The Force in the North

Fort McPherson

Charles Constantine established detachments at Fort McPherson, Northwest Territories, and Herschel Island, Yukon, in 1902. Once the headquarters were found, Constantine departed and left Francis Fitzgerald to develop a detachment at Fort McPherson and then at Herschel Island.

The intent was for these posts to be temporary units where Americans could be made to pay customs duties. But, after crossing north above the Arctic Circle, a whole new era of the NWMP had begun. Fort McPherson became an important base for exploration and patrolling the Northern Arctic territories of Canada. Fort McPherson was the site of the tragic Lost Patrol in which four Mounties lost their lives.

The police patrol will be sent to McPherson as usual about the first of the year. No direct patrol will go to Rampart House, but communications may be had with that post from McPherson or some other point before spring. Supplies for the first relay of the McPherson patrol were sent out by team over the summer road to Twelvemile recently. ("Police For Trail", From the Dawson News in the Whitehorse Star, November 13, 1914.)

La P.C.N.-O. dans le Nord

Fort McPherson

En 1902, Charles Constantine a établi des détachements à Fort McPherson, aux Territoires du Nord-Ouest et à l’île Herschel, au Yukon. Des quartiers généraux ont été installés et M. Constantine est parti peu après, laissant à Francis Fitzgerald la tâche de développer le détachement à Fort McPherson avant de se rendre à l’île Herschel.

Le but était que ces postes seraient des opérations temporaires ayant pour objectif d’obliger les Américains à payer des tarifs douaniers. Mais, avec la traversée du cercle arctique, une toute nouvelle ère pour la P.C.N.-O. allait commencer. Fort McPherson est devenu une base importante pour l’exploration et la patrouille des territoires de l’Extrême-Arctique du Canada. Fort McPherson a été le site de la tragédie de la patrouille perdue où quatre gendarmes ont perdu leur vie.

La patrouille de police sera envoyée à McPherson comme d’habitude en début d’année. Aucune patrouille directe ne se rendra à Rampart House, mais on peut avoir des communications avec ce poste à partir de McPherson ou d’un autre endroit avant le printemps. Les provisions pour la première étape de la patrouille McPherson ont été récemment envoyées par la route estivale jusqu’à Twelvemile. ("Police For Trail", Tiré de Dawson News dans le Whitehorse Star, le 13 novembre 1914.)