The Force in the North

Herschel Island

The Yukon’s most northerly detachment was on a windswept island in the Beaufort Sea. The detachment at Herschel Island originally opened to monitor American whalers. In its final years, the detachment was a dog-breeding station, supplying dogs to various RCMP detachments across the North. The detachment operated from 1903 to 1933 and 1948 to 1964.

Inspector Constantine of the NWMP reported that 12 whalers with 1,000 to 1,200 crewmen had wintered in the area of the mouth of the Mackenzie River and Herschel Island in 1895-96. The crewmen spent several months from September to July with little to do. The annual re-supply vessel brought in a supply of liquor and part of this was traded for carvings and young women. He also reported that some crewmen deserted and made their way down to the Klondike. The NWMP lacked the manpower to patrol Herschel at that time. In 1903, Superintendent Constantine went to the Yukon to examine the threat posed by the Alaskan Order of the Midnight Sun and also to go to San Francisco and Seattle to find out more about the Herschel Island whalers. Constantine found an old friend, Captain M. A. Healy, now the commander of the San Francisco Naval District. He told Constantine that whiskey trading among the northern whalers was largely stamped out but two vessels carried liquor, chiefly on the Siberian coast. Constantine established a post at Fort McPherson under Sergeant Francis Fitzgerald. Fitzgerald was instructed to make a patrol to Herschel Island and establish a police post if necessary. Fitzgerald made the trip in August 1903 with Constable Forbes Sutherland and an interpreter. They established a post at Herschel where the men lived in sod huts. They found 7 whaling vessels at Herschel but only one of them was suspected of bringing in liquor or debauching the Inuit.  In 1904, the winter mail run from Dawson to Fort McPherson was extended to Herschel Island.  (Jim Wallace, Forty Mile to Bonanza: The North-West Mounted Police in the Klondike Gold Rush. Calgary: Bunker to Bunker Publishing. 2000:116-18, 232-33.)

In 1952, Jim Hickling was posted to Herschel Island. At that time, the island was basically deserted, but the NWMP moved in to assert Canada's claim of ownership to the Island and the surrounding Arctic Ocean. Jim talks about his time at Herschel in the attached video clips.

The Herschel Island detachment closed for good in 1964.

La P.C.N.-O. dans le Nord

Île Herschel

Le détachement le plus nordique au Yukon était blotti sur une île exposée au vent dans la mer de Beaufort. Au début, le détachement à l’île Herschel a été ouvert afin de surveiller les baleiniers américains. Durant ses dernières années, le détachement a été une station d’élevage de chiens, qui fournissait plusieurs détachements de la GRC dans le Nord. Le détachement a été ouvert de 1903 à 1933 et de 1948 à 1964.

L’inspecteur Constantine de la P.C.N.-O. a signalé que 12 baleiniers, avec entre 1 000 et  1 200 hommes d’équipage, avaient passé l’hiver 1895-1896 aux alentours de l’embouchure de la rivière Mackenzie et de l’île Herschel. Les équipages ont passé plusieurs mois entre septembre et juillet avec très peu à faire. Le bateau de ravitaillement annuel apportait une provision d’alcool, et une partie de cet alcool était échangée contre des sculptures et des jeunes femmes. Il a aussi souligné que certains des hommes d’équipage avaient déserté et s’étaient dirigés vers le Klondike. La P.C.N.-O. n’avait pas assez de personnel pour patrouiller Herschel à cette époque-là. En 1903, le chef de police Constantine s’est rendu au Yukon pour examiner la menace posée par l’Alaskan Order of the Midnight Sun et aussi pour aller à San Francisco et Seattle afin d’en apprendre plus sur les baleiniers de l’île Herschel. M. Constantine a retrouvé un ancien ami, le capitaine M. A. Healy, maintenant commandant de la région maritime de San Francisco. Il a mentionné à M. Constantine que le commerce du whiskey chez les baleiniers du Nord était en grande partie supprimé, mais que deux bateaux transportaient de l’alcool, surtout sur la côte de la Sibérie. M. Constantine a établi un poste à Fort McPherson avec le sergent Francis Fitzgerald comme responsable. M. Fitzgerald a reçu l’ordre de faire une patrouille jusqu’à l’île Herschel et d’y établir un poste de police si nécessaire. M. Fitzgerald a entrepris le voyage en août 1903 avec le gendarme Forbes Sutherland et un interprète. Ils ont établi un poste à l’île Herschel où les hommes vivaient dans des huttes de tourbe. Ils ont trouvé sept bateaux de baleiniers à Herschel, mais seulement un de ceux-là était soupçonné de transporter de l’alcool ou de dépraver les Inuits. En 1904, la patrouille hivernale de livraison de courrier entre Dawson et Fort McPherson a été prolongée jusqu’à l’île Herschel. (Jim Wallace, Forty Mile to Bonanza: The North-West Mounted Police in the KlondikeGold Rush. Calgary: Bunker to Bunker Publishing. 2000:116-18, 232-33.)

En 1952, Jim Hickling a été en poste à l’île Herschel. À cette période-là, l’île était essentiellement déserte. La P.C.N.-O. a continué à revendiquer la propriété de l’île et de l’océan Arctique avoisinant. Jim parle de cette période-là à Herschel dans les vidéoclips joints.

Le détachement de l’île Herschel a fermé pour de bon en 1964.