Weather

Starting in July 2000, automated weather stations were installed on and around mount Logan. These stations monitor air temperature, atmospheric pressure, humidity, wind speed and direction, and snow accumulation. All of this information is used to determine the affect the mountain has on moist air masses.

Geology

Mount Logan is a massive block of granite, covered and surrounded by glaciers. It stands as an imposing titan with one of the greatest vertical rises in the world with cliffs over 3000m tall. The mountain is a massif with eleven major peaks along its 16km summit crest.

Mount Logan is second in height only to Denali (Mount McKinley) in North American. Logan's height is 5959+/-3m. It is located at 60 degrees, 34 minutes north, 140 degrees, 24 minutes west, in the southwest corner of Canada's Yukon Territory. It is here that the St. Elias Range rises up from the Pacific Ocean.

A combination of tectonic action and glaciers has shaped Mount Logan. As the glaciers receded after the last great ice age isostatic rebound allowed the mountain to grow taller as their massive weight was shed.

Ice Cores

Starting in 2001 research into ice-cores on Mount Logan began. The research project, named ICE2001 was focused on two principal objectives:

1. to drill ice cores at 5300m above sea level
2. to study the current and recent conditions of the glaciers and icefields around Mount Logan

It is the goal of this research is to better understand present and past climate changes.

Météo


À partir de juillet 2000, des stations météorologiques automatiques ont été installées autour du mont Logan. Ces stations mesurent la température de l'air, la pression atmosphérique, l'humidité, la vitesse et la direction du vent, et l'accumulation de neige. Toute cette information sert à déterminer l’effet de la montagne sur les masses d'air humide.

Géologie
Le mont Logan est un bloc de granit colossal, recouvert et entouré de glaciers. Titan majestueux, il présente l’une des plus grandes parois verticales au monde et des falaises qui atteignent plus de 3000 mètres de hauteur. La montagne est en fait un massif et compte onze sommets importants le long de sa crête sommitale, qui s’étend sur 16 kilomètres.

Le mont Logan est le deuxième en altitude en Amérique du Nord et n’est dépassé que par le Denali (mont McKinley). Le mont Logan fait 5959+/-3m d’altitude. Il est situé à 60 degrés, 34 minutes au nord, 140 degrés, 24 minutes à l’ouest, dans la région sud-ouest du territoire du Yukon, au Canada. C’est ici que la chaîne des monts St-Elias émerge de l’océan Pacifique.

C’est la combinaison de la tectonique des plaques et de l’érosion des glaciers qui a façonné le mont Logan. Lorsque les glaciers se sont retirés après la dernière période glaciaire, le rebond isostatique a permis à la montagne de prendre de l’altitude à mesure qu’elle perdait de son poids gigantesque.

Carottes de glace

Les recherches sur les carottes de glace du mont Logan ont commencé en 2001. Le projet de recherche,intitulé ICE2001, visait essentiellement deux objectifs :

1. prélever des carottes de glace à 5300 mètres au-dessus du niveau de la mer
2. étudier les conditions actuelles et récentes des glaciers et des champs de glace (glossaire ) autour du mont Logan

Le but de cette recherche était de mieux comprendre les changements climatiques actuels et passés.