Click on images below to enlarge in a new window

Forest, British Columbia

Forest, British Columbia, 1931–1932
oil on canvas
130.0 x 86.8 cm
Collection of the Vancouver Art Gallery, Emily Carr Trust
VAG 42.3.9
Photo: Trevor Mills, Vancouver Art Gallery

Old and New Forest

Old and New Forest, 1931-1932
oil on canvas
112.2 x 69.8 cm
Collection of the Vancouver Art Gallery, Emily Carr Trust
VAG 42.3.23
Photo: Trevor Mills, Vancouver Art Gallery

Scorned as Timber, Beloved of the Sky

Scorned as Timber, Beloved of the Sky, 1935
oil on canvas
112.0 x 68.9 cm
Collection of the Vancouver Art Gallery, Emily Carr Trust
VAG 42.3.15
Photo: Trevor Mills, Vancouver Art Gallery

Different Ways of Looking

Objective:

Students learn about Emily Carr's landscape paintings.

Description of Activity:

Students participate in a drawing exercise, approaching the same landscape from multiple viewpoints, using Emily Carr as a model.

Duration:

1 session, 60 minutes

Background Information for Teachers:

Emily Carr was born in 1871 to British parents who had settled in Victoria. She described herself as a child who preferred to play in the barn rather than the nursery. Her love of nature remained an integral part of her life and influenced the course of her work as an artist, not only in her subject, but also in her enthusiasm for sketching outdoors.

Carr's desire to depict the landscape of British Columbia reflects the idea that first-hand observation is crucial to creating an authentic image, a conviction shared by many artists. She did her work at a time when Canadian artists such as the Group of Seven began using nature as a symbol for national identity. Although she was not tied closely to the Group of Seven, many authors argue that Carr's forest scenes evoke a sense of what it means to be Canadian. There are many different ways to interpret Carr's work: her paintings may convey an environmental message, a spiritual meaning or a sense of isolation.

Preparation for Teachers:

Materials for Students:

Process:

Part I

  • Introduce students to Carr's work by showing them Forest, British Columbia, 1931–32, Old and New Forest, 1931–1932, and Scorned as Timber, Beloved of the Sky, 1935. Have them describe what they see. Focus their attention on the setting, the viewpoint assumed by the artist, the arrangement of the various elements in each painting, the types of brushstrokes or lines used by Carr, the colours that she selected, etc.
  • Share information about Carr's life, her love of nature and her interest in portraying the landscape of British Columbia. Read students the excerpt from Carr's journals (see Appendix) that follows this activity.

Part II

  • Explain to students that since Carr's death, the artists and scholars who study her work have interpreted it in many different ways. Some see Carr as a painter working to reveal Canada's identity, others see her as an environmental advocate or as a feminist role model trying to change the way women were perceived and treated.
  • Divide the class into four groups, assigning each group one of the perspectives discussed above (Canadian identity, environmentalism, spiritual meaning, sense of isolation, feminist role model).
  • Pass out reproductions of Carr's paintings to each group.
  • Invite the groups to consider Carr's work from the perspective they have been assigned: for instance, what do Carr's paintings say about being Canadian? If these works were approached as examples of Canadian art, what characteristics point to what it is like to live in Canada?
  • Have students designate one or more members of their group to take notes on the ideas that they discussed.

Discussion:

  • Share some of the different perspectives on Carr's paintings of trees. Involve students in a discussion about the interpretation of her work. Ask them what Carr's work means to them.
  • Have students discuss how they went about interpreting the landscape presented to them from a particular perspective. What kinds of questions did they have about the work? How do the ideas they were considering make them see the paintings differently?

Appendix: quotes by and about Emily Carr

Cliquer sur les images ci-dessous pour les agrandir dans une nouvelle fenêtre

Forest, British Columbia

Forest, British Columbia, 1931—1932
huile sur toile
130,0 x 86,8 cm
Collection de la Vancouver Art Gallery, Fonds Emily Carr
VAG 42.3.9
Photo: Trevor Mills, Vancouver Art Gallery

Old and New Forest

Old and New Forest, 1931-1932
huile sur toile
112,2 x 69,8 cm
Collection de la Vancouver Art Gallery, Fonds Emily Carr
VAG 42.3.23
Photo: Trevor Mills, Vancouver Art Gallery

Scorned as Timber, Beloved of the Sky

Scorned as Timber, Beloved of the Sky, 1935
huile sur toile
112,0 x 68,9 cm
Collection de la Vancouver Art Gallery, Fonds Emily Carr
VAG 42.3.15
Photo: Trevor Mills, Vancouver Art Gallery

Regards différents

Objectif:

Les élèves étudient les tableaux de paysages d’Emily Carr.

Description de l’activité:

Les élèves participent à un exercice de dessin consistant à aborder le même paysage de différents points de vue, en prenant exemple sur Emily Carr.

Durée:

1 leçon, 60 minutes

Information de base destinée aux enseignants:

Emily Carr naît en 1871 de parents anglais établis à Victoria. Elle se décrit comme une enfant qui préférait jouer dans la grange plutôt que dans la salle de jeu. Son amour de la nature demeure constant pendant toute sa vie et influence l’évolution de son cheminement artistique, non seulement dans le choix de ses sujets, mais également dans son enthousiasme pour le dessin sur le motif.

Chez Carr, la volonté de représenter le paysage de la Colombie-Britannique reflète une vision de l’observation directe comme essentielle à la création d’une image authentique, une conviction partagée par de nombreux artistes. À l’époque où elle réalise son œuvre, des artistes canadiens dont le Groupe des sept, commencent à utiliser la nature comme symbole de l’identité nationale. Même si elle n’est pas étroitement associée au Groupe des sept, certains auteurs allèguent qu'on retrouve dans les forêts peintes par Carr un sentiment de ce que signifie être Canadien. On peut interpréter l’œuvre de Carr de différentes façons: ses tableaux peuvent communiquer un message environnemental, une signification spirituelle ou un sentiment d’isolement.

Préparatifs des enseignants:

  • Examinez Forest, British Columbia, 1931–32, Old and New Forest, 1931–1932, et Scorned as Timber, Beloved of the Sky, 1935. Étudiez les différents regards que pose Carr sur un même sujet.
  • Lisez l’extrait de Hundreds and Thousands (voir annexe) qui figure à la suite de cette activité, où Carr exprime son amour pour la forêt.
  • Lisez les extraits (voir annexe) figurant à la suite de cette activité où sont décrites quelques-unes des nombreuses interprétations données aux paysages de Carr.

Matériel pour les élèves:

Marche à suivre:

Partie I

  • Présentez aux élèves l’œuvre de Carr en leur montrant Forest, British Columbia, 1931–32, Old and New Forest, 1931–32, et Scorned as Timber, Beloved of the Sky, 1935. Demandez-leur de décrire ce qu’elles et ils voient. Attirez leur attention sur le lieu, la perspective adoptée par l’artiste, l’agencement des éléments de chaque tableau, le type de touches ou de lignes utilisés par Carr, les couleurs choisies, etc.
  • Renseignez-les sur la vie de Carr, son amour de la nature et son choix de représenter le paysage de la Colombie-Britannique. Lisez aux élèves l’extrait du journal de Carr (voir annexe) qui figure à la suite de cette activité.

Partie II

  • Expliquez aux élèves que depuis le décès de Carr, les artistes et les analystes qui étudient son œuvre ont interprétée celle-ci de différentes façons. Certains voient Carr comme une peintre qui s’efforce de révéler l’identité canadienne, d’autres comme une militante environnementaliste ou comme un modèle féministe ayant tenté de changer la manière dont on percevait et traitait les femmes à cette époque.
  • Divisez la classe en quatre groupes et assignez à chaque groupe une des perspectives précitées (identité canadienne, environnementalisme, signification spirituelle, sentiment d’isolement, modèle féministe).
  • Distribuez à chaque groupe les reproductions des tableaux de Carr.
  • Invitez les groupes à examiner le travail de Carr du point de vue qui leur a été assigné: par exemple, que disent les tableaux de Carr sur l’appartenance au Canada? Si ces œuvres devaient servir d’exemples de l’art canadien, quelles caractéristiques nous renseigneraient sur la vie au Canada?
  • Demandez aux élèves de désigner une ou deux personnes pour noter les idées discutées dans leur groupe.

Discussion:

  • Abordez quelques-unes des perspectives notées sur la représentation des arbres par Carr. Amenez les élèves à discuter de leur interprétation de son travail. Demandez-leur ce que signifie à leur sens l’œuvre de Carr.
  • Invitez les élèves à parler du fait d’avoir interprété d’un point de vue particulier le paysage étudié. Quel genre de questions cette œuvre a-t-elle suscitées au sein du groupe? En quoi cette discussion leur a-t-elle fait voir les tableaux d’un autre œil?

Annexe: citations d’Emily Carr et à son sujet