Home

See more of the Virtual Museum of Canada

Before the War
The Holocaust
Liberation
Displaced Persons Camps
Where Can We Go?
The Journey
Welcome to Canada
New Lives
Canadian Immigration Overview
I. Childhood in Poland
I was born in 1931 in Zbarazh, Ukraine (formerly Poland). Later I learned that the town had been in existence since 1519. There were probably about 300 Jewish families. All my mother's brothers and sisters lived nearby. My grandmother had 9 children, so by the time I got to see all my cousins I didn't see much of the community. On Sundays, all the Jewish families would promenade in the park, with high heels and beautiful clothes. My family was very secular and Zionist. We had made plans to go to Palestine.

I lived in a fabulous world of my own and I had imaginary friends. This might be due to the fact that I was always sick with swollen glands. I had a private tutor so I wouldn't miss too much school work. Every Sunday someone came to teach me Hebrew. I also went to a regular school and I remember art classes more than anything else. I remember singing Christmas carols. They sounded pretty.
more... »    
Celina's Map
I. Childhood in Poland
II. "Things began to change"
III. The Lvov Ghetto
IV. Hiding
V. War's End
VI. Looking for a Home
VII. Voyage and Arrival
VIII. Adjusting
IX. A New Life
Hebrew
An ancient Canaanite language of the Hebrews traditionally used in prayer. It has been revived as the official language of the State of Israel.
Jew/Jewish
Someone of the Hebrew or Jewish people. Someone who is either born or converts to Judaism, which is the religion, philosophy and way of life of the Jewish People.
Zionism
A Jewish movement that began in the late 19th century in response to growing anti-Semitism and pogroms against the Jews, which sought to re-establish a Jewish homeland in Palestine. Today Zionists are concerned with the support and development of the state of Israel.

Home

Pour voir davantage du Musée virtuel du Canada

Avant la guerre
L’holocauste
Libération
Camp de personne déplacéess
Où aller?
Le  Voyage
Bienvenue au Canada
Des vies nouvelles
Immigration Canada:aperçu
Ressources d'apprentissage
I. Une enfance en Pologne
Je suis née en 1931 à Zbarazh, en Ukraine (autrefois la Pologne). J'ai appris plus tard que la ville existait depuis 1519. Il y avait probablement autour de 300 familles juives. Tous les frères et les soeurs de ma mère habitaient le voisinage. Ma grand-mère avait eu neuf enfants, c'est pourquoi une fois vus tous mes cousins, je n'avais plus beaucoup de temps pour connaître le reste de la communauté. Le dimanche, toutes les familles juives allaient se promener dans le parc, en hauts talons et en beaux vêtements. Ma famille n'était pas très pratiquante et plutôt sioniste. Nous avions projeté de partir en Palestine.

Je vivais dans un monde à moi, fabuleux et rempli d'amis imaginaires. C'était sans doute dû au fait que j'étais toujours malade: je souffrais de lymphatisme. J'avais un professeur particulier pour ne pas manquer trop du travail scolaire. Tous les dimanche, quelqu'un venait m'enseigner l'hébreu. J'allais aussi à l'école ordinaire et je me rappelle surtout les cours de dessin. Je me souviens que je chantais des chants de Noël. Je les trouvais beaux.
suivant... »    
Carte de Celina
I. Une enfance en Pologne
II. "Les choses commencent à changer"
III. Le ghetto de Lvov
IV. Se cacher
V. La fin de la guerre
VI. À la recherche d'un foyer
VII. Le voyage et l'arrivée
VIII. S'adapter
IX. Une vie nouvelle
Hébreu
Ancienne langue cananéenne des Hébreux, traditionnellement utilisée dans les prières. Elle a été reprise par l'État d'Israël dont elle est devenue la langue officielle.
Juif/Juive
Personne appartenant au peuple juif ou hébreu. Personne adepte, par naissance ou par conversion, du judaïsme qui est la religion, la philosophie et le mode de vie des Juifs.
Sionisme
Mouvement juif dont les débuts remontent à la fin du dix-neuvième siècle, en réponse à l'antisémitisme grandissant et aux pogroms organisés contre les Juifs; ces derniers pensaient pouvoir se rétablir en Palestine. Les sionistes s'occupent aujourd'hui de soutenir l'état d'Israël et de participer à son développement.