The Force in the North

Klondike

During the Klondike Gold Rush, from 1896, when gold was discovered, until the early 1900s, the NWMP established several small detachments in the Goldfields. The NWMP worked in many government capacities, including mining recorder, customs agent and security agent when carrying gold from the creeks and out of the territory. A number of small detachments came and went in the Goldfields during this time.

Dominion/Granville: A new detachment building was built at Dominion Creek in 1899 and new store house will be needed for the following year. (Report of the North-West Mounted Police, 1899. Sessional Paper No.15. Ottawa: Queen’s Printer. 1900:49, 50.)

Eureka Creek: The miners and others on Eureka petitioned for a police detachment and one was established in 1901 with one NCO and two men. Comfortable buildings were erected. (Report of the North-West Mounted Police, 1901. Sessional Papers, Volume 11. Ottawa: Queen’s Printer. 1902:9.)

Half Way: Inspector Harper arrived at a spot he considered about half way between Stewart River and Selwyn and picked out a place for the post and staked a quarter by a third of a mile for the reserve. Constable Jealous is in charge with three civilian axemen to assist in building a post. These posts are all 32’ x 22’ with a small separate store-room about 10’ x 12’. (Report of the North-West Mounted Police, 1898. Ottawa: Queen’s Printer. 1899:70.)

The Indian River post was established by Inspector Harper in 1898 but the NWMP turned it over to the Department of the Interior in 1909.

Glacier Creek (Klondike Goldfields): It was here that the Mounties first established law and order in the mining camps. By 1909 the police building was occupied by the mining recorder. (Report of the North-West Mounted Police, 1909. Sessional Paper No. 28. Ottawa: Queen’s Printer. 1909:212.)

Grand Forks (Bonanza): Dawson now provides men for four detachments between Dawson and Selkirk. Detachments will also be needed at the Forks [Bonanza.] before long. (North-West Mounted Police: Yukon Territory. Yukon Archives  351.74062  No 1898:23.)

The Grand Forks detachment buildings were destroyed by fire in 1911. (Report of the North-West Mounted Police, 1911. Sessional Paper No. 28. Ottawa: Queen’s Printer. 1911:214.)

Mollie Smith owned a house at Grand Forks that the NWMP raided on March 3, 1903. The NWMP suspected that it was an opium joint and they seized opium, pipes and other material. Mollie's live-in partner was arrested and charged with keeping a disorderly house. He was fined $25 plus costs and given 24 hours to leave Grand Forks. (Jim Wallace, Forty Mile to Bonanza: The North-West Mounted Police in the Klondike Gold Rush. Calgary: Bunker to Bunker Publishing. 2000: 220.)

Inspector Cartwright took over the Grand Fork detachment from Inspector Belcher in mid August, 1899 and then did an inspection of all the up-river detachments. He then took charge of all the creek detachments. (Report of the North-West Mounted Police, 1899. Sessional Paper No.15. Ottawa: Queen’s Printer. 1900:47.)

Sulphur Creek 1899: Closed in 1909 due to reduced number of Mounties. Patrolled by Granville (Dominion). (Report of the North-West Mounted Police, 1899. Sessional Paper No.15. Ottawa: Queen’s Printer. 1900:5.)

The Selwyn post was established by Inspector Harper in 1898.

The Bonanza, Hunker Creek, Ogilvie (Sixty Mile) and Dominion detachments were operational in 1898 and patrolled local creeks.

Stewart River: Supt. S. B. Steele reports that Inspector Harper left in Sept. 1898 to establish various new detachments including Stewart River. The census for the Stewart River mining district was given as 3,500 people. (NWMP Annual Report for 1899). By 1907 Stewart River, Gold Bottom and Quartz were abandoned.

Quartz: established in the spring past at the earnest request of 300 residents on the creek but the post had to be withdrawn as the RNWMP is so shorthanded. (Royal Northwest Mounted Police Annual Report. Sessional Paper No. 28. 1908:11.)

In 1908, the RNWMP were relieved of their mining recorder's work at Sulphur and Dominion. They remain as agents at Grand Forks, Forty Mile and Dominion [sic] in the Dawson district and Livingstone in the Whitehorse district. (Royal Northwest Mounted Police Annual Report. Sessional Paper No. 28. 1909:199)

In 1909, the Hunker and Dominion detachments were rented to residents of those localities at $2.50 and $12.50 per month respectively. The Sulphur detachment was rented to the Department of the Interior officials at $25 per month and a portion of the Granville Building to the same department for $12.50 per month. The police hoped to rent the house at McQuesten shortly. The Yukon Gold Company wanted to rent the large building at Grand Forks but there was no suitable cabin to move the constable into so the police retain it. (Royal Northwest Mounted Police Annual Report. Sessional Paper No. 28. 1910:212. )

The Gold Rush descended on the Yukon so quickly beginning in 1896 that the Mounties could hardly keep up with the demand for more detachments. But as the rush came to a close near 1910, the size of the force was rapidly reduced and most of the detachments were dissolved, their structures turned over to other government agencies or rented to miners.

La P.C.N.-O. dans le Nord

Klondike

Durant la ruée vers l’or du Klondike à partir de 1896, lors de la découverte de l’or, jusqu’au début des années 1900, la P.C.N.-O. a établi plusieurs petits détachements dans les champs aurifères. Les gendarmes de la P.C.N.-O. jouaient plusieurs rôles gouvernementaux, dont celui de registraire minier, d’agent douanier, d’agent de sécurité pour le transport de l’or hors des ruisseaux et du territoire. Un nombre de petits détachements ont été ouverts et fermés rapidement dans les champs aurifères durant cette période.

Dominion/Granville : Un nouvel édifice pour le détachement a été construit au ruisseau Dominion en 1899 et un nouvel entrepôt sera nécessaire l’année suivante. (Rapport de la Police à cheval du Nord-Ouest, 1899. Document parlementaire no 15. Ottawa : Imprimeur de la Reine. 1900:49, 50.)

Ruisseau Eureka : Les mineurs et les autres habitants au ruisseau ont réclamé un détachement policier et on en a établi un en 1901 avec un sous-officier et deux hommes. Des édifices confortables ont été construits. (Rapport de la Police à cheval du Nord-Ouest, 1901. Document parlementaire, volume 11. Ottawa : Imprimeur de la Reine. 1902:9.)

Half Way : L’inspecteur Harper est arrivé à un endroit qu’il considérait comme à mi-chemin entre la rivière Stewart et Selwyn, a trouvé une place pour le poste et a délimité un espace d’un quart par un tiers d’un mile pour la réserve. Le gendarme Jealous est responsable, avec trois trieurs-fendeurs civils, d’aider à la construction du poste. Ces postes sont tous de 32 pieds sur 22 pieds avec un petit entrepôt séparé d’environ 10 pieds sur 12 pieds. (Rapport de la Police à cheval du Nord-Ouest, 1899. Ottawa : Imprimeur de la Reine. 1899:70.)

Le poste de la rivière Indian a été établi par l’inspecteur Harper en 1898, mais la P.C.N.-O. l’a remis au ministère de l’Intérieur en 1909.

Ruisseau Glacier (champs aurifères du Klondike) : C’est ici que, pour la première fois, les gendarmes ont assuré le maintien de l’ordre public dans les camps miniers. En 1909, l’édifice de police était occupé par le registraire minier. (Rapport de la Police à cheval du Nord-Ouest, 1909. Document parlementaire no 28. Ottawa : Imprimeur de la Reine. 1909:212.)

Grand Forks (Bonanza) : Dawson fournit maintenant des hommes pour quatre détachements entre Dawson et Selkirk. Des détachements seront aussi nécessaires bientôt à Forks [Bonanza]. (Police à cheval du Nord-Ouest : Territoire du Yukon. Archives du Yukon 351.74062  Nor 1898:23.)

Les édifices du détachement de Grand Forks ont été détruits par un incendie en 1911. (Rapport de la Police à cheval du Nord-Ouest, 1911. Document parlementaire no 28. Ottawa : Imprimeur de la Reine. 1911:214.)

Mollie Smith était propriétaire d’une maison à Grand Forks dans laquelle la P.C.N.-O. a fait une rafle le 3 mars 1903. La P.C.N.-O soupçonnait que c’était une fumerie d’opium et ils ont saisi de l’opium, des pipes et autre matériel. Le compagnon de Mollie a été arrêté et accusé de gérer une maison de débauche. Il a reçu une amende de 25 $ plus les frais de justice et a reçu l’ordre de quitter Grand Forks dans les 24 heures. (Jim Wallace, Forty Mile to Bonanza: The North-West Mounted Police in the KlondikeGold Rush.Calgary: Bunker to Bunker Publishing. 2000: 220.)

L’inspecteur Cartwright a succédé à l’inspecteur Belcher comme responsable du détachement de Grand Forks à la mi-août 1899 et a effectué une inspection de tous les détachements en amont. Il est par la suite devenu responsable de tous les détachements le long du ruisseau. (Rapport de la Police à cheval du Nord-Ouest, 1899. Document parlementaire no 15. Ottawa : Imprimeur de la Reine. 1900:47.)

Ruisseau Sulphur 1899 : Fermé en 1909 en raison du nombre réduit de gendarmes. Patrouillé par Granville (Dominion). (Rapport de la Police à cheval du Nord-Ouest, 1899. Document parlementaire no 15. Ottawa : Imprimeur de la Reine. 1900:5.)

Le poste de Selwyn a été établi par l’inspecteur Harper en 1898.

Les détachements de Bonanza, du ruisseau Hunker, d’Ogilvie (Sixty Mile) et de Dominion étaient tous en fonction en 1898 et les gendarmes patrouillaient les ruisseaux locaux.

Rivière Stewart : Le chef de police S. B. Steele signale que l’inspecteur Harper a quitté en septembre 1898 pour établir différents nouveaux détachements, dont celui de la rivière Stewart. Le recensement du district minier de la rivière Stewart comptait 3 500 personnes. (Rapport annuel pour 1899 de la P.C.N.-O.) En 1907, les détachements de la rivière Stewart, de Gold Bottom et de Quartz étaient abandonnés.

Quartz : Établi au printemps dernier à la ferme demande de 300 riverains du ruisseau, mais le poste a dû être fermé, car la P.C.N.-O. est vraiment à court de personnel. (Rapport annuel de la Police à cheval du Nord-Ouest. Document parlementaire no 28. 1908:11.)

En 1908, la R.G.C.N.-O. a été relevée de son travail de registraire minier à Sulphur et Dominion. Elle est demeurée un agent à Grand Forks, Forty Mile et Dominion [sic] dans le district de Dawson et à Livingstone dans le district de Whitehorse. (Rapport annuel de la Royale Gendarmerie à cheval du Nord-Ouest. Document parlementaire no 28. 1909:199.)

En 1909, les édifices des détachements de Hunker et de Dominion ont été loués à des résidents de ces localités à 2,50 $ et 12,50 $, respectivement, par mois. L’édifice du détachement Sulphur a été loué à des représentants du ministère de l’Intérieur à 25 $ par mois et une portion de l’édifice Granville au même ministère à 12,50 $ par mois. La police espérait louer la maison à McQuesten sous peu. La compagnie Yukon Gold voulait louer le grand édifice à Grand Forks, mais il n’y avait pas de cabane adéquate pour y déplacer le gendarme, donc la police l’a gardé. (Rapport annuel de la Royale Gendarmerie à cheval du Nord-Ouest. Document parlementaire no 28. 1910:212.)

La période de temps entre le début et la fin de la ruée vers l’or, de 1896 à 1910, a été si courte que les gendarmes ont eu beaucoup de mal à satisfaire la demande pour plus de détachements. À la fin de la ruée, la force des gendarmes a été rapidement réduite et la plupart des détachements ont disparu. Leurs structures ont été remises aux autres agences gouvernementales ou louées aux mineurs.