Click on images below to enlarge in a new window

A Skidegate Pole

A Skidegate Pole, 1941-1942
oil on canvas
87.0 x 76.5 cm
Collection of the Vancouver Art Gallery, Emily Carr Trust
VAG 42.3.37
Photo: Trevor Mills, Vancouver Art Gallery

A Remarkable Woman

Objective:

Students learn about Emily Carr as a woman artist working in turn-of-the-century western Canada. Designed to expand both listening and oral communications skills, this activity also asks students to translate what they learn into written form.

Description of Activity:

Students examine a work by Carr and use it to discuss the changing role of women over time.

Duration:

2 sessions, 60 minutes each

Background Information for Teachers:

While there have always been women artists, not all of them have had the same opportunities to develop their skills or to showcase their work that men have had. In Canada, Emily Carr was part of the first generation of women to attend official art academies. She began her studies in San Francisco and went on to study art in England and Paris. As a student she encountered a number of obstacles to embarking on a career as a professional artist, not the least of which was her discomfort with drawing the nude body from life.

Nevertheless, Carr persisted in her ambitions, choosing the life of an artist over that of a wife and mother, the usual roles of women in her day. She was resolute in her decision, but her writing sometimes reveals a sense of loneliness and frustration at society's expectations. She also alludes to the dominance of male artists, especially the members of the Group of Seven. Some authors argue that Carr looked to male authority figures for approval of her own work. Whether or not this was the case, Carr's life and her career point out the divide that existed between men and women in her day and the implications that this had for her work as an artist.

Preparation for Teachers:

  • Examine A Skidegate Pole, 1941-1942.
  • Read the excerpts (Appendix 1) that follow this activity for an idea of some of the challenges that Carr faced as a woman artist.

Materials for Students:

  • Reproduction of A Skidegate Pole, 1941-1942 (one for each group)
  • Flip chart
  • Markers
  • Lined paper
  • Writing materials

Process:

  • Choose one or more of the excerpts (Appendix 1) that follow this activity and read them to the class, listing any words that are unfamiliar to students (and their definitions) on a flip chart.
  • Divide the class into four groups. Give each group a reproduction of A Skidegate Pole, 1941-1942, as well as a copy of the background information for students (Appendix 2) that follows this activity.
  • Ask each group to consider the following questions in relation to the image, using the information provided:
    • Do you think it would be easier for women today to do what Carr did? Explain why or why not.
    • Can you think of examples in today's world where men and women are expected to do certain things and not others?
    • Was it easier for the men or the women in your group to come to Canada to study/work?
    • Do you know what life was like for women in your home country in the 1920s and 1930s? Do you think a woman artist could have lived as Carr did, in your home country seventy years ago?
  • Have each group present their answers to the class.

Discussion:

  • Have each student write a paragraph summarizing what he or she has learned about Carr as a woman artist working in turn-of-the-century western Canada. Ask students to read their summaries to the class.

Further Engagement:

  • Screen the video The Other Side of the Picture, 1999, which discusses the challenges faced by women artists in Canada over the last 100 years. Ask students to write down any information that they feel is relevant to Carr. This information can be directly about the artist, or it can reflect the larger social realities that characterized the period in which Carr lived.

Appendix: quotes from Emily Carr
Appendix: resource on landscape painting

Cliquer sur les images ci-dessous pour les agrandir dans une nouvelle fenêtre

A Skidegate Pole

A Skidegate Pole, 1941-1942
huile sur toile
87,0 x 76,5 cm
Collection de la Vancouver Art Gallery, Fonds Emily Carr
VAG 42.3.37
Photo: Trevor Mills, Vancouver Art Gallery

Une femme remarquable

Objectif:

Les élèves se renseignent sur Emily Carr, une artiste peintre du début du siècle dernier dans l’Ouest canadien. Conçue pour améliorer les aptitudes d’écoute et de communication orale des élèves, cette activité les amènera également à donner une forme écrite à leurs apprentissages.

Description de l’activité:

Les élèves examinent une œuvre de Carr et l’utilisent pour discuter de l’évolution du rôle des femmes au fil du temps.

Durée:

2 leçons, de 60 minutes chacune

Information de base destinée aux enseignants:

Bien qu’il y ait toujours eu des femmes artistes, toutes n’ont pas eu la possibilité de développer leur talent ou de présenter leur travail, à l’instar des hommes de ce milieu. Au Canada, Emily Carr fait partie de la première génération de femmes à avoir fréquenté des écoles d’art reconnues. Elle a commencé ses études à San Francisco et les a poursuivies en Angleterre et à Paris. Comme étudiante, elle a fait face à un certain nombre d’obstacles à son engagement dans une carrière d’artiste professionnelle, le moindre d’entre eux n’étant pas son inconfort à dessiner des nus d’après nature.

Néanmoins, Carr a persisté dans ses ambitions et choisi la vie d’artiste plutôt que celle d’épouse et de mère, rôles habituels des femmes à son époque. Elle a mené à terme cette décision, mais ses écrits révèlent parfois un sentiment de solitude et de frustration en regard des attentes de la société. Elle fait aussi allusion à la dominance des artistes masculins, particulièrement ceux du Groupe des Sept. Certains auteurs soutiennent que Carr a cherché auprès de figures d’autorité masculines une approbation de son travail. Quoi qu’il en soit, la vie de Carr et sa carrière soulignent l’écart qui existait entre les hommes et les femmes à son époque et les implications de cette réalité dans son travail d’artiste.

Préparatifs pour les enseignants:

  • Examinez A Skidegate Pole, 1941-1942.
  • Lisez les extraits (voir annexe 1) suivant cette activité afin de vous faire une idée de certains des défis que Carr a dû relever en tant que femme artiste.

Materiel pour les élèves:

  • Reproductions de A Skidegate Pole, 1941-1942 (une par groupe)
  • Tableau à feuilles volantes
  • Marqueurs
  • Papier réglé
  • Matériel d’écriture

Marche à suivre:

  • Choisissez un ou plusieurs des extraits (voir annexe 1) suivant cette activité et lisez-les en classe, en inscrivant les mots inconnus des élèves (et leur définition) sur un tableau à feuilles volantes.
  • Divisez la classe en quatre groupes. Donnez à chaque groupe une reproduction de A Skidegate Pole, 1941-1942, et une copie de l’information de base destinée aux élèves (vior annexe 2) qui suit cette activité.
  • Demandez à chaque groupe de réfléchir aux questions suivantes relatives à l’image, en utilisant l’information fournie:
    • Pensez-vous qu’il serait plus facile aujourd’hui pour les femmes de faire ce qu’a fait Carr? Expliquez votre réponse.
    • Pouvez-vous donner des exemples d’attentes que l’on a ou que l’on n’a pas aujourd’hui à l’égard des femmes et des hommes?
    • A-t-il été plus facile pour les hommes ou les femmes de votre groupe de venir au Canada pour étudier ou travailler?
    • Savez-vous comment était la vie pour les femmes dans votre pays d’origine dans les années 1920 et 1930? Pensez-vous qu’une femme artiste aurait pu vivre comme Carr il y a soixante-dix ans, dans votre pays d’origine?
  • Demandez à chaque groupe de présenter ses réponses à la classe.

Discussion:

  • Demandez à chaque élève d’écrire un paragraphe résumant ce qu’il ou elle a appris sur Carr en tant que femme artiste œuvrant au tournant du siècle dans l’Ouest du Canada. Demandez aux élèves de lire leur résumé à la classe.

Approfondissement:

  • Projetez la vidéo The Other Side of the Picture, 1999, qui traite des défis auxquels ont fait face les artistes canadiennes au cours des 100 dernières années. Demandez aux élèves d’en tirer par écrit toute information qu’ils jugent applicable à Carr. Cette information peut porter directement sur l’artiste ou peut être le reflet des réalités sociales plus larges caractéristiques de la période où Carr a vécu.

Annexe: citations d'Emily Carr
Annexe: ressources sur les tableaux de paysages