The Force in the North

Pelly Crossing

In 1907, the constable at Selkirk moved over to the roadhouse at Pelly Crossing for the winter. He was too far away from the winter trail at Selkirk. (Royal Northwest Mounted Police Annual Report. Sessional Paper No. 28. 1908:11.)

In 1912, the Selkirk officer was at Pelly Crossing. Only open for the winter months with one NC officer and a team. (Royal Northwest Mounted Police Annual Report. Sessional Paper No. 28. 1913:242.)

Major Meedle is the commander, of the Royal North-West Mounted Police for the Yukon, announces that four detachments will be maintained this winter on the Overland Trail between Dawson and Whitehorse. They will be at Black Hills, Pelly, Yukon Crossing and Carmacks. ("Police For Trail", From the Dawson News in the Whitehorse Star, November 13, 1914.)

1913: Open winter months only, one N.C. officer or constable and a single horse. (Report of the North-West Mounted Police, 1911. Sessional Paper No. 28. Ottawa: Queen’s Printer. 1913:276.)

1914: Two more detachments were placed on the Dawson-Whitehorse trail this winter, in addition to the usual one at Pelly Crossing. (Report of the North-West Mounted Police, 1914. Sessional Paper No. 28. Ottawa: Queen’s Printer. 1914:225.)

La P.C.N.-O. dans le Nord

Pelly Crossing

En 1907, le gendarme à Selkirk a déménagé au relais de Pelly Crossing pendant l’hiver. Il était trop loin du sentier hivernal à Selkirk. (Rapport annuel de la Royale gendarmerie à cheval du Nord-Ouest. Document parlementaire no 28. 1908:11.)

En 1912, le gendarme de Selkirk se trouvait à Pelly Crossing. Seulement ouvert durant les mois d’hiver avec un sous-officier et un attelage de chiens. (Rapport annuel de la Royale gendarmerie à cheval du Nord-Ouest. Document parlementaire no 28. 1913:42.)

Le major Meedle, commandant de la Royale gendarmerie à cheval du Nord-Ouest pour le Yukon, annonce que quatre détachements seront maintenus cet hiver sur la route terrestre entre Dawson et Whitehorse, soit Black Hills, Pelly, Yukon Crossing et Carmacks. ("Police For Trail", Tiré du Dawson News dans le Whitehorse Star, le 13 novembre 1914.)

1913 : Ouvert durant les mois d’hiver seulement. Un sous-officier ou gendarme et un cheval. (Rapport de la Police à cheval du Nord-Ouest, 1911. Document parlementaire no 28. Ottawa : Imprimeur de la Reine. 1913:276.)

1914 : Deux autres détachements ont été placés sur la route entre Dawson et Whitehorse cet hiver, en plus de celui à Pelly Crossing. (Rapport de la Police à cheval du Nord-Ouest, 1914. Document parlementaire no 28. Ottawa : Imprimeur de la Reine. 1914:225.)