The Force in the North

Forty Mile/Constantine

In 1895, the first NWMP post was established in the Yukon at Forty Mile. It was named Fort Constantine after Inspector Charles Constantine. Nine buildings were erected with a stockade around the fort.

Inspector Harper visited the post at Fort Cudahy [Fort Constantine] in the summer of 1898 and recommended that if the post were to be only 4 or 5 men that the buildings be abandoned and a building be taken at Forty Mile as this is where the majority reside, there being only about 6 people living at Fort Cudahy. Inspector Scarth reports that the population of Forty Mile is 200 white men and 80 Indians.  (Report of the North-West Mounted Police, 1898. Ottawa: Queen’s Printer. 1899:30, 75.)

In 1901, the Forty Mile detachment was moved across the Fortymile River as all the stores, saloons and settlers are on this side. Corporal Goodall was in charge of the detachment and he collected $599 in royalties. One corporal, 4 constables, 1 dog team and 2 canoes were at the post.  (Report of the North-West Mounted Police, 1901. Sessional Papers, Volume 11. Ottawa: Queen’s Printer. 1902:9, 50, 53.)

In 1903, anyone travelling downstream in a small boat or raft had to stop at Fortymile for a search. The NWMP were trying to stop people taking gold out of the country without paying the duty. If they went past, a small detachment under canvas downstream would intercept the vessel and search it. It was Superintendent Wood's belief that it was easy for people and gold to disembark above Forty Mile and then to rejoin the boat after it had been searched. He did not have enough men to remedy the situation. On Congdon's recommendation, the police started to conduct personal searches of anyone suspected of hiding dust on their person. Kate Ryan was hired in Whitehorse to search women travellers.  (Jim Wallace, Forty Mile to Bonanza: The North West Mounted Police in the Klondike Gold Rush. Calgary: Bunker to Bunker Publishing. 2000: 222.)

In 1906, the Forty Mile detachment was the port of entry for the Customs Department and a very important point as the detachment was able to keep a strict surveillance and check on all people entering and leaving the country by the lower river. The police continued to detect the parties attempting to evade the payment of the export tax on gold dust by going down the river in small boats. (Royal North-West Mounted Police Annual Report. Sessional Paper No. 28. 1906:34.)

In 1912, Forty Mile was the only detachment where a member of the force acted as an agent to the Mining Recorder, Crown Timber and Land Agent. The detachment was open all year with 1 N.C. officer and 1 constable. (Report of the North-West Mounted Police, 1912. Sessional Paper No. 28. Ottawa: Queen’s Printer. 1912:238, 242.)

The Fortymile post was shut down in 1929 when Ottawa decided to limit the outposts and use postmasters as customs collectors. By 1935 the police were again collecting customs at Fortymile and they left the town around 1938. (Rob Ingram, "Customs Offices: A Theme Study". Prepared for Heritage Branch, 1990:4.)

La P.C.N.-O. dans le Nord

Forty Mile/Constantine

En 1895, le premier poste de la P.C.N.-O. a été établi au Yukon à Forty Mile et il portait le nom de Fort Constantine, en l’honneur de l’inspecteur Charles Constantine. Neuf édifices ont été construits avec une palissade autour du fort.

L’inspecteur Harper a visité le poste à Fort Cudahy [Fort Constantine] à l’été de 1898 et a recommandé, si le poste ne compte que 4 ou 5 hommes, que les édifices soient abandonnés et qu’un édifice soit transporté à Forty Mile, car c’est là où réside la majorité des gens. Seules six personnes vivent à Fort Cudahy. L’inspecteur Scarth souligne que la population de Forty Mile s’élève à 200 hommes blancs et 80 autochtones. (Rapport de la Police à cheval du Nord-Ouest, 1898. Ottawa : Imprimeur de la Reine. 1899:30, 75.)

En 1901, le détachement de Forty Mile a été déplacé de l’autre côté de la rivière Fortymile, car le magasin, les saloons et les colons se trouvent de ce côté. Le caporal Goodall était responsable du détachement et il a prélevé 599 $ en redevances. Le poste se composait d’un caporal, de quatre gendarmes, d’un attelage de chiens et de deux canots. (Rapport de la Police à cheval du Nord-Ouest, 1901. Document parlementaire, volume 11. Ottawa : Imprimeur de la Reine. 1902:9, 50, 53.)

En 1903, toute personne voyageant en aval dans une petite embarcation ou un radeau devait s’arrêter à Forty Mile pour une fouille. La P.C.N.-O. essayait d’arrêter les gens qui sortait de l’or du pays sans payer les frais douaniers. Si les gens passaient sans s’arrêter, un petit détachement sous une tente en aval interceptait le bateau et le fouillait. Le chef de police Wood pensait qu’il était facile pour les gens de débarquer avec l’or en amont de Forty Mile et de rejoindre le bateau après la fouille. Il n’y avait pas assez d’hommes pour remédier à la situation. Sur la recommandation de M. Congdon, la police a commencé à effectuer des fouilles physiques sur toute personne soupçonnée de cacher de la poudre sur elle. Kate Ryan a été embauchée à Whitehorse pour fouiller les voyageuses. (Jim Wallace, Forty Mile to Bonanza: The North-West Mounted Police in the Klondike Gold Rush.Calgary: Bunker to Bunker Publishing. 2000: 222.)

En 1906, le détachement de Forty Mile était le point d’entrée pour l’administration des douanes et c’était un endroit très important, car le détachement était en mesure de surveiller et de contrôler étroitement les gens qui entraient et qui quittaient le pays par les rivières inférieures. La police a continué à détecter les groupes essayant d’éviter le paiement de la taxe à l’importation sur la poudre d’or en descendant la rivière en petits bateaux. (Rapport annuel de la Royale Gendarmerie à cheval du Nord-Ouest. Document parlementaire no 28. 1906:34.)

En 1912, Forty Mile était le seul détachement où un membre de la force agissait comme registraire minier, agent forestier et agent des terres. Le détachement était ouvert toute l’année et se composait d’un sous-officier et d’un gendarme. (Rapport de la Police à cheval du Nord-Ouest, 1912. Document parlementaire no 28. Ottawa : Imprimeur de la Reine. 1912:238, 242.)

Le poste de Forty Mile a été fermé en 1929 quand Ottawa a décidé de limiter les avant-postes et d’utiliser les maîtres des postes comme préleveurs d’impôts. En 1935, la police était encore une fois à Forty Mile pour prélever les impôts et a quitté le village vers 1938. (Rob Ingram, Customs Offices: A Theme Study. Préparé pour la Direction du Patrimoine, 1990:4.)