Back to lesson plan

Appendix: Different Ways of Looking

January 1, 1936:

I painted one of the thick jungle sketches. Perhaps I am getting "junglier." They won't be popular. Few people know the jungle, or care about it or want to understand it. An organized tumult of growth, that's what those thick undergrowth woods are, and yet there is room for all. Every seed has sprung up, poked itself through the rich soil and felt its way into the openest space within reach, no crowding, taking its share, part of the "scheme." All its generations before it did the same. Mercy, they are vital! There is nothing to compare with the push of life.

Emily Carr, Hundreds and Thousands: The Journals of An Artist. Toronto: Irwin Publishing, 1966, p. 214.

Many labels…have been pinned on Emily in the last few years…One that is often mentioned of late is "environmentalist"…Emily was a naturalist, almost a nature-worshipper, and she instinctively respected and loved the great British Columbia forests and clear-running rivers and streams. Littering, or any kind of destruction, was abhorrent to her and she was pained and shocked by the ruthless devastation caused by logging operations.

Edythe Hembroff-Schleicher, Emily Carr: The Untold Story. Saanichton: Hancock House, 1978, p. 274.

I think that Carr's late expressionist paintings of the forest also have to be seen as profoundly historical…the turbulence of Carr's paintings, produced within the same tradition of an allegorical national landscape, talks about the real turbulence of that history as enacted on the land—the industrialization of the wilderness.

Robert Linsley, "Landscapes in Motion: Lawren Harris, Emily Carr and the Heterogeneous Modern Nation" in Oxford Art Journal, v. 19, 1986, pp. 80–95.

In Grey there is no Indian form, though much of the Indian spirit is there: a dim and enfolded world, an iconic confronting silence, a symbolic eye, a glimpse into the secret inner heart of the timeless placeless forest. In no work do we find a stronger more poetic statement of Carr's mystical participation in the dark and haunted spirit of the forest to which the Indian had awakened her.

Doris Shadbolt, Emily Carr. Vancouver: Douglas & McIntyre, 1990, p. 143.

Retour aux Plans de lešons

Annexe: Regards différents

Le 1er janvier 1936:

J’ai peint un de mes croquis de jungle épaisse. Je deviens peut-être «plus jungle». Ces croquis ne seront pas aimés. Peu de gens connaissent la jungle, s’en soucient ou veulent la comprendre. Un bouleversement organisé de la croissance, voilà ce que sont ces sous-bois touffus; et pourtant il y a de la place pour tout. Chaque semence a germé, perçant le sol fertile pour émerger à l’endroit le plus ouvert à sa portée, sans empiéter sur les autres, occupant sa place comme partie du «grand tout». Les générations précédentes ont toutes fait la même chose. Dieu soit loué! elles sont vitales! Rien ne se compare à cette poussée de la vie.

Emily Carr, Hundreds and Thousands: The Journals of An Artist. Toronto, Irwin Publishing, 1966, p. 214.

Beaucoup d’étiquettes ont été accolées à Emily depuis quelques années … Dernièrement, on l’a souvent qualifiée d’«environnementaliste» … Emily était une naturaliste, presque une adoratrice de la nature, et elle respectait et aimait instinctivement les grandes forêts de la Colombie-Britannique et ses rivières et ruisseaux aux eaux limpides. Elle abhorrait les détritus et toute forme de destruction, et la dévastation impitoyable causée par les opérations forestières la peinait et la choquait.

Edythe Hembroff-Schleicher, Emily Carr: The Untold Story. Saanichton, Hancock House, 1978, p. 274.

Je crois que les derniers tableaux forestiers expressionnistes peints par Carr doivent également être perçus comme profondément historiques … la turbulence des tableaux de Carr, inscrits dans cette même tradition d’un paysage national à valeur allégorique, reflètent la turbulence réelle de l’histoire, telle que vécue sur le terrain, l’industrialisation forcée de la nature sauvage …

Robert Linsley, “Landscapes in Motion: Lawren Harris, Emily Carr and the Heterogeneous Modern Nation” Oxford Art Journal, v.19, 1986, pp. 80–95.

Dans Grey il n’y a pas de forme indienne, même si on y retrouve beaucoup de l’esprit indien: un univers sombre et fermé, un silence iconique confrontant, un œil symbolique, un aperçu du secret intérieur au cœur de la forêt, hors du temps et de l’espace. Aucune œuvre ne manifeste avec autant d’intensité l’association mystique de Carr à l’esprit obscur et hanté de la forêt, auquel les Indiens l’avaient éveillée.

Doris Shadbolt, Emily Carr. Vancouver, Douglas & McIntyre, 1990, p. 143.