The Force in the North

Braeburn

Braeburn was a small, temporary detachment on the White Horse-Dawson Trail. The following excerpts from Police Annuals show the quick establishment and decommissioning of the detachment. The area continued to be checked by patrols.

In 1902, the Braeburn NWMP post had 1 sergeant and 3 constables and 4 horses. This is a new detachment on the White Horse-Dawson trail. The members are stationed at Lower Laberge during navigation. (North-West Mounted Police Annual Report. Sessional Paper No. 28. 1903:39, 43.)

In 1903, the Braeburn NWMP detachment had 1 corporal, 4 constables and there were 2 horses. The horses remained at the detachment year-round. Braeburn was part of H Division out of Whitehorse. A stable and two storehouses were erected on the Braeburn detachment during the summer of 1903. (Report of Assistant Commissioner Wood. North-West Mounted Police Annual Report. Sessional Paper No. 28. 1904:17, 28.)

In 1906, the RNWMP was further reduced in strength and Dalton House and Braeburn in the 'H' Division were abandoned, at least temporarily. (Royal Northwest Mounted Police Annual Report. Sessional Paper No. 28. 1907:8, 21.)

In 1908, patrols to Yukon Crossing, Little Salmon, Montague and Braeburn were made from Tantalus. (Royal Northwest Mounted Police Annual Report. Sessional Paper No. 28. 1909:218. )

The Braeburn detachment operated from 1902 to 1906. Today, Braeburn still has a roadhouse restaurant on the highway but no longer has any RMCP members posted there.

La P.C.N.-O. dans le Nord

Braeburn

Braeburn était un petit détachement temporaire sur le sentier Whitehorse–Dawson. Les extraits suivants des annuaires de la police indiquent l’établissement et la désaffection rapides du détachement. La région a continué à être surveillée par des patrouilles.

En 1902, le poste de la P.C.N.-O. à Braeburn comptait un sergent, trois gendarmes et quatre chevaux. C’est un nouveau détachement sur le sentier White Horse-Dawson. Les membres sont en poste à Lower Laberge durant la navigation. (Rapport annuel de la Police à cheval du Nord-Ouest. Document parlementaire no 28. 1903:39, 43.)

En 1903, le poste de la P.C.N.-O. à Braeburn comptait un caporal, quatre gendarmes et deux chevaux. Les chevaux restaient au détachement toute l’année. Braeburn faisait partie de la Division H de Whitehorse. Une écurie et deux caches ont été construites au détachement de Braeburn durant l’été de 1903. (Rapport du commissaire adjoint Wood. (Rapport annuel de la Police à cheval du Nord-Ouest. Document parlementaire no 28. 1904:17, 28.)

En 1906, l’effectif de la R.G.C.N.-O a encore été réduit et les détachements de Dalton House et de Braeburn, de la Division H, ont été abandonnés, du moins temporairement. (Rapport annuel de la Royale Gendarmerie à cheval du Nord-Ouest. Document parlementaire no 28. 1907:8, 21.)

En 1908, les patrouilles des détachements de Yukon Crossing, de Little Salmon, de Montague et de Braeburn étaient faites à partir de Tantalus. (Rapport annuel de la Royale Gendarmerie à cheval du Nord-Ouest. Document parlementaire no 28. 1909:218.)

Le détachement de Braeburn a été en fonction de 1902 à 1906. De nos jours, Braeburn a encore un restaurant-relais sur la route, mais il n’y a plus de gendarmes de la GRC en fonction.