Teacher’s Glossary

abstraction: the move toward simplified forms and expressive colours, in segments of Western art from the early twentieth century onward.

avant-garde: experimental or progressive. The word is a French term that originally referred to the front lines of armed forces during battle, and since the early twentieth century has described artists that seek to defy existing practices and traditions.

British landscape tradition / nineteenth-century British watercolour tradition: the practice among British painters of producing small paintings of the natural world, usually from a viewpoint that underscores the majesty of the land.

colour: can be described in three ways: hue, the name of the colour; value, the lightness or darkness of the colour; intensity, the brightness or dullness of the colour. In a work of art, colour can serve to attract the viewer’s attention, suggest emotion and mood, create space, contrast and texture, and suggest symbolic meaning.

Cubism: a style of painting initiated in about 1908 by Georges Braque and Pablo Picasso, in which an artist represents a subject from multiple angles, using simplified geometric forms.

Fauvism: a style of painting that developed in France in the late 1890s, characterized by the use of such unexpected and vibrant colours that in 1905, an art critic labelled its practitioners—among them Henri Matisse and André Derain—les fauves, or “wild beasts.”

First Nations: the indigenous and Native peoples of Canada.

form: the structure of a work of art, or the defined shapes within a painting or sculpture. A form can be geometric or organic, open or closed.

Futurism: a literary and artistic movement founded by the Italian poet Filippo Thommaso Marinetti. Futurism called for the destruction of existing social structures and embraced technology as the way to a more egalitarian existence.

German Expressionists: a group of artists, architects and writers who sought to address the anxieties of modern life through their work. Most pronounced in the years immediately before the First World War, German Expressionism is closely tied to primitivism.

Governor General’s Literary Award: the highest literary honour in Canada, first awarded in 1937.

Group of Seven: a collective of seven Ontario painters who worked toward a unique way to paint the Canadian landscape. The group began painting together in around 1912 and held their first public exhibition in 1920.

Harris, Lawren: Canadian painter (1885–1970), a founding member of the Group of Seven. Often seen as the intellectual and spiritual leader of the Group, Harris became a close friend and mentor to Emily Carr after the two met in 1927. It was Harris who introduced Carr to theosophy and encouraged her to paint the landscape.

Impressionism: late-nineteenth-century art movement in which painters tried to capture a sense of light and movement through small, unblended dabs of paint that were applied quickly to the canvas.

landscape: artwork that takes the natural world as its subject, although other elements can also be present. In Western art, landscape paintings became associated with nationalistic goals during the nineteenth century.

line: in a work of art, a mark made to draw attention to different parts of a composition. Lines also enclose or delineate forms, and create texture, rhythm and a sense of motion.

medium: the physical material that an artist uses in producing his or her work.

Modern: a term used to describe artwork, thinking and other activities that value new ideas and approaches, and a sense of progress. In art, it refers to Western art produced after European industrialization (late nineteenth century), made by artists who seek to use new materials and new forms and to espouse new ideas.

perspective: the illusion of depth in a two-dimensional work of art. Perspective can also mean a point of view, either of a particular subject or the world at large.

Post-Impressionism: a style of artwork that followed Impressionism. Practitioners of this style discarded a concern with light and nature in favour of exploring geometric form and symbolic content.

Salon d’Automne: an exhibition event founded in 1903 in opposition to the official Paris Salon. It offered modern artists an annual forum to show their work.

sketch: a preliminary composition, used as a tool for planning a larger and more complicated work of art, and usually executed quickly. Emily Carr often sketched a subject on site and later worked that sketch into a painting in her studio.

still life: a work of art that features an arrangement of flowers, fruit and/or a variety of other consumable or inanimate objects, usually set indoors. Still life was a popular painting genre in Europe from the beginning of the seventeenth century.

style: the mode or manner in which an artist generally works. The term can also refer to a particular period in an artist’s career.

subject: the person or thing that an artist selects as the focus of a composition. In Western art, until the twentieth century, historical subjects were considered much more worthy subjects for artwork than landscapes and still life.

symbol: an object, image or text that represents something other than itself, particularly an abstract idea.

theosophy: a late nineteenth-century philosophical movement that combines a variety of belief systems to seek an underlying universal harmony. In art, the use of geometrical forms was seen to exemplify this harmony in its purest form.

Tobey, Mark: American painter (1890–1976) who met Emily Carr in Seattle, where he taught painting. A practitioner of Cubism, Tobey also taught in Victoria in 1928 and had a considerable influence on Carr’s work.

Glossaire pédagogique

abstraction : mouvement privilégiant une simplification des formes et l’utilisation de couleurs expressives, qui s’est développé dans certains milieux artistiques occidentaux dès le début du vingtième siècle.

avant-garde : expérimental ou progressiste. Mot d’origine française désignant à l’origine la partie avant d'une armée au combat. Depuis le début du vingtième siècle, le terme désigne les artistes qui cherchent à défier les pratiques existantes et les traditions.

couleur : la couleur peut être décrite selon trois caractéristiques : le ton, soit la couleur elle-même; la valeur, soit la qualité plus ou moins foncée de la couleur; et l’intensité, son degré de luminosité. Dans une œuvre, la couleur peut être utilisée pour attirer l’attention du public, évoquer une émotion ou une ambiance, créer l’espace, les contrastes ou les textures, ou suggérer un sens symbolique.

Croquis (ou esquisse) : travail préliminaire, d’habitude exécuté rapidement et utilisé comme outil dans la planification d’une œuvre plus grande et plus élaborée. Emily Carr réalisait souvent ses croquis sur le motif (en présence du sujet observé), puis s’en servait dans les peintures qu’elle créait en atelier.

cubisme : école de peinture née vers 1908 du travail de Georges Braque et Pablo Picasso, où l’artiste représente le sujet à partir d’angles multiples, à l’aide de formes géométriques simples.

expressionnistes allemands : groupe d’artistes, d’architectes et d’écrivains qui ont cherché à traiter dans leurs œuvres des angoisses de la vie moderne. Surtout actif dans les années précédant la Première Guerre mondiale, l’expressionnisme allemand est étroitement lié au primitivisme.

fauvisme : école de peinture apparue en France à la fin des années 1890, caractérisée par l’utilisation de couleurs si inattendues et vibrantes qu’en 1905, un critique d’art désignait ses membres – entre autres Henri Matisse et André Derain – de fauves.

forme : la structure d’une œuvre d’art, ou les formes définies dans une peinture ou une sculpture. Une forme peut être géométrique ou organique, ouverte ou fermée.

futurisme : mouvement littéraire et artistique fondé par le poète italien Filippo Thommaso Marinetti. Le futurisme exigeait la destruction des structures sociales existantes et épousait la technologie comme façon d’atteindre à une existence plus égalitaire.

Groupe des Sept : regroupement de sept artistes de l’Ontario, qui ont cherché une façon originale de peindre le paysage canadien. Les membres du groupe ont commencé à peindre ensemble vers 1912. Leur première exposition a eu lieu en 1920.

Harris, Lawren : peintre canadien (1885–1970); un des membres fondateurs du Groupe des Sept. Souvent perçu comme le leader intellectuel et spirituel du groupe, Harris est devenu un ami proche et le mentor d’Emily Carr à la suite de leur rencontre en 1927. Il lui a fait découvrir la théosophie et l’a encouragée à peindre le paysage.

impressionisme : mouvement artistique de la fin du dix-neuvième siècle où les peintres tentaient de capter la lumière et le mouvement par des petites touches de peinture pure appliquées rapidement sur la toile.

ligne : dans une œuvre d’art, marque tracée pour attirer l’attention vers différentes parties d’une composition. Les lignes peuvent aussi entourer ou définir des formes, créer une texture, un rythme et un sentiment de mouvement.

moderne : terme utilisé pour qualifier une œuvre d’art, une pensée ou quelque autre activité mettant en valeur de nouvelles idées et approches et évoquant la notion de progrès. En art, le terme fait référence à l’art occidental produit après la révolution industrielle européenne (fin du dix-neuvième siècle) par des artistes cherchant la nouveauté sur le plan des matériaux, des formes et des idées.

moyen d’expression : le matériel qu’utilise l’artiste pour produire une œuvre donnée.

nature morte : arrangement composé de fleurs, de fruits ou d’autres aliments ou objets, habituellement représentés en intérieur. Ce genre pictural a été populaire en Europe à partir du début du dix-septième siècle.

paysage : œuvre d’art ayant comme sujet le monde naturel, bien que d’autres éléments puissent aussi être présents. Dans l’art occidental, la peinture de paysage est devenue associée à des enjeux nationalistes durant le dix-neuvième siècle.

perspective : illusion de profondeur dans une œuvre bidimensionnelle. La perspective peut aussi désigner un point de vue sur un sujet particulier ou sur le monde en général.

postimpressionnisme : style artistique qui a succédé à l’impressionnisme. Les artistes postimpressionnistes ont rejeté l’attention à la lumière et à la nature pour mettre l’accent sur l’exploration de la forme géométrique et du contenu symbolique.

Premières nations : les peuples autochtones du Canada.

Prix littéraire du Gouverneur général : la plus prestigieuse distinction littéraire au Canada, conférée pour la première fois en 1937.

Salon d’Automne : exposition annuelle tenue pour la première fois en 1903, en opposition à la manifestation officielle qu’était le Salon de Paris. Le Salon d’Automne permettait aux artistes modernes de montrer leur travail chaque année.

style : manière habituelle dont travaille l’artiste. Le terme peut aussi faire référence à une période précise de sa carrière.

sujet : la personne ou l’objet que l’artiste choisit de représenter. Dans l’art occidental, jusqu’au vingtième siècle, les sujets à caractère historique étaient considérés comme beaucoup plus nobles que le paysage et la nature morte.

symbole : objet, image ou texte qui évoque autre chose que lui-même, en particulier une idée abstraite.

théosophie : mouvement philosophique de la fin du dix-neuvième siècle combinant divers systèmes de croyance dans la recherche d’une harmonie universelle sous-jacente. En art, l’utilisation de formes géométriques était perçue comme l’illustration de cette harmonie dans sa forme la plus pure.

Tobey, Mark : peintre américain (1890–1976) qui a rencontré Emily Carr à Seattle, où il enseignait la peinture. Praticien du cubisme, Tobey a aussi enseigné à Victoria en 1928. Il a beaucoup influencé le travail de Carr.

tradition du paysage anglais / tradition britannique de l’aquarelle au dix-neuvième siècle : pratique des peintres britanniques qui consiste à peindre de petits tableaux de paysages naturels, habituellement d’un point de vue qui en souligne la majesté.