The Force in the North

Big Salmon/Little Salmon

Big Salmon and Little Salmon detachments, thirty miles apart, were established in 1897 when Major Walsh and Judge McGuire’s parties were frozen in at these points. At each place there is two good buildings, a men’s quarters and a store-house.  (Report of the North-West Mounted Police, 1898. Ottawa: Queen’s Printer. 1899:36.)

Inspector Cortlan Starnes arrived in Skagway on September 17, 1898 and started north to take Judge McGuire and Frederick Wade to Dawson City. Three boats were ready for them at Lake Bennett. Starnes, Wade and Constable Magnus were each in charge of a boat. The waves were high on Lake Bennett and two of the boats jettisoned cargo to stay afloat. On November 5, the Starnes party met ice pouring out of the Takhini River and the same was true at Hootalinqua. They reached Little Salmon on November 11 and decided they could go no further. Inspector Starnes established a winter quarters about a mile below the junction of the Little Salmon and the Yukon rivers and he remained there until January 31, 1898. Starnes purchased 3,000 pounds of provisions from travellers. (Jim Wallace, Forty Mile to Bonanza: The North-West Mounted Police in the Klondike Gold Rush. Calgary: Bunker to Bunker Publishing. 2000:61-2.)

Both detachments were moved to the opposite side of the Yukon River in 1899. As the winter trails did not pass along the River, both detachments were closed starting in 1901. (Report of the North-West Mounted Police, 1900. Sessional Papers, Volume 11. Ottawa: Queen’s Printer. 1901:3.) The Big and Little Salmon detachments were opened when the River was navigable.

The Little Salmon detachment was abandoned in the summer of 1903.(North-West Mounted Police Annual Report. Sessional Paper No. 28. 1904:36, 37.)

Big Salmon was closed in 1903. The detachment buildings stood until 1995, when they burned in a forest fire.

La P.C.N.-O. dans le Nord

Big Salmon/Little Salmon

Les détachements de Big Salmon et de Little Salmon, à une distance de 48 kilomètres l’un de l’autre, ont été établis en 1897 quand les groupes du commandant Walsh et du juge McGuire ont été bloqués à ces endroits par les glaces. À chaque emplacement, il y a deux bons édifices; les quartiers des hommes et une cache.(Rapport de la Police à cheval du Nord-Ouest, 1898. Ottawa : Imprimeur de la Reine. 1899:36.)

L’inspecteur Cortland Starnes est arrivé à Skagway le 17 septembre 1898 et a commencé à se diriger vers le Nord afin d’emmener le juge McGuire et Frederick Wade à Dawson. Trois bateaux les attendaient au lac Bennett. MM. Starnes, Wade et le gendarme Magnus étaient chacun responsable d’un bateau. Les vagues étaient grosses sur le lac Bennett et deux des bateaux ont dû jeter de la cargaison pour rester à la surface de l’eau. Le 5 novembre, le groupe de Starnes a rencontré de la glace se déversant de la rivière Takhini et la même chose se passait à Hootalinqua. Ils ont atteint Little Salmon le 11 novembre et ont décidé qu’ils ne pouvaient plus continuer. L’inspecteur Starnes a établi les quartiers d’hiver à 1,6 kilomètre en aval de la jonction de la rivière Little Salmon et du fleuve Yukon et il y est demeuré jusqu’au 31 janvier 1898. M. Starnes a acheté 3 000 livres de provisions des voyageurs. (Jim Wallace, Forty Mile to Bonanza: The North-West Mounted Police in the Klondike Gold Rush. Calgary: Bunker to Bunker Publishing. 2000:61-2.)

Les deux détachements ont été déplacés de l’autre côté du fleuve Yukon en 1899. Parce que les sentiers hivernaux ne passaient pas le long du fleuve, les deux détachements ont été fermés à partir de 1901. (Rapport de la Police à cheval du Nord-Ouest, 1900. Document parlementaire, volume 11. Ottawa : Imprimeur de la Reine. 1901:3.) Les détachements de Big Salmon et de Little Salmon étaient ouverts quand le fleuve était navigable.

Le détachement de Little Salmon a été abandonné à l’été de 1903. (Rapport annuel de la Police à cheval du Nord-Ouest. Document parlementaire no 28. 1904:36, 37.)

Le détachement de Big Salmon a été fermé en 1903. Les édifices du détachement sont restés en place jusqu’en 1955, date à laquelle ils ont été détruits dans un incendie de forêt.