Click on images below to enlarge in a new window

Emily Carr in her studio, with 'Sunshine and Tumult'

Emily Carr in her studio, with 'Sunshine and Tumult', c.1939
Photograph by Harold Mortimer-Lamb
Vancouver Art Gallery Archives

The Challenges of Being a Woman Artist

Objective:

Students examine the role of women artists in history, using Emily Carr as an example.

Description of Activity:

Students research the challenges that faced Emily Carr as a woman artist working in Canada at the turn of the century.

Duration:

3 sessions, 60 minutes each
Independent research time

Background Information for Teachers:

While there have always been women artists, not all of them have had the same opportunities to develop their skills or to showcase their work that men have had. In Canada, Emily Carr was part of the first generation of women to attend official art academies. She began her studies in San Francisco and went on to study art in England and Paris. As a student she encountered a number of obstacles to embarking on a career as a professional artist, not the least of which was her discomfort with drawing the nude body from life.

Nevertheless, Carr persisted in her ambitions, choosing the life of an artist over that of a wife and mother, the usual roles of women in her day. She was resolute in her decision, but her writing sometimes reveals a sense of loneliness and frustration at society's expectations. She also alludes to the dominance of male artists, especially the members of the Group of Seven. Some authors argue that Carr looked to male authority figures for approval of her own work. Whether or not this was the case, Carr's life and her career point out the divide that existed between men and women in her day and the implications that this had for her work as an artist.

Preparation for Teachers:

  • Examine Emily Carr in her Studio, a photograph of Carr taken by Harold Mortimer-Lamb, an avid supporter of the Group of Seven.
  • Read the excerpt from Carr's autobiography Growing Pains: The Autobiography of Emily Carr (see Appendix that follows this activity), describing the artist's experience studying in France.
  • Read the excerpt from Linda Nochlin's article "Why Have There Been No Great Women Artists?" (see Appendix), which follows this activity.
  • Screen the video The Other Side of the Picture, 1999, where available.

Materials for Students:

  • Reproduction of Mortimer-Lamb photograph of Carr (c.1939)
  • Video The Other Side of the Picture, where available
  • Flip chart
  • Markers
  • Library resources

Process:

Part I

  • Show students Harold Mortimer-Lamb's photograph of Carr (c.1939). Discuss the way Carr is presented to the viewer. How is she posed? How is she dressed? How old does she appear to be? What is the setting? What else is in the room with her? What is on the table in front of her?
  • Expand the discussion to consider Carr's observations about studying at the Académie Colarossi and work through Linda Nochlin's text with students.
  • Screen the video The Other Side of the Picture where available.
  • As a group, make a list of some of the obstacles that may have dissuaded women from becoming artists: pressure from society and family, desire to raise a family (the two not being compatible in this period), difficulty in finding work, etc.

Part II

  • Have students research the lives of Canadian women in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Invite them to read Carr's writing with her role as a woman artist and their chosen painting in mind. Books by Emily Carr include Hundreds and Thousands: The Journals of An Artist; Growing Pains: The Autobiography of Emily Carr; and Opposite Contraries: The Unknown Journals of Emily Carr and Other Writings, edited by Susan Crean.
  • Students should consider the following questions as they work: What kinds of subjects did other artists (men and women) paint at the time? How did Emily Carr paint (i.e. indoors, outdoors)? Where did she exhibit her work? What was the public's response to her work?
  • Have students write a summary of their research.

Discussion:

  • Invite students to present their findings to the class, allowing time for discussion after each presentation.

Further Engagement:

  • Have students research a contemporary female artist.

Appendix: Quotes about women artists

Cliquer sur les images ci-dessous pour les agrandir dans une nouvelle fenêtre

Emily Carr dans son atelier, devant 'Sunshine and Tumult'

Emily Carr dans son atelier, devant 'Sunshine and Tumult', v.1939
Photographie par Harold Mortimer-Lamb
Archives de la Vancouver Art Gallery

Défis à surmonter pour devenir une femme artiste

Objectif:

Les élèves étudient le rôle des femmes artistes dans l’histoire en prenant Emily Carr comme exemple.

Description de l’activité:

Les élèvent explorent les défis qu’a dû surmonter Emily Carr comme femme artiste travaillant au Canada au tournant du siècle dernier.

Durée:

3 leçons, de 60 minutes chacune
Période de recherche personnelle

Information de base destinée aux enseignants:

Même s’il y a toujours eu des femmes artistes, elles n’ont pas toutes bénéficié des mêmes occasions que les hommes de développer leurs talents ou d’exposer leurs œuvres en public. Au Canada, Emily Carr fait partie de la première génération de femmes à avoir fréquenté des académies artistiques officielles. Elle entreprend à San Francisco des études qu’elle complète ensuite en Angleterre et à Paris. Au cours de sa vie d’étudiante, beaucoup d’obstacles viennent contrarier ses aspirations à une carrière professionnelle, notamment son inconfort à dessiner des modèles nus.

Carr assume néanmoins ses ambitions, préférant la vie d’artiste à celle d’épouse et de mère, les rôles habituellement dévolus aux femmes de son époque. Elle demeure ferme dans sa résolution, mais ses écrits témoignent parfois d’un sentiment de solitude et de frustration face aux attentes de la société. Elle fait également allusion à la domination des artistes masculins, particulièrement les membres du Groupe des sept. Certains auteurs prétendent que Carr recherchait, dans son œuvre artistique, l’approbation de figures d’autorité masculines. Quoi qu’il en soit, la vie et la carrière de Carr illustrent la division qui existait entre les hommes et les femmes de son époque et les conséquences de ce fossé pour son travail en tant qu’artiste.

Préparatifs des enseignants:

  • Examinez Emily Carr in her Studio, une photographie de Carr prise par Harold Mortimer-Lamb, un partisan inconditionnel du Groupe des sept.
  • Lisez l’extrait de l'autobiographie d’Emily Carr, Les maux de la croissance (voir annexe), qui figure à la suite de cette activité et qui décrit l’expérience de l’artiste lors de ses études en France.
  • Lisez l’extrait de l’article de Linda Nochlin «Pourquoi n'existe-t-il pas de grandes femmes artistes?» (voir annexe) qui figure à la suite de cette activité.
  • Si elle est accessible, visionnez la vidéo The Other Side of the Picture, 1999.

Matériel pour les élèves:

  • Reproduction de la photographie de Carr par Harold Mortimer-Lamb (v.1939)
  • Vidéo The Other Side of the Picture, si elle est accessible
  • Tableau à grandes feuilles
  • Marqueurs
  • Ressources de la bibliothèque

Marche à suivre:

Partie I

  • Montrez aux élèves la photographie de Carr prise par Harold Mortimer-Lamb (v.1939). Discutez de la façon dont Carr est présentée aux spectateurs. Comment est-elle posée? Comment est-elle vêtue? Quel âge semble-t-elle avoir? Quel est le décor? Qu’y a-t-il avec elle dans la pièce? Qu’y a-t-il sur la table devant elle?
  • Élargissez la discussion aux remarques de Carr concernant ses études à l’Académie Colarossi, puis analysez avec les élèves le texte de Linda Nochlin.
  • Si elle est accessible, visionnez la vidéo The Other Side of the Picture, 1999.
  • En groupe, dressez une liste de quelques-uns des obstacles qui pouvaient dissuader des femmes de devenir artistes: pressions sociales et familiales, désir d’élever leur propre famille (une option incompatible avec l’art à cette époque), difficulté de trouver du travail, etc.

Partie II

  • Demandez aux élèves de mener des recherches sur les vies de femmes canadiennes à la fin du dix-neuvième et au début du vingtième siècle. Invitez-les à lire ce qu’a écrit Carr sur son rôle de femme artiste, en gardant à l'esprit une de ses œuvres. Les livres d' Emily Carr comprennent Hundreds and Thousands: The Journals of An Artist; Les maux de la croissance: autobiographie; et Opposite Contraries: The Unknown Journals of Emily Carr and Other Writings, préparé par Susan Crean.
  • Les élèves devraient mener leur recherche en se posant les questions suivantes: Quels sont les sujets que peignaient les autres artistes peintres (hommes et femmes) à cette époque? Comment Emily Carr peignait-elle (par ex.: à l'intérieur, à l'extérieur)? Où exposait-elle? Comment le public réagissait-il à son travail?
  • Demandez aux élèves de rédiger un résumé de leur recherche.

Discussion:

  • Invitez les élèves à présenter leurs trouvailles à la classe, en allouant une période de discussion après chaque présentation.

Approfondissement:

  • Suggérez aux élèves de mener une recherche sur la vie d'une femme artiste contemporaine.

Annexe: citations concernant des femmes artistes