The Force in the North

Minto

A new detachment was established at Minto in 1901 on the Yukon River between Hootchiku and Selkirk. The distance between these two detachments was too long for the winter patrols. There was 2 constables, 1 special and a canoe at the post. (Report of the North-West Mounted Police, 1901. Sessional Papers, Volume 11. Ottawa: Queen’s Printer. 1902:9, 52.)

In 1903, the Minto detachment had 3 Constables, 1 Special Constable [cook or dog driver], plus 3 horses. A new detachment was required at Minto in 1903. The new one had to be on the east side of the river and north of the old site so as to be on the winter trail to White Horse. Quarters for the men, stables for six horses and storehouse, all frame buildings, were erected at a cost of $1,485 for material and labour. (North-West Mounted Police Annual Report. Sessional Paper No. 28. 1904:47, 58.)

In 1905 there were 2 Constables and 1 Special Constable [cook or dog driver], and 2 horses posted at Minto. There were only four detachments needed on the river in 1905 and the rest were closed. Minto, Selkirk, Stewart River [Stewart Island] and Forty Mile were kept open. The river detachments were established to look after the small boats in the early days of summer and traffic over the ice in the winter. Superintendent Cuthbert recommended that Mayo, McQuesten, Glacier and Minto detachments be closed in the spring of 1906 at the latest. Withdrawal was necessary as the police reduced their force in the Yukon. (Royal North-West Mounted Police Annual Report. Sessional Paper No. 28. 1906:30-1.)

In 1906, the RNWMP was further reduced in strength and the following posts were abandoned, at least temporarily: Mayo, Stewart Crossing, McQuesten, Minto, Grand Valley, Glacier, Wounded Moose and Gold Run in the 'B' Division and Dalton House and Braeburn in the 'H' Division. (Royal Northwest Mounted Police Annual Report. Sessional Paper No. 28. 1907:8, 34.)

Cst. Stuart Bates transferred to the Minto Detachment in June 1950 to relieve Hall. By this time, the highway was completed between Mayo and Minto and was almost to Carmacks, 47 miles to the south. The government had decided to carry on right through to Whitehorse. The project was one year to completion and the mining company continued to ship the ore to Whitehorse and never used Minto. The highway was completed to Whitehorse late in 1951 and all the ore shipped from Mayo went directly by truck. The Minto detachment buildings were loaded onto low-boys before the ice bridge went out at Carmacks in the spring of 1954. Only the old greenhouse was left in Minto and in 1991 only the gable ends could be seen, overgrown with aspen trees. (Stuart W. Bates. "Minto Detachment, Yukon Territory". RCMP Quarterly, Winter 1991:7-9)

The Minto detachment operated from 1901 to 1906 and from 1950 to 1954.

La P.C.N.-O. dans le Nord

Minto

Un nouveau détachement a été établi à Minto en 1901, sur le fleuve Yukon, entre Hootchiku et Selkirk. La distance entre ces deux détachements était trop grande pour les patrouilles d’hiver. Le poste se composait de deux gendarmes, d’un gendarme auxiliaire et d’un canot. (Rapport de la Police à cheval du Nord-Ouest, 1901. Document parlementaire, volume 11. Ottawa : Imprimeur de la Reine. 1902:9, 52.)

En 1903, le détachement de Minto se composait de trois gendarmes, d’un gendarme auxiliaire [cuisinier ou conducteur d’attelages de chiens] et de trois chevaux. Un nouveau détachement a été nécessaire en 1903. Il devait se trouver sur le côté est du fleuve et au nord de l’ancien site pour être sur la route hivernale jusqu’à White Horse. Des quartiers pour les hommes, des écuries pour les six chevaux et un entrepôt, tous des édifices à pans de bois, ont été construits à un coût de 1 485 $ pour le matériel et la main d’œuvre. (Rapport annuel de la Police à cheval du Nord-Ouest. Document parlementaire no 28. 1904:47, 58.)

En 1905, le détachement de Minto se composait de deux gendarmes, d’un gendarme auxiliaire [cuisinier ou conducteur d’attelages de chiens] et de deux chevaux. Nous avions besoin de seulement quatre détachements le long du fleuve en 1905 et le reste a été fermé. Minto, Selkirk, Stewart River [île Stewart] et Forty Mile sont demeurés ouverts. Les détachements sur le fleuve ont été établis pour contrôler les petits bateaux au début de l’été et la circulation sur la glace en hiver. Le chef de police Cuthbert a recommandé la fermeture des détachements de Mayo, de McQuesten, de Glacier et de Minto au plus tard au printemps de 1906. L’abandon était nécessaire, car la police réduisait ses effectifs au Yukon. (Rapport annuel de la Royale Gendarmerie à cheval du Nord-Ouest. Document parlementaire no 28. 1906:30-1.)

En 1906, l’effectif de la R.G.C.N.-O a encore été réduit et les postes suivants ont été abandonnés, du moins temporairement : Mayo, Stewart Crossing, McQuesten, Minto, GrandValley, Glacier, Wounded Moose et Gold Run, de la Division B et Dalton House et Braeburn, de la Division H. (Rapport annuel de la Royale Gendarmerie à cheval du Nord-Ouest. Document parlementaire no 28. 1907:8, 34.)

Le gendarme Stuart Bates a été muté au détachement de Minto en juin 1950 pour relever le gendarme Hall. À cette période, la route était terminée entre Mayo et Minto et était presque terminée jusqu’à Carmacks, 75 km au sud. Le gouvernement avait décidé de continuer la route jusqu’à Whitehorse. Le projet était à une année de la fin et la société minière continuait à envoyer le minerai à Whitehorse et n’a jamais utilisé Minto. La route jusqu’à Whitehorse a été terminée à la fin de 1951 et tout le minerai de Mayo a été envoyé directement par camion. Les édifices du détachement de Minto ont été chargés sur des semi-remorques avant la disparition du pont de glace à Carmacks au printemps de 1954. Seule la vieille serre a été laissée à Minto, et, en 1991, tout ce qu’on pouvait apercevoir étaient les pignons, envahis par les trembles. (Stuart W. Bates. "Minto Detachment, Yukon Territory". RCMP Quarterly, Hiver 1991:7-9)

Le détachement de Minto a été ouvert entre 1901 et 1906 et entre 1950 et 1954.