Click on images below to enlarge in a new window

Forest, British Columbia

Forest, British Columbia, 1931–1932
oil on canvas
130.0 x 86.8 cm
Collection of the Vancouver Art Gallery, Emily Carr Trust
VAG 42.3.9
Photo: Trevor Mills, Vancouver Art Gallery

Island, MacCullam Lake

Lawren Harris
Island, MacCullam Lake, 1921
oil on burlap
76.0 x 96.7 cm
Collection of the Vancouver Art Gallery, Transfer from Women's Auxiliary Provincial School Loan Scheme
VAG 65.23
Photo: Trevor Mills, Vancouver Art Gallery

What it Means to be Canadian

Objective:

Students examine Emily Carr's paintings within the context of national identity.

Description of Activity:

Looking at works by members of the Group of Seven and Emily Carr, students compose a letter to a friend or relative in their home country, describing what it means to be Canadian.

Duration:

1 session, 60 minutes

Background Information for Teachers:

One of Carr's most compelling written statements on art appeared in the McGill News in June 1929. Here she called for the formation of a uniquely Canadian art:

What are we Canadian artists of the west going to do with our art? We are young yet, and are only slowly finding a way, but are we obliged to bedeck ourselves in borrowed plumes and copy art born of other countries and not ours?

Carr was not alone in the search for a new visual language to express her sense of the land that she felt was unlike any other. In the early decades of the twentieth century, many artists shared this goal; the most prominent among them were members of the Group of Seven. Made up of seven male artists from Ontario, the Group of Seven sought to capture the spirit of the Canadian landscape in their work, through expressive colours and simplified forms that they believed reflected the essence of their subject.

Carr did not meet the Group of Seven members until 1927, when she went east to participate in an exhibition at the National Gallery in Ottawa. At that time she was already employing similar techniques in her own work. Her treatment of trees as emblematic of the land found a parallel in the paintings of the Group of Seven. This suggests that at the time, Canada's wilderness landscape provided the most vivid sense of what it was like to live in this country, an image that persists to this day.

Preparation for Teachers:

  • Examine Carr's Forest, British Columbia, 1931–1932, and Lawren Harris' Island, MacCullam Lake, 1921.
  • Read the excerpt (Appendix) that follows this activity, describing the influence of Lawren Harris on Carr's work. The two artists developed a close friendship after meeting in 1927. For many years, Carr and Harris wrote letters to each other, discussing their ideas about art and nationhood.

Materials for Students:

Process:

  • Show students reproductions of Carr's Forest, British Columbia, 1931–1932, and Lawren Harris' Island, MacCullam Lake, 1921.
  • Tell students about the Group of Seven and their relationship to Emily Carr.
  • Ask students to consider Carr's work and Harris' work from the perspective of what it means to be Canadian. What type of impression is created by their work? How is this different from the work of artists in other countries? What do these two paintings say about Canada?
  • Invite each student to write a letter to a friend or a relative in their home country, describing how Carr and Harris depicted Canada in their paintings.

Discussion:

  • Invite students to share their letters with the rest of the class. Does the image of Canada created by Carr and Harris correspond to their experience of this country?

Further Engagement:

Questions of identity and nationality continue to be of interest to Canadian artists. Invite students to find a contemporary artist whose work shows similar concerns to those of Harris and Carr, and have students share what they learn about this artist with the rest of the class. Suggestions: Liz Magor, Jack Shadbolt, Jeff Wall.

Appendix: quotes from Emily Carr

Cliquer sur les images ci-dessous pour les agrandir dans une nouvelle fenêtre

Forest, British Columbia

Forest, British Columbia, 1931–1932
huile sur toile
130,0 x 86,8 cm
Collection de la Vancouver Art Gallery, Fonds Emily Carr
VAG 42.3.9
Photo: Trevor Mills, Vancouver Art Gallery

Island, MacCullam Lake

Lawren Harris
Island, MacCullam Lake, 1921
huile sur jute
76,0 x 96,7 cm
Collection de la Vancouver Art Gallery, Prêt de la Women’s Auxiliary Provincial School
VAG 65.23
Photo: Trevor Mills, Vancouver Art Gallery

Le sens de l’identité canadienne

Objectif:

Les élèves étudient les peintures d’Emily Carr en lien avec notre identité nationale.

Description de l’activité:

En regardant des œuvres des membres du Groupe des Sept et d’Emily Carr, les élèves composent une lettre, adressée à une personne amie ou de leur parenté dans leur pays d’origine, pour tenter de décrire le sens de l’identité canadienne.

Durée:

1 leçon, 60 minutes

Information de base destinée aux enseignants:

Une des assertions les plus marquantes de Carr au sujet de l’art a été publiée dans le McGill News en juin 1929. Elle y faisait appel à la création d’un art spécifiquement canadien:

Qu’allons-nous faire de notre art, nous artistes canadiens de l’Ouest? Nous sommes encore jeunes et commençons tout juste à trouver notre manière, mais sommes-nous tenus de nous affubler de panaches empruntés et de copier un art issu d’autres pays et non du nôtre?

Carr n’était pas seule dans sa recherche d’un nouveau langage visuel exprimant l’identité d’un pays sans pareil à ses yeux. Durant les premières décennies du vingtième siècle, nombre d’artistes partageaient cet objectif. Les plus éminents d’entre eux étaient les membres du Groupe des Sept. Ces sept peintres ontariens, tous des hommes, cherchaient à capturer l’esprit du paysage canadien, par l’emploi dans leurs tableaux de couleurs expressives et de formes simplifiées qui reflétaient, selon eux, l’essence de leur sujet.

Ce n’est qu’en 1927 que Carr a rencontré les membres du Groupe des Sept, lorsqu’elle s’est rendue dans l’Est pour participer à une exposition au Musée des beaux-arts du Canada. À cette époque, elle employait déjà des techniques semblables aux leurs. Son traitement des arbres comme emblématiques du territoire a trouvé un parallèle dans les peintures du Groupe des Sept. Cela laisse croire qu’à cette époque, les paysages sauvages du Canada constituaient l’illustration la plus marquée du sens de la vie dans notre pays, image qui persiste à ce jour.

Préparatifs pour les enseignants:

  • Examinez les œuvres de Carr Forest, British Columbia, 1931–1932, et de Lawren Harris Island, MacCullam Lake, 1921.
  • Lisez l’extrait (voir annexe) suivant cette activité, qui décrit l’influence de Lawren Harris sur le travail de Carr. Une grande amitié est née de leur rencontre en 1927 et pendant bien des années, Carr et Harris ont discuté par lettres de leurs idées sur l’art et l’identité nationale.

Materiel pour les élèves:

Marche à suivre:

  • Montrez aux élèves les reproductions des œuvres de Carr (Forest, British Columbia, 1931–1932) et de Harris (Island, MacCullam Lake, 1921).
  • Parlez aux élèves du Groupe des Sept et de sa relation avec Emily Carr.
  • Demandez aux élèves de réfléchir à l’œuvre de Carr et à celle de Harris en termes de ce que signifie l’identité canadienne. Quelle est l’impression créée par leur travail? Comment cette impression diffère-t-elle du travail d’artistes dans d’autres pays? Que nous disent ces peintures au sujet du Canada?
  • Invitez chaque élève à écrire une lettre à une personne amie ou de leur parenté dans leur pays d’origine, en décrivant la façon dont Carr et Harris ont représenté le Canada dans leurs peintures.

Discussion:

  • Invitez les élèves à lire leur lettre au reste de la classe. L’image du Canada créée par Carr et Harris correspond-elle à leur expérience de notre pays?

Approfondissement:

  • Les questions d’identité et de nationalité continuent à intéresser les artistes canadiens. Invitez les élèves à découvrir une ou un artiste contemporain faisant preuve par son travail de préoccupations similaires à celles de Harris et de Carr, et demandez aux élèves de partager leurs trouvailles concernant cette personne avec le reste de la classe. Suggestions: Liz Magor, Jack Shadbolt, Jeff Wall.

Annexe: citations d'Emily Carr