Carr, inspiré de ses paroles.
  • Exposez les portraits de Carr réalisés par les élèves.

Partie II

  • Après une discussion de groupe au sujet des portraits dessinés par les élèves, montrez-leur Untitled (Self-Portrait), 1924. Étudiez comment Carr se dépeint dans ce tableau. Où est-elle? Que fait-elle? Quelle est sa posture? Quels vêtements porte-t-elle? Dans son autoportrait, Carr ne regarde par le spectateur. Discutez avec les élèves du sens de ce choix.
  • En quoi l’image que Carr se fait d’elle-même diffère-t-elle de la vision des élèves? En quoi les deux images sont-elles semblables? Montrez aux élèves l’autoportrait plus tardif de Carr: Self-Portrait, 1938–39. Comparez ce dernier tableau à l’autoportrait antérieur de Carr. En quoi les deux portraits sont-ils différents? Quels sont les facteurs qui ont pu contribuer à ce changement?

Approfondissement:

  • En plus de ses récits et de son autobiographie, Emily Carr tenait un journal dans lequel elle notait ses impressions du monde qui l’entourait. Demandez aux élèves de lire quelques paragraphes de ce journal. Puis, invitez-les à écrire soit une lettre à l’artiste, soit une nouvelle, un poème ou une scène de théâtre que leur inspire sa vie, son œuvre et ses mots.

Annexe: L’artiste dans ses propres mots