The Force in the North

Whitehorse

At the turn of the 20th century, 80 Mounties were stationed at Whitehorse, the headquarters for southern Yukon. But as the population declined, so did policing needs. By the 1930s only three Mounties patrolled the Whitehorse area.

During this period, Whitehorse headquarters were located where MacBride Museum sits now. This museum site was also home to the officers' housing, the jail and the RCMP stables.

In 1899, Superintendent Perry recommended that the headquarters of ‘H’ Division be moved from Tagish to the future site of Whitehorse at the terminus of the road. Tagish will be off the line of communication so the removal of the post is necessary. Regrets because it is a charming spot. Barracks accommodation will be required for four officers and 50 men. (Report of the North-West Mounted Police, 1899. Sessional Paper No.15. Ottawa: Queen’s Printer. 1900:5.)

'H' Division of the NWMP was moved to White Horse in 1900. Eight buildings were erected with the help of the Department of Public Works. They were completed by November using lumber from local sawmills. The men lived in tents while the buildings were being constructed. (Jim Wallace, Forty Mile to Bonanza: The North West Mounted Police in the Klondike Gold Rush. Calgary: Bunker to Bunker Publishing. 2000:175.)

The ‘H’ Division Headquarters is now at White Horse, the terminus of the rail line and the head of navigation.  (Report of the North-West Mounted Police, 1900. Sessional Papers, Volume 11. Ottawa: Queen’s Printer. 1901:2.)

In 1901, a new guard room is required as, due to an error in measurement, what should have been the outside measure became the inside and the building is too narrow to insert cells. It can be used for something else. A new one and a half story store building 60’ x 20’ was erected as well as a bath and wash house, a division and casualty store, quarters for the Asst. Surgeon, a latrine and an ice house as well as two pump houses. (Report of the North-West Mounted Police, 1901. Sessional Papers, Volume 11. Ottawa: Queen’s Printer. 1902:6-7.)

In the decades before World War II, a diminishing force ran the headquarters of "H" Division at Whitehorse. The force declined in step with the population and the local economy. Whitehorse had been a small, quiet town, until 1942, when the war prompted the construction of the Alaska Highway and brought about the "second Gold Rush."

Construction of the Alaska Highway in 1942 created a booming economy. The Yukon’s economic and political centre shifted from Dawson to Whitehorse and so did police headquarters. Since 1974, Whitehorse has been the headquarters for “M” Division.

La P.C.N.-O. dans le Nord

Whitehorse

Au tournant du XXe siècle, 80 gendarmes se trouvaient en poste à Whitehorse, quartiers généraux pour le sud du Yukon. Avec le déclin de la population, les besoins en matière de police ont aussi baissé. Dans les années 1930, seuls trois gendarmes patrouillaient la région de Whitehorse.

Durant cette période, les quartiers généraux étaient situés à l’emplacement actuel du musée MacBride. Sur ce site se trouvaient également les quartiers des officiers, la prison et les écuries de la GRC.

En 1899, le chef de police Perry a recommandé que les quartiers généraux de la Division H soient déplacés de Tagish vers le futur site de Whitehorse, au bout de la route. Tagish est hors de la ligne de communication, donc l’abandon du poste est nécessaire. Je regrette, car c’est un endroit charmant. Nous aurons besoin de casernes pour quatre officiers et 50 hommes. (Rapport de la Police à cheval du Nord-Ouest, 1899. Document parlementaire no 15. Ottawa : Imprimeur de la Reine. 1900:5.)

La Division H de la P.C.N.-O. a déménagé à White Horse en 1900. Avec l’aide du ministère des Travaux publics, huit édifices ont été construits à partir de bois provenant des scieries locales. Ils ont été terminés en novembre. Les hommes vivaient sous des tentes durant la construction des édifices. (Jim Wallace, Forty Mile to Bonanza: The North-West Mounted Police in the KlondikeGold Rush.Calgary: Bunker to Bunker Publishing. 2000:175.)

Les quartiers généraux de la Division H se trouvent maintenant à White Horse, le terminus du chemin de fer et la tête de ligne de la navigation. (Rapport de la Police à cheval du Nord-Ouest, 1900. Document parlementaire, volume 11. Ottawa : Imprimeur de la Reine. 1901:2.)

En 1901, un nouveau poste de surveillance est nécessaire, car il y a eu une erreur dans les mesures. Ce qui aurait dû être la mesure de l’extérieur est devenue l’intérieur et l’édifice est trop étroit pour y insérer des cellules. Il peut être utilisé pour quelque chose d’autre. Un nouvel édifice d’un étage et demi de 60 pieds sur 20 pieds a été construit ainsi que des bains publics et une buanderie, un magasin de division et d’identification, des quartiers pour le chirurgien adjoint, des latrines, un dépôt de glace et deux postes de pompe. (Rapport de la Police à cheval du Nord-Ouest, 1901. Document parlementaire, volume 11. Ottawa : Imprimeur de la Reine. 1901:6-7.)

Au cours des décennies précédant la Deuxième Guerre mondiale, une force de plus en plus réduite a assuré les services dans les quartiers généraux de la Division H à Whitehorse. Avec le déclin de la population et de l’économie, la force policière a aussi décliné. Whitehorse est devenue une petite ville tranquille jusqu’en 1942, durant la Deuxième Guerre mondiale, quand la construction de la route de l’Alaska a provoqué une « deuxième ruée vers l’or. »

La construction de la route de l’Alaska en 1942 a créé une économie prospère. Le centre économique et politique du Yukon, ainsi que les quartiers généraux de la police sont passés de Dawson à Whitehorse, Depuis 1974, les quartiers généraux de la Division M sont situés à Whitehorse.