Click on images below to enlarge in a new window

Exhibition of Canadian West Coast Art – Native and Modern

Exhibition of Canadian West Coast Art – Native and Modern, National Gallery of Canada, Ottawa, 1927.
National Gallery of Canada Library and Archives

Exhibiting Carr

Objective:

Students explore the legacy of Emily Carr, arguably one of Canada's most famous artists.

Description of Activity:

Students plan a thematic exhibition of Carr's works, based on one of the many different ways of looking at her paintings.

Duration:

2 weeks of class time
Independent research time

Background Information for Teachers:

Participating in an exhibition is one way that an artist can establish his or her reputation. While Emily Carr exhibited work in the Salon d'Automne during her time in France and in smaller exhibitions upon her return to Victoria, her first opportunity to showcase her work in a prominent Canadian art gallery came in 1927. That year, Eric Brown, Director of the National Gallery in Ottawa, invited Carr to include her First Nations imagery in the landmark exhibition Canadian West Coast Art – Native and Modern.

Exhibitions are often organized around themes to highlight works of art in a particular way. How works are selected and displayed, how much information is presented to the viewer and what type of programming is available to the public are important elements to consider when visiting a gallery or museum. In Canadian West Coast Art – Native and Modern, the National Gallery chose to exhibit the work of First Nations artists and non-First Nations artist like Carr side by side, in order to emphasize similarities in composition and artists' techniques instead of arranging them according to cultural considerations.

Preparation for Teachers:

Materials for Students:

Process:

Part I

  • Explain what an exhibition is and discuss the work involved in planning one.
  • Show students a photograph of the exhibition Canadian West Coast Art – Native and Modern. Have them describe what they see. What types of works were included (paintings, sculpture, textiles)? Is there any information on the walls about these works? How is this exhibition similar to or different from others that students have seen?
  • Select a theme for students to use in planning an exhibition of Carr's works. Ask them to choose from the following options: an exhibition in which they look at how Carr's works have changed over time; an exhibition in which they investigate the different artists' materials used by Carr; an exhibition in which they examine works illustrating a particular subject (trees, totem poles, portraits, etc.); an exhibition devoted to an idea or concept (motion, destruction, spirituality, etc.).
  • Divide students into four groups. Assign each group to design an exhibition of five to ten works by the artist. Students will need to:
    • Select a theme
    • Research and select works
    • Produce a label for each work that lists its title, date and materials
    • Decide what additional information visitors to their exhibition might need
    • Arrange the works in a way that is easily accessible and invites visitors to compare one work to another

Part II

  • Have each group appoint a curator, a public programs coordinator, an exhibition designer and a marketing specialist. Provide each group with a copy of the resource material (see Appendix) that follows this activity. Students may double up on the duties if necessary.
  • Ensure that students are clear on their duties and that they understand the need for communications and co-operation.
  • Direct each group to the Vancouver Art Gallery's Emily Carr web site and instruct them to select five to ten works that reflect the theme of their exhibition.
  • Have each group select a place in the school to set up and display their exhibition: main hallway, library, main entrance, art room, music room, etc.
  • Allow class time for each student to carry out his or her assigned duties. Make sure you are available to answer any questions that students may have and to offer guidance as their projects progress.
  • Host an opening for the exhibitions. Students can distribute invitations or post flyers around the school prior to the event. The curator in each group will be responsible for introducing the group's exhibition at the opening.

Discussion:

  • As a class, discuss each group's exhibition. Is it successful, in their view? Why or why not? Is the relationship between the proposed theme and selected works clear? How are the works arranged? How are they displayed? Did the exhibition add to their understanding of Emily Carr's work? Would their response to the exhibition be different if one work had been left out? If the works had been arranged differently?

Appendix: Resource on gallery roles

Cliquer sur les images ci-dessous pour les agrandir dans une nouvelle fenêtre

Exhibition of Canadian West Coast Art: Native and Modern, Musée des beaux-arts du Canada (Exposition d´art autochtone et moderne de la côte ouest du Canada)

Exhibition of Canadian and West Coast Art - Native and Modern (Exposition d´art autochtone et moderne de la côte ouest du Canada), Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, Ottawa, 1927
Bibliothèque et Archives du Musée des beaux-arts du Canada

Une exposition des œuvres de Carr

Objectif:

Les élèves explorent l'héritage d'Emily Carr, sans doute une des artistes les plus célèbres du Canada.

Description de l’activité:

Les élèves planifient une exposition thématique des œuvres de Carr, basée sur une des nombreux regards différents qu’on puisse jeter sur ses tableaux.

Durée:

2 semaines de classe
Période de recherche personnelle

Information de base destinée aux enseignants:

Pour les artistes, participer à une exposition est une des façons d'établir sa réputation. Même si Emily Carr a exposé au Salon d’Automne, durant son séjour en France, et dans de plus petites expositions après son retour à Victoria, c'est en 1927 qu'elle bénéficie d'une première occasion de présenter son travail dans une grande galerie d'art canadienne. Cette année-là, Eric Brown, directeur du Musée des beaux-arts d'Ottawa, invite Carr à intégrer son imagerie des Premières nations à l'exposition historique Exhibition of Canadian West Coast Art: Native and Modern.

Les expositions sont souvent organisées autour de thèmes pour présenter des œuvres d'art sous un éclairage particulier. La sélection et la disposition des œuvres, les choix d'information et de programmation proposés aux spectateurs sont autant d’éléments importants dans la visite d’une galerie ou d’un musée. Dans Exhibition of Canadian West Coast Art: Native and Modern, le Musée des beaux-arts a choisi d'exposer côte à côte des œuvres d'artistes des Premières nations et celles d’une artiste non autochtone, comme Carr, en vue de faire ressortir les ressemblances de composition et de techniques des artistes, plutôt que de les disposer en fonction de considérations culturelles.

Préparatifs des enseignants:

Matériel pour les élèves:

Marche à suivre:

Partie I

  • Expliquez ce qu'est une exposition et discutez du travail qu'implique l'organisation d'une exposition.
  • Montrez aux élèves une photographie de l'exposition Exhibition of Canadian West Coast Art: Native and Modern. Demandez-leur de décrire ce qu'on y voit. Quels genres d'œuvres y sont exposées (tableaux, sculptures, textiles)? Y a-t-il sur les murs des renseignements qui accompagnent ces œuvres? En quoi cette exposition ressemble-t-elle ou diffère-t-elle d'autres expositions que les élèves ont déjà visitées?
  • Choisissez un thème que les élèves utiliseront pour planifier une exposition des œuvres de Carr. Demandez-leur de choisir parmi les options suivantes: une exposition mettant l'accent sur l'évolution de l'œuvre de Carr; une exposition mettant en valeur les différents matériaux utilisés par Carr; une exposition regroupant des œuvres qui illustrent un sujet particulier (arbres, mâts totémiques, portraits, etc.); une exposition axée sur une idée ou un concept (mouvement, destruction, spiritualité, etc.).
  • Divisez les élèves en quatre groupes. Demandez à chaque groupe de concevoir une exposition comprenant cinq à dix œuvres de l'artiste. Les élèves devront:
    • Choisir un thème
    • Chercher et sélectionner des œuvres
    • Produire pour chaque œuvre une vignette donnant le titre, la date et les matériaux utilisés
    • Déterminer quels renseignements additionnels pourraient intéresser les gens qui visiteront leur exposition
    • Exposer les œuvres pour les rendre facilement accessibles et pour permettre aux visiteurs de les comparer entre elles.

Partie II

  • Demandez à chaque groupe de désigner une curatrice ou un curateur, une personne responsable de la programmation publique, une autre qui sera responsable de la conception visuelle et une dernière, de la commercialisation. Donnez à chaque groupe une copie du matériel documentaire (vior annexe) qui figure à la suite de cette activité. Si nécessaire, les élèves peuvent se mettre à deux ou plusieurs pour assumer chaque tâche.
  • Assurez-vous que les élèves comprennent bien leurs tâches et qu'ils et elles saisissent l'importance de la communication et de la coopération.
  • Dirigez chaque groupe vers le site Web de la Vancouver Art Gallery consacré à Emily Carr et demandez-leur de choisir de cinq à dix œuvres qui illustrent le thème de leur exposition.
  • Demandez à chaque groupe de choisir un lieu dans l'école où monter et présenter leur exposition: le grand corridor, la bibliothèque, le hall d'entrée, l'atelier d'art, la salle de musique, etc.
  • Accordez à chaque élève du temps de classe pour compléter ses tâches. Assurez-vous d'être disponible pour répondre à leurs éventuelles questions et pour les conseiller pendant la réalisation de leurs projets.
  • Organisez une inauguration des expositions. Les élèves peuvent distribuer des invitations ou poser des affiches dans l'école pour annoncer l'événement. C’est la curatrice ou le curateur de chaque groupe qui sera responsable de présenter l'exposition du groupe au moment de l’inauguration.

Discussion:

  • En classe, discutez de l'exposition de chaque groupe. Est-ce une réussite à leurs yeux? Pourquoi ou pourquoi pas? Le lien entre le thème proposé et les œuvres choisies est-il clair? Comment les œuvres sont-elles disposées? Comment sont-elles exposées? L'exposition a-t-elle amplifié la compréhension qu’ont les élèves de l'œuvre de Carr? Leur réaction à l'exposition serait-elle différente si une des œuvres choisies n'en faisait pas partie? Si les œuvres avaient été disposées autrement?

Annexe: ressources sur les différents rôles d'une galerie