The Force in the North

Miles Canyon

Miles Canyon and the White Horse Rapids presented yet another challenge for the stampeders heading to the Klondike. The rapids were fierce and extremely hazardous. A detachment was established here, but still there were wrecks and deaths on the rapids. Superintendent Sam Steele enforced the edict: Only experienced pilots were allowed to travel through Miles Canyon and the White Horse rapids. This rule saved countless lives, and its enforcement made this detachment one of the busiest of the Klondike Gold Rush.

The detachment is two good buildings close to Macaulay’s stopping place at Canyon City. One is a detachment and the other is a storeroom. The three men stationed there turn their rations over to Macaulay and take their meals at his hotel. (Report of the North-West Mounted Police, 1898. Ottawa: Queen’s Printer. 1899:36.)

The police were requested to detail a constable to assist the customs officer at Miles Canyon in 1899 and Sergeant Watson was ordered to provide what assistance he could. (Report of the North-West Mounted Police, 1899. Sessional Paper No.15. Ottawa: Queen’s Printer. 1900:28.)

In 1901, the detachments at Tagish and McClintock were withdrawn and the Miles Canyon detachment increased as the liquor smuggling could be better controlled there. The buildings at Tagish and McClintock were left in case there were needed again. (Report of the North-West Mounted Police, 1901. Sessional Papers, Volume 11. Ottawa: Queen’s Printer. 1902:9.)

The Miles Canyon detachment closed in 1900.

La P.C.N.-O. dans le Nord

Miles Canyon

Miles Canyon et les rapides de Whitehorse présentaient un autre défi aux « stampeders » en route vers le Klondike. Les rapides étaient violents et extrêmement dangereux. Un détachement a été établi ici, mais il y avait toujours des accidents mortels dans les rapides. Le chef de police Sam Steele a appliqué un décret : seuls les pilotes expérimentés pouvaient se déplacer sur Miles Canyon et les rapides. Ce décret a sauvé d’innombrables vies et a fait de ce détachement l’un des plus occupés durant la ruée vers l’or du Klondike.

Le détachement se compose de deux bons édifices près de l’endroit d’arrêt des véhicules à Macaulay à Canyon City. L’un des édifices est un détachement et l’autre est un entrepôt. Les trois hommes en poste ici apportent leurs rations à Macaulay et prennent leurs repas à son hôtel. (Rapport de la Police à cheval du Nord-Ouest, 1898. Ottawa : Imprimeur de la Reine. 1899:36.)

On a demandé à la police d’affecter un gendarme pour aider l’agent des douanes à Miles Canyon en 1899 et le sergent Watson a reçu l’ordre d’offrir toute l’aide qu’il pouvait. (Rapport de la Police à cheval du Nord-Ouest, 1899. Document parlementaire no 15. Ottawa : Imprimeur de la Reine. 1900:28.)

En 1901, les détachements de Tagish et de McClintock ont été abandonnés et le détachement de Miles Canyon a augmenté ses effectifs, car la contrebande d’alcool pouvait être mieux contrôlée ici. Les édifices à Tagish et à McClintock sont toujours là, au cas où nous en aurions encore besoin. (Rapport de la Police à cheval du Nord-Ouest, 1901. Document parlementaire, volume 11. Ottawa : Imprimeur de la Reine. 1902:9.)

Le détachement de Miles Canyon a fermé en 1900.