The Force in the North

Old Crow/Rampart

Old Crow

The RCMP detachment at Old Crow was established in 1929, the same year the community itself was established. A small community made up mostly of the indigenous Gwich'in, Old Crow is located on the Porcupine River and has only ever been accessible by aircraft or boat.

In the 1930s, Old Crow became the departure point for all northern patrols. These patrols included dog team journeys to Fort McPherson, NWT, and Herschel Island, Yukon. These patrols remained active into the 1960s. Until then, Old Crow was the only Yukon detachment that still used dogs for its winter patrols. The RCMP was converting to snowmobiles for its patrols and the other detachments were ordered to get rid of their dogs. In March, 1969, the last patrol by dog team was made by Constable Warren Townsend and Special Constable Peter Benjamin. The "Last Patrol" took them from Old Crow to Fort MacPherson and Arctic Red River, NWT, then back to Old Crow. The patrol took 26 days to complete and covered more than 800 kilometres.

The detachment at Old Crow also played a vital role during the infamous "Mad Trapper" manhunt. This case was the first in which the RCMP used radio technology and airplanes in their search for the fugitive. Orders and reports from numerous locations, including Old Crow, helped coordinate the massive manhunt that led to the capture and death of Albert Johnston, the Mad Trapper of Rat River.

Today, the RCMP still maintains a detachment at Old Crow. In 2005, the RCMP in Old Crow recreated a patrol to Herschel Island using modern transportation.

Rampart

Rampart House was established as a Hudson Bay Company trading post in 1890 but was later moved upstream on the Porcupine River, about 400 kilometres north-west of Dawson City. Rampart House was a community that consisted of an independent fur trader and an Anglican missionary. The Gwitch'in had hunted caribou in this area, which was along caribou migration path. The Gwitch'in traded and visited at Rampart House as part of their seasonal round.

The NWMP had a detachment at Rampart House from 1913 until 1929. In 1929, the Gwich'in, along with the RCMP, moved to a new settlement upriver at the confluence of the Porcupine and the Old Crow Rivers. This new settlement was named Old Crow and remains the home of some of the Gwitch'in people today.

La P.C.N.-O. dans le Nord

Old Crow/Rampart

Old Crow

Le détachement de la P.C.N.-O. à Old Crow a été établi en 1929, en même temps que la communauté elle-même. Une petite communauté composée essentiellement de gens de la nation gwitchin, Old Crow est située sur la rivière Porcupine. Elle est seulement accessible par les airs ou par les eaux.

Dans les années 1930, Old Crow est devenue un point de départ pour toutes les patrouilles nordiques. Ces patrouilles consistaient en des voyages par attelages de chiens jusqu’à Fort McPherson, aux TNO, et à l’île Herschel, au Yukon. Ces patrouilles ont eu lieu jusque dans les années 1960. À cette période-là, le détachement de Old Crow était le seul détachement yukonnais utilisant encore des attelages de chiens pour les patrouilles hivernales. La GRC utilisait dorénavant les motoneiges et les autres détachements ont reçu l’ordre de se défaire de leurs chiens. En mars 1969, la dernière patrouille par attelages de chiens a été réalisée par le gendarme Warren Townsend et le gendarme auxiliaire Peter Benjamin. La « dernière patrouille » les a amenés de Old Crow à Fort McPherson et à la rivière Arctic Red et de retour à Old Crow. La patrouille a duré 26 jours et a parcouru 800 kilomètres.

Le détachement de Old Crow a aussi joué un rôle fondamental dans la fameuse chasse à l’homme du « trappeur fou ». Ce fut la première fois où la GRC utilisait la technologie radio et des avions dans leur recherche du fugitif. Les ordres et les rapports de plusieurs emplacements, y compris Old Crow, ont aidé à coordonner l’immense chasse à l’homme qui a mené à la capture et à la mort d’Albert Johnson, le trappeur fou de la rivière Rat.

De nos jours, la GRC a toujours un détachement à Old Crow. En 2005, les membres de la GRC de Old Crow ont recréé une patrouille vers l’île Herschel en utilisant les transports modernes.

Rampart

Rampart House a été établi à titre de poste de traite de la Baie d’Hudson en 1890, mais a plus tard été déplacé en amont sur la rivière Porcupine, à environ 400 kilomètres au nord-ouest de Dawson. Rampart House était une toute petite communauté composée de commerçants de fourrure indépendants et d’un missionnaire anglican. Les gens gwitchin chassaient le caribou dans cette région depuis très longtemps, car c’était un lieu de passage des caribous lors de leur migration. Dans le cadre de leur parcours saisonnier, les gwitchin faisaient du commerce et visitaient Rampart House.

La P.C.N.-O. a eu un détachement à Rampart House de 1913 à 1929. En 1929, les gwitchin et la GRC ont déménagé à un nouveau village en amont du confluent des rivières Porcupine et Old Crow. Ce nouveau village a été nommé Old Crow et demeure aujourd’hui la résidence des gwitchin.