Click on images below to enlarge in a new window

Old and New Forest

Old and New Forest, 1931-1932
oil on canvas
112.2 x 69.8 cm
Collection of the Vancouver Art Gallery, Emily Carr Trust
VAG 42.3.23
Photo: Trevor Mills, Vancouver Art Gallery

A Rushing Sea of Undergrowth

A Rushing Sea of Undergrowth, 1935
oil on canvas
112.8 x 69.0 cm
Collection of the Vancouver Art Gallery, Emily Carr Trust
VAG 42.3.17
Photo: Trevor Mills, Vancouver Art Gallery

A Sense of Place

Objective:

Students investigate ways in which Carr expressed her personal relationship to the landscape.

Description of Activity:

Students compare a literal description of a place to a description that is interpretive, meaning that it relates to experience and emotion. Students then consider this same approach to Emily Carr's paintings, building on their writing skills in the process.

Duration:

1 session, 60 minutes

Background Information for Teachers:

Emily Carr was both a visual artist and a writer. In her artwork and her books she explored her deep love of nature, in particular the forests, mountains, seas and skies of British Columbia. Using words and paintings, she tried to communicate a sense of the powerful experience of being in nature. In her paintings she uses strong, bright colours, solid forms and waving lines of colour in the earth and sky that create a sense of energy. In her books she uses descriptive words and metaphors to share a sense of energy and growth. Here is a short passage from her journal, published in 1966 under the title Hundreds and Thousands:

…go into the woods alone and look at the earth crowded with growth, new and old bursting from their strong roots hidden in the silent, live ground, each seed according to its own kind expanding, bursting, pushing its way upward toward the light and air, each one knowing what to do, each one demanding its own rights on the earth. Feel this growth, the surging upward, the expansion, the pulsing life…

Reading Carr's works enables us to see her paintings in a new way, and looking at her paintings can help us to understand her words.

To read more about Emily Carr's interest in the landscape of British Columbia.

Preparation for Teachers:

Materials for Students:

Process:

Part I

  • Invite students to choose a personal, special place as the focus of their work. This place can be real or imaginary.
  • Ask students to create a precise written description of that special place, describing it literally, explaining exactly what we would see there.
  • Have students describe why the place is so special to them. Encourage them to use specific, expressive, descriptive language that conveys experiences and feelings. Ask them: What is it like to be in your place? How does it feel? How do you feel when you are there? What do you think about? What do you see, smell, hear and touch?
  • Ask students to compare the two pieces of writing, focusing on how one is a record of a place, whereas the other is a reflection of how that place makes them feel.

Part II

  • Invite students to look at reproductions of Emily Carr's work and to repeat the writing exercise, focusing on what she is trying to show literally (the sky, water, the forest) and then describing what they think made the place important to Carr.

Discussion:

  • Discuss the way that Emily Carr tried to combine these two types of descriptions in her art and writing. She captured not only the look of a place, but also her experience of that place.

Further Engagement:

  • Have students read an excerpt from Carr's journal, published in 1966 as Hundreds and Thousands: The Journals of An Artist, to see if their interpretation of Carr's paintings is similar to what the artist wanted to communicate with her work.

Cliquer sur les images ci-dessous pour les agrandir dans une nouvelle fenêtre

Old and New Forest

Old and New Forest, 1931-1932
huile sur toile
112,2 x 69,8 cm
Collection de la Vancouver Art Gallery, Fonds Emily Carr
VAG 42.3.23
Photo: Trevor Mills, Vancouver Art Gallery

A Rushing Sea of Undergrowth

A Rushing Sea of Undergrowth, 1935
huile sur toile
112,8 x 69,0 cm
Collection de la Vancouver Art Gallery, Fonds Emily Carr
VAG 42.3.17
Photo: Trevor Mills, Vancouver Art Gallery

Le sens du paysage et du lieu

Objectif:

Les élèves explorent les diverses façons dont Carr a exprimé sa relation personnelle au paysage.

Description de l’activité:

Les élèves vont comparer une description littérale d’un lieu à une description qui fait place à l’interprétation en évoquant l’expérience et l’émotion du sujet. Puis, les élèves vont étudier de la même façon des peintures d’Emily Carr, en exerçant à l’occasion leur aptitude à écrire.

Durée:

1 leçon, 60 minutes

Information de base destinée aux enseignants:

Emily Carr était à la fois une artiste en arts visuels et une écrivaine. Dans ses œuvres graphiques et ses livres, elle a exploré son profond amour de la nature, notamment des forêts, des montagnes, des scènes marines et des ciels de la Colombie-Britannique. Par les mots et par la peinture, elle a tenté de communiquer l’intensité de l’expérience vécue dans la nature. Dans ses peintures, elle utilise pour le sol et le ciel des couleurs fortes et vives, des formes solides et des lignes de couleur onduleuses qui créent une impression d’énergie. Dans ses livres, elle se sert de mots descriptifs et de métaphores pour partager des sentiments d’énergie et de croissance. Voici un court extrait de son journal, publié en 1966 sous le titre Hundreds and Thousands:

Va dans les bois, seule, et regarde la terre encombrée par la végétation nouvelle et ancienne jaillissant de solides racines cachées dans le sol silencieux et vivant, chaque graine selon sa propre espèce prenant de l’expansion, surgissant à son propre rythme, montant, se frayant un chemin vers la lumière et l’air, chacune sachant ce qu’il faut faire, chacune revendiquant ses propres droits sur la terre. Ressens cette croissance, la poussée vers le haut, l’expansion, la vie qui bat…

La lecture des livres de Carr nous permet de voir ses peintures d’un oeil neuf, alors que l’observation de ses peintures nous aide à comprendre ses écrits.

En savoir plus sur l’intérêt d’Emily Carr pour le paysage de la Colombie-Britannique.

Préparatifs des enseignants:

Matériel pour les élèves:

Marche à suivre:

Partie I

  • Invitez les élèves à choisir un lieu personnel et spécial qui inspirera leur travail. Ce lieu peut être réel ou imaginaire.
  • Demandez aux élèves de créer une description écrite, précise et détaillée de ce lieu spécial en expliquant exactement ce qu’on pourrait y voir.
  • Puis, faites-leur écrire pourquoi cet endroit leur est si précieux. Encouragez-les à utiliser une langue précise, expressive, descriptive qui communique des expériences et des émotions. Demandez-leur: «Comment est ce lieu? À quoi ressemble le fait d’y être? Comment s’y sent-on? Comment vous sentez-vous quand vous y êtes? À quoi pensez-vous? Qu’est-ce que vous voyez, sentez, entendez et touchez?»
  • Enfin, demandez aux élèves de comparer leurs deux textes, en notant bien que l’un constitue un compte rendu factuel d’un lieu, alors que l’autre est un reflet de ce qu’il leur fait ressentir.

Partie II

  • Invitez les élèves à regarder des reproductions d’Emily Carr et à refaire l’exercice d’écriture précédent, en mettant d’abord l’accent sur ce que l’artiste essaie de montrer précisément (le ciel, l’eau, la forêt), puis en décrivant ce qui, à leurs yeux, rendait ces endroits précieux pour elle.

Discussion:

  • Discutez avec les élèves de la manière dont Emily Carr a essayé de combiner ces deux types de descriptions dans son art et son écriture. Elle rendait non seulement l’apparence d’un lieu, mais aussi ce qu’elle y ressentait.

Approfondissement:

  • Invitez les élèves à lire un extrait du journal de Carr publié en 1966, Hundreds and Thousands: The Journals of An Artist, afin de vérifier si leur interprétation des peintures de Carr est semblable à ce que l’artiste voulait communiquer dans son travail.