Click on images below to enlarge in a new window

Above the Gravel Pit

Above the Gravel Pit, 1936
oil on paper
61.0 x 91.1 cm
Art Gallery of Greater Victoria, Anonymous Gift
1980.038.001

Above the Gravel Pit

Above the Gravel Pit, 1937
oil on canvas
77.2 x 102.3 cm
Collection of the Vancouver Art Gallery, Emily Carr Trust
VAG 42.3.30
Photo: Trevor Mills, Vancouver Art Gallery

An Artist's Materials

Objective:

Students explore Emily Carr's choice of art materials.

Description of Activity:

Students produce two versions of Carr's painting Above the Gravel Pit, 1936-1937: one by using traditional artists' materials such as watercolour and heavy paper to create a two-dimensional image, and the other by using non-traditional materials such as found objects to create a collage.

Duration:

2 sessions, 60 minutes each
Independent research time

Background Information for Teachers:

Working in an experimental style, Emily Carr often found it difficult to make a living as an artist. She sold only a small number of paintings in her lifetime, often for prices that did not reflect the cost of her materials, let alone her time and energy. As a result, Carr found inventive ways to "extend" the life of her materials, such as oil paint. Economic necessity was only one factor in her use of new and often unusual art materials. Carr was also interested in finding ways to ease and enhance her interpretations of the forests of British Columbia and First Nations culture.

Her ingenuity is apparent in her decision to mix oil paints with gasoline (an inexpensive product at the time). The gas thinned the paint, making it easier to manipulate on the canvas. It also stretched her supply of paint. Similarly, for her sketches and some paintings she used manila paper, which was both economical and lightweight. She could easily carry large amounts of paper with her when she worked outdoors. Carr continued to paint on stretched canvas and to work with conventional materials such as watercolour and charcoal, but her unconventional materials remind us that her creativity and inventiveness as an artist extended beyond her use of form and colour.

Read more about Emily Carr's choice of art materials.

Preparation for Teachers:

  • Examine Above the Gravel Pit, 1936, and Above the Gravel Pit, 1937. Carr painted two separate versions of this work between 1936 and 1937, one using oil mixed with gasoline on paper, the other using oil on canvas.
  • Read the excerpts from Carr's autobiography and journal (see Appendix) that follow this activity, in which she describes her preference for oil mixed with gasoline on paper.

Materials for Students:

  • Reproductions of both versions of Above the Gravel Pit, 1936–1937 (one for each student)
  • Heavy paper
  • Paint (watercolour or oil paint when available)
  • Found objects (provided by students)
  • Cardboard
  • Glue

Process:

Part I

  • Introduce students to the material aspects of Carr's work. Show them both versions of Carr's painting Above the Gravel Pit, 1936–1937, one painted with oil mixed with gasoline on paper, the other with oil on canvas. Compare the two works.
  • Invite students to produce a version of Above the Gravel Pit using heavy paper and paint.
  • Display students' work.

Part II

  • Have students produce the same work again, as a collage made from non-traditional materials (fabric, natural materials, recyclables).
  • Display this work alongside their paintings.

Discussion:

  • Have students discuss the experience of working with different types of materials. What were the benefits of each material? What were the limitations?
  • Return to Carr's reasons for experimenting with materials. Based on their observations, have students speculate on why Carr might have chosen to vary her materials.

Further Engagement:

  • Invite students to research other materials that Carr worked with, including ceramics and textiles, using this web site.

Appendix: Quotes from Emily Carr

Cliquer sur les images ci-dessous pour les agrandir dans une nouvelle fenêtre

Above the Gravel Pit

Above the Gravel Pit, 1936
huile sur papier
61,0 x 91,1 cm
Art Gallery of Greater Victoria, Don anonyme
1980.038.001

Above the Gravel Pit

Above the Gravel Pit, 1937
huile sur toile
77,2 x 102,3 cm
Collection de la Vancouver Art Gallery, Fonds Emily Carr
VAG 42.3.30
Photo: Trevor Mills, Vancouver Art Gallery

Les matériaux de l’artiste

Objectif:

Les élèves explorent le genre de matériaux d'artistes choisis par Emily Carr.

Description de l’activité:

Les élèves réalisent deux versions du tableau de Carr Above the Gravel Pit, 1936-1937: la première, en utilisant du matériel d’artiste traditionnel, comme l’aquarelle et le papier épais, pour créer une image en deux dimensions; et la deuxième, en se servant de matériaux non traditionnel, comme des objets trouvés, pour créer un collage.

Durée:

2 leçons, de 60 minutes chacune
Période de recherche personnelle

Information de base destinée aux enseignants:

Son style expérimental permet difficilement à Carr de gagner sa vie comme artiste. Ses tableaux se sont très peu vendus de son vivant, et souvent pour des sommes qui ne compensaient même pas le coût du matériel, sans parler de son temps et de son énergie. Par conséquent, Carr doit faire preuve d’ingéniosité pour «étirer» la vie de ses matériaux, comme la peinture à l’huile. La nécessité économique n’est qu’un des facteurs qui l'incitent à faire l’essai de matériaux originaux et souvent inusités. Carr cherche également des moyens d’assouplir et d'améliorer ses interprétations des forêts de la Colombie-Britannique et de la culture des Premières nations.

Sa décision de diluer la peinture à l’huile avec de l’essence (un produit peu dispendieux à l’époque) témoigne de son ingéniosité. L’essence délaie la peinture, la rendant plus facile à manier sur la toile. Cette méthode permet également d’étirer la peinture disponible. Carr utilise également du papier bulle, un matériau léger et économique, pour réaliser ses croquis et certains tableaux. Elle peut donc facilement emporter beaucoup de papier avec elle pour ses croquis en extérieur. L’artiste continue néanmoins à peindre sur des toiles montées et à travailler avec des matériaux conventionnels, tels l’aquarelle et le fusain. Mais ses choix de matériaux inusités nous rappellent que sa créativité et son esprit inventif s’étendent bien au-delà de son utilisation de la forme et de la couleur.

En savoir plus sur les choix de matériaux d’Emily Carr.

Préparatifs des enseignants:

  • Examinez Above the Gravel Pit, 1936, et Above the Gravel Pit, 1937. Carr a peint deux versions de cette œuvre entre 1936 et 1937: la première sur papier avec un mélange de peinture à l’huile et d’essence, et la deuxième avec de la seule peinture à l’huile, sur toile.
  • Lisez les extraits de l’autobiographie et du journal de Carr (voir annexe) qui figurent à la suite de cette activité et dans lesquels elle exprime sa préférence pour l’huile diluée avec de l’essence sur papier.

Matériel pour les élèves:

  • Reproductions des deux versions d'Above the Gravel Pit, 1936–1937 (une pour chaque élève)
  • Papier épais
  • Peinture (aquarelle ou peinture à l’huile si disponible)
  • Objets trouvés (fournis par les élèves)
  • Carton
  • Colle

Marche à suivre:

Partie I

  • Présentez aux élèves les aspects matériels de l’œuvre de Carr. Montrez-leur les deux versions d'Above the Gravel Pit, 1936–1937, l'une réalisée avec de la peinture à l’huile et de l’essence, sur papier, et l’autre peinte à l’huile, sur toile. Comparez les deux œuvres.
  • Invitez les élèves à produire une version d'Above the Gravel Pit en utilisant du papier épais et de la peinture.
  • Exposez les travaux des élèves.

Partie II

  • Demandez aux élèves de reproduire le même travail, mais sous forme d’un collage de matériaux non traditionnels (tissu, matériaux naturels, objets recyclables).
  • Exposez les collages des élèves à côté de leurs tableaux.

Discussion:

  • Demandez aux élèves de discuter de leur expérience de travail avec différents types de matériaux. Quels sont les avantages de chaque matériau? Quelles en sont les limites?
  • Revenez aux raisons qui motivaient Carr à expérimenter avec différents matériaux. En vous basant sur leurs observations, demandez aux élèves d’imaginer les raisons qui ont pu pousser Carr à choisir de varier ses matériaux.

Approfondissement:

  • Invitez les élèves à mener une recherche sur les autres matériaux utilisés par Carr, y compris la céramique et les textiles, en vous servant du présent site Web.

Annexe: citations d'Emily Carr