Nunavik: A Land, Its People See more of the Virtual Museum of Canada Introduction The Land The People Culture Accounts Gallery Site map Credits Français Inuktitut
Virtual Museum of Canada


The Laboratoire de recherche sur les musiques du monde (LRMM) of the Université de Montréal gratefully acknowledges the financial investment by the Department of Canadian Heritage in the creation of this online presentation for the Virtual Museum of Canada.

Concept, structure, project direction: Luc Bouvrette, D.Mus [], Associate Researcher, LRMM, University of Montreal

Design, computer graphics, audio, animation, Flash / HTML integration: Luc Bouvrette

Texts and research: Luc Bouvrette, Éric Chalifoux (sections on the history of Nunavik)

Photography: Luc Bouvrette

Additional photography and archival photos:

McCord Museum of Canadian History (Marilyn Aitken, artifacts photography)
Hudson Bay Company Archives
Library and Archives Canada
Heiko Wittenborn (Pingualuit Lake aerial photo)
Cathy Archambault (Naala Nappaaluk and school children)

Translation: Minnie Amidlak, Jane Macauly

Interpreter in Kangiqsujuaq : Tiiviq Qumaaluk

Administrative direction for the LRMM: Monique Desroches, LRMM director

We would like to warmly thank the following people :

Allen Gordon, Executive Director of the Nunavik Tourism Association
Jakusi Ittukallak, Mario Aubin and the whole team at the Nunavik Arctic Survival Training Camp (NASTC)
Alec Tertiluk
Mary Kiatainaq
Inuluk Qisiiq
Maata Tuniq
Lizzie Irniq
Willie Berthe
Elisapi Amarualik
Louisa Qisiiq
Siasie Tuniq
Beatrice Deer
Timothy Sangoya and the Tasiujaq Police Department
Sean McDonagh, Bernard Murdoch and Richard Murdoch of the Fédération des coopératives du Nouveau-Québec (FCNQ)
The teachers and staff at Arsinik School in Kangiqsujuaq : Cathy Archambault, Shona McCusker, Sayard Chartrand, Annie Tertiluk, Sophie Beaudoin, Lucie Levesque
Simon Hébert, formerly from the Kativik School Board
Minnie Amidlak
Willie Gordon
Nathalie Girard and Pierre Laporte of Parks Nunavik
Jane Macaulay
Mylène Larivière and her family
Martha and Matthew Berthe
Staff from the Fédération des coopératives du Nouveau-Québec (FCNQ) Hotels, Iqaluppik Hotel and Kangiqsujuaq Inn.
The staff from Air Inuit and First Air
Sara Griffiths
Nicole Vallières, Stéphanie Poisson and Marilyn Aitken from the McCord Museum of Canadian History
Anne Juergensen of the Canadian Museum of Civilizations
George Filotas
Bronwen Quarry, Debra Moore and Andrea McCutcheon of the Hudson Bay Company Archives
Beth Greenhorn of Library and Archives Canada
Nadine Cloutier
Louise Allard

From the Canadian Heritage Information Network (CHIN) :

Esther Rosenberg, Jennifer Baird, Dominique Godfrey, Tracy McKenney and Marie-Hélène Myre

And from the Université de Montréal :

Monique Desroches, Director of the Laboratoire de recherche sur les musiques du monde (LRMM)
Pierre Patenaude of the Bureau Recherche-Développement-Valorisation
Christiane Mélançon, Librarian at the Faculté de Musique
Johanne Beaudin, Administrative Services Director, Faculté de musique
Carole Laplante, Administration technician, Faculté de musique
Myke Roy, coordonator and Patrick Félix, technician from the Secteur Électro-acoustique

See more of the Virtual Museum of Canada
© Laboratoire de recherche sur les musiques du monde , 2009. All rights reserved. A creation of [thirty-nine creative] Questions/comments ? FLASH VERSION

Université de Montréal