The Force in the North

Bennett

The NWMP put up a tent at Bennett in 1898 for a customs station and established a local police presence. The post, at first overflowing with officers, was no longer needed and therefore dismantled less than two years later. Once the Gold Rush ended, the police presence at Bennett was drastically downsized, as the following notes from the NWMP Annual Reports illustrate.

The buildings at Bennett were not big enough to quarter the 14 men stationed there. The police will be able to buy bunk houses belonging to Messrs. McLeod and Sullivan and so will only have to build a stable. The guard room is in charge of the Yukon men although it is in British Columbia. (Report of the North-West Mounted Police, 1898. Ottawa: Queen’s Printer. 1899:35.)

There is no police reserve at Bennett as the place where the buildings stood has been disposed of to private individuals by the British Columbia government. (Report of the North-West Mounted Police, 1898. Ottawa: Queen’s Printer. 1899:41.)

This year (1899/1900) regular weekly patrols will be made from detachment to detachment between Bennett and Dawson, a distance of 500 miles. (Report of the North-West Mounted Police, 1899. Sessional Paper No.15. Ottawa: Queen’s Printer. 1900:5.)

The Bennett detachment was only in operation in 1898. Nothing is left of the buildings that were constructed there.

La P.C.N.-O. dans le Nord

Bennett

À Bennett, en 1898, la P.C.N.-O. s’est servie d’une simple tente pour installer une station douanière et établir une présence policière locale. Le poste, qui au début débordait d’officiers, n’était plus nécessaire et a complètement fermé moins de deux ans plus tard. Quand la ruée vers l’or a pris fin, la présence policière à Bennett a rapidement été réduite, comme l’illustre les notes suivantes tirées des rapports annuels de la P.C.N.-O.

Les édifices à Bennett n’étaient pas assez grands pour loger les 14 hommes en poste. La police sera en mesure d’acheter des pavillons-dortoirs appartenant aux MM. McLeod et Sullivan et nous aurons donc seulement à construire une écurie. Le poste de garde est responsable des hommes du Yukon, bien que nous soyons en Colombie-Britannique. (Rapport de la Police à cheval du Nord-Ouest, 1898. Ottawa : Imprimeur de la Reine. 1899:35.)

Il n’y a pas de police de réserve à Bennett, car l’endroit où se trouvaient les édifices a été vendu à des particuliers par le gouvernement de la Colombie-Britannique. (Rapport de la Police à cheval du Nord-Ouest, 1898. Ottawa : Imprimeur de la Reine. 1899:41.)

Cette année (1899-1900), des patrouilles hebdomadaires et régulières seront faites de détachement à détachement entre Bennett et Dawson, une distance de 800 kilomètres. (Rapport de la Police à cheval du Nord-Ouest, 1899. Document parlementaire no 15. Ottawa : Imprimeur de la Reine. 1900:5.)

Le détachement de Bennett a été en fonction seulement en 1898. Il ne reste plus rien des édifices qui ont été construits à cet endroit.