The Force in the North

Hootalinqua/Livingstone

Hootalinqua

The Hootalinqua detachment buildings are at the mouth of the Lewes, or Thirty Mile River. There is a men’s quarters and a store-house. (Report of the North-West Mounted Police, 1898. Ottawa: Queen’s Printer. 1899:36.) The detachment is used to check boats coming off the Teslin River.

After the Klondike Gold Rush, the NWMP had intended to close the Hootalinqua detachment for good. It was forced to re-open when another staking rush occurred around Hootalinqua and Livingstone Creek.

The detachment at Hootalinqua was temporarily withdrawn for the winter in 1905/06, as all the traffic from White Horse to Livingstone Creek now goes by Upper Laberge and there are not more than three or four wood-choppers now living in the vicinity of Hootalinqua. There was a reduction of the numbers of RNWMP in the Yukon in 1905. The mail is carried by the police from Hootalinqua to Livingstone in the summer and from White Horse to Livingstone in the winter. The detachment at Hootalinqua was closed in October when traffic on the river ended for the season. (Royal North-West Mounted Police Annual Report. Sessional Paper No. 28. 1906:8, 40, 46.)

In 1909, there were so many men (over 800) coming down the river in small boats from the middle of May to the end of June, that constables were stationed at Hootalinqua, Tantalus and Stewart. (Royal North-West Mounted Police Annual Report. Sessional Paper No. 28. 1910:212.)

Hootalinqua had a town, a shipyard, a telegraph office and a police post. It probably died out in the 1920s. Once the shipyard closed, there was no reason to keep it open. Some of the ships wintered there and crews would come down in the spring to recondition the boats. There were maybe 200 people in the town during the spring repairs. (G. I. Cameron interviewed by Cal Waddington in 1978, Yukon River Aural History Project, Tape 8. YA 81/32.)

The Hootalinqua detachment closed in 1909.

Livingstone Creek

A staking rush in 1900 created the need for a detachment at Livingstone Creek to monitor the mining district around Big Salmon.

In 1903, the Livingstone Creek NWMP detachment had 1 corporal, 2 constables and there were 2 horses. The horses remained at the site year-round. Livingstone was part of H Division out of Whitehorse. Superintendent Snyder reported an estimated $100,000 worth of gold taken out in the 1903 season and expected the introduction of more machinery there in the 1903/04 winter would double the amount for the next year. (North-West Mounted Police Annual Report. Sessional Paper No. 28. 1904:17, 19, 28, 32.)

In 1902, the police reported that  there were two licensed and two unlicensed roadhouses within 15 miles of the Livingstone detachment. There was one general store and a police detachment of 4 men. There were 40 to 100 inhabitants, depending on the season. The principal industry was mining and most of the people were miners or prospectors. The community was connected to the steamers at Mason's Landing by a wagon road in the summer. There was a winter road to Whitehorse. A new wagon road was constructed in 1902 from Mason's Landing to Livingstone and after the completion, freight rates dropped by more than half. ("Report of patrol made by Corporal Acland from Livingstone Creek to Teslin Lake." Annual Report of the NWMP, 1902.)

In the summer of 1907 the NWMP helped the telegraph service to install a telephone line from Hootalinqua to Livingstone Creek. This connects with the telegraph line at the former place and is of great benefit to the miners on the creek. The police no longer assist the Post Office Department except to carry mail when the patrols happen to visit outlying posts. The non-commissioned officer here acts as an agent for the mining recorder and as an agent for the Crown Timber and Land agent. (Royal Northwest Mounted Police Annual Report. Sessional Paper No. 28. 1908:14, 17.)

By 1910, the Livingstone detachment was closed and the area was served by patrol only from then on.

La P.C.N.-O. dans le Nord

Hootalinqua/Livingstone

Hootalinqua

Les édifices du détachement de Hootalinqua se trouvent à l’embouchure de la rivière Lewes, ou Thirty Mile. Il y a des quartiers pour les hommes et un entrepôt. (Rapport de la Police à cheval du Nord-Ouest, 1898. Ottawa : Imprimeur de la Reine. 1899:36.) Le détachement est utilisé pour surveiller les bateaux qui arrivent de la rivière Teslin.

Après la ruée vers l’or du Klondike, la P.C.N.-O. avait prévu fermer le détachement de Hootalinqua pour de bon. Elle a été forcée de le rouvrir quand une autre ruée de jalonnement s’est produite près de Hootalinqua et du ruisseau Livingstone.

Le détachement à Hootalinqua a été temporairement abandonné pendant l’hiver de 1905-1906, car toute la circulation entre Whitehorse et le ruisseau Livingstone passe maintenant par Upper Laberge et il n’y a pas plus de trois ou quatre bûcherons habitant dans les environs de Hootalinqua. Il y a eu une réduction des effectifs de la R.G.C.N.-O. au Yukon en 1905. Le courrier est transporté par la police entre Hootaliqua et Livingstone en été et entre Whitehorse et Livingstone en hiver. Le détachement à Hootalinqua a été fermé en octobre, à la fin de la saison de la circulation fluviale. (Rapport annuel de la Royale Gendarmerie à cheval du Nord-Ouest. Document parlementaire no 28. 1906:8, 40, 46.)

En 1909, tellement d’hommes (plus de 800) ont descendu le fleuve en petits bateaux de la mi-mai à la fin de juin, que des gendarmes ont été mis en poste à Hootalinqua, Tantalus et Stewart. (Rapport annuel de la Royale Gendarmerie à cheval du Nord-Ouest. Document parlementaire no 28. 1910:212.)

Hootalinqua avait un village, un chantier naval, un poste de télégraphe et un poste de police. Le village s’est probablement éteint dans les années 1920. Quand le chantier naval a fermé, il n’y avait plus de raison de le garder ouvert. Certains des bateaux y passaient l’hiver et les hommes d’équipage venaient au printemps pour remettre les bateaux à neuf. Il y avait peut-être 200 personnes en ville durant les réparations au printemps. (G. I. Cameron interviewé par Cal Waddington en 1978, Projet d’histoire orale du fleuve Yukon, Cassette 8. YA 81/32.)

Le détachement de Hootalinqua a fermé en 1909.

Ruisseau Livingstone

Une vague de prospection en 1900 a créé le besoin d’un détachement au ruisseau Livingstone pour surveiller le district minier près de Big Salmon.

En 1903, le détachement de la P.C.N.-O. au ruisseau Livingstone se composait d’un caporal, de deux gendarmes et de deux chevaux. Les chevaux demeuraient sur le site toute l’année. Livingstone faisait partie de la Division H de Whitehorse. Le chef de police Snyder a souligné qu’une valeur d’environ 100 000 $ en or a été retirée durant la saison 1903 et qu’il s’attend à ce que l’introduction de plus de machines à l’hiver de 1903-1904 double la quantité pour l’année suivante. (Rapport annuel de la Police à cheval du Nord-Ouest. Document parlementaire no 28. 1904:17, 19, 28, 32.)

En 1902, la police a souligné la présence de deux relais avec permis d’alcool et de deux relais sans un tel permis à environ 24 kilomètres du détachement de Livingstone. Il y avait un magasin général et un détachement de police de quatre hommes. Selon la saison, il y avait entre 40 et 100 habitants. L’industrie principale est l’activité minière et la plupart des gens sont des mineurs ou des prospecteurs. La communauté est reliée aux navires à vapeur à Mason’s Landing par un chemin de roulage en été. Il y a une route hivernale jusqu’à Whitehorse. Un nouveau chemin de roulage a été construit en 1902 entre Mason’s Landing et Livingstone et après l’achèvement, les taux de fret ont baissé de plus de la moitié. (« Rapport de la patrouille présenté par le caporal Acland du ruisseau Livingstone au lac Teslin ». Rapport annuel de la P.C.N.-O., 1902.)

À l’été de 1907, la P.C.N.-O. a aidé le service de télégraphe à installer une ligne téléphonique entre Hootalinqua et le ruisseau Livingstone. Elle est reliée à la ligne télégraphique à l’ancien endroit et elle représente un gros avantage pour les mineurs du ruisseau. La police n’aide plus le ministère des Postes, sauf pour transporter le courrier quand les patrouilles visitent les postes éloignés. Le sous-officier responsable ici agit à titre de registraire minier, d’agent forestier et d’agent des terres. (Rapport annuel de la Royale Gendarmerie à cheval du Nord-Ouest. Document parlementaire no 28. 1908:14, 17.)

En 1910, le détachement de Livingstone était fermé et la région était desservie par patrouille seulement à partir de cet endroit.