The Force in the North

Carcross

In the fall of 1898, Inspector Wood was in charge of the district between the boundary and Selkirk. A detachment was established at Carcross in 1898.

A building erected by the Department of Public Works and used by them in the summer of 1899, was handed over to the police and the detachment now occupies it. The telegraph office and operator still uses the building. The old site was part of the timber limit belonging to the Kerry Canadian Milling Company and it was relinquished. Forty acres was reserved around the Department of Building Works building and that is now used as a detachment. The old detachment buildings were sold. (Report of the North-West Mounted Police, 1899. Sessional Paper No.15. Ottawa: Queen’s Printer. 1900:16, 22.)

Carcross detachment was one of the first to patrol by boat. In 1901, the Caribou detachment patrolled the Tagish district in the summer with the Alco-Vapor launch Tagish. This detachment also takes the liquor shipments for Atlin to the British Columbia boundary. (Report of the North-West Mounted Police, 1901. Sessional Papers, Volume 11. Ottawa: Queen’s Printer. 1902:9.)

After the Gold Rush, Carcross detachment stayed open and by the mid-1910s was one of the few detachments left in the Whitehorse sub-district. It was served by a single member of the Force for most of the time until World War II.

The Carcross detachment became a busy post during the building of the Skagway road during the 1970s and it remains a small rural detachment.

La P.C.N.-O. dans le Nord

Carcross

À l’automne de 1898, l’inspecteur Wood était responsable du district entre la frontière et Selkirk. Un détachement a été établi à Carcross en 1898.

Un édifice construit par le ministère des Travaux publics et utilisé par le ministère durant l’été de 1899 a été remis à la police et le détachement l’occupe actuellement. Le bureau de télégraphe et le télégraphiste utilisent encore l’édifice. L’ancien site faisait partie de la concession forestière appartenant à la compagnie Kerry Canadian Milling et a été abandonné. Quarante hectares ont été réservés autour de l’édifice du ministère des Travaux publics et sont maintenant utilisés comme détachement. Les vieux édifices du détachement ont été vendus. (Rapport de la Police à cheval du Nord-Ouest, 1899. Document parlementaire no 15. Ottawa : Imprimeur de la Reine. 1900:16, 22.)

Le détachement de Carcross a été l’un des premiers à faire des patrouilles par bateau. En 1901, le détachement de Caribou patrouillait le district de Tagish durant l’été dans la vedette Alco-Vapor Tagish. Ce détachement transporte aussi les chargements d’alcool pour Atlin jusqu’à la frontière avec la Colombie-Britannique. (Rapport de la Police à cheval du Nord-Ouest, 1901. Document parlementaire, volume 11. Ottawa : Imprimeur de la Reine. 1902:9.)

Après la ruée vers l’or, le détachement de Carcross est demeuré ouvert et, au milieu des années 1910, il était l’un des seuls détachements restants dans le sub-district de Whitehorse. Jusqu’à la Deuxième Guerre mondiale, un seul gendarme de la force s’occupait du détachement.

Le détachement de Carcross est devenu un poste animé durant la construction de la route vers Skagway durant les années 1970 et il demeure un petit détachement rural.