The Force in the North

Tagish

Tagish post was established by Inspector Strickland in September 1897. The establishment of the custom house there led the Americans to think the territory between Tagish and the sea belonged to them. However, in February, the establishment of the police post on each summit and the customs houses there showed them where the national boundary lay. (Report of the North-West Mounted Police, 1898. Ottawa: Queen’s Printer. 1899:35.)

In the summer of 1898, Superintendent Wood started to build some permanent shelters at Tagish Post. Assistant Surgeon Fraser, who was a Justice of the Peace, was left in charge at the Dalton Post with eight men and Inspector Jarvis and the remaining men came to Tagish to help build.  Fraser's senior non-commissioned officer was Sergeant Major Barker. In February 1899, Barker and Staff Sergeant Lasswitz were placed under arrest by Fraser on a charge of insubordination and inciting the men to mutiny. The men complained that in Dec. 1898 and January 1899, Barker and Lasswitz had made insulting and derogatory remarks about Fraser. Superintendent Wood sent Superintendent Primrose, who was planning on traveling through, to sort things out. Primrose tried the accused and Barker and Lasswitz were fined, demoted and lost seniority. Jarvis had previously commended Barker as giving him great assistance. He also said that Lasswitz did the work of three people during the busy season. (Jim Wallace, Forty Mile to Bonanza: The North West Mounted Police in the Klondike Gold Rush. Calgary: Bunker to Bunker Publishing. 2000:98-100, 112, 152.)

The detachments at Tagish and McClintock were withdrawn in 1901 and the Miles Canyon detachment increased as the liquor smuggling could be better controlled there. The buildings at Tagish and McClintock were left in case there were needed again. (Report of the North-West Mounted Police, 1901. Sessional Papers, Volume 11. Ottawa: Queen’s Printer. 1902:9.)

The attached videos with retired RCMP member Helmer Hermansen show the current state of the Tagish Post site as he explains some of its important history.

La P.C.N.-O. dans le Nord

Tagish

Tagish Post a été établi par l’inspecteur Strickland en septembre 1897. L’établissement d’un bureau de douanes à cet endroit a fait croire aux Américains que le territoire compris entre Tagish et la mer leur appartenait. Toutefois, en février, l’établissement d’un poste de police et des bureaux de douanes à chacun des sommets leur a indiqué où se trouvait la frontière nationale. (Rapport de la Police à cheval du Nord-Ouest, 1898. Ottawa : Imprimeur de la Reine. 1899:35.)

À l’été de 1898, le chef de police Wood a commencé à construire certains abris permanents à Tagish Post. Le chirurgien adjoint Fraser, qui était un juge de paix, a été responsable de Dalton Post, avec huit hommes pour l’aider. L’inspecteur Jarvis et les autres hommes sont arrivés à Tagish pour aider à la construction. Le sous-officier le plus haut gradé au service de M. Fraser était le sergent-major Barker. En février 1899, M. Barker et le sergent d’état-major Lasswitz ont été mis en état d’arrestation par M. Fraser pour insubordination et incitation à la mutinerie. Les hommes se sont plaints que, en décembre 1898 et janvier 1899, MM. Barker et Lasswitz avaient fait des remarques insultantes et désobligeantes envers M. Fraser. Le chef de police Wood a envoyé le chef de police Primrose, qui planifiait un voyage dans la région, afin de régler le problème. M. Primrose a jugé MM. Barker et Lasswitz qui ont finalement reçu des amendes, ont été rétrogradés et ont perdu leur ancienneté. M. Jarvis avait auparavant loué M. Barker pour l’aide apportée. Il avait aussi mentionné que M. Lasswitz travaillait comme trois hommes lors de la saison occupée. (Jim Wallace, Forty Mile to Bonanza: The North-West Mounted Police in the Klondike Gold Rush. Calgary: Bunker to Bunker Publishing. 2000:98-100, 112, 152.)

En 1901, les détachements de Tagish et de McClintock ont été abandonnés et le détachement de Miles Canyon a augmenté ses effectifs, car la contrebande d’alcool pouvait être mieux contrôlée là-bas. Les édifices à Tagish et à McClintock sont toujours là, au cas où nous en aurions encore besoin. (Rapport de la Police à cheval du Nord-Ouest, 1901. Document parlementaire, volume 11. Ottawa : Imprimeur de la Reine. 1902:9.)

Les vidéoclips ci-joints avec Helmer Hermanson, membre à la retraite de la GRC, indiquent l’état actuel de l’emplacement de Tagish Post. Il explique une partie de son histoire importante.