Home

See more of the Virtual Museum of Canada

Before the War
The Holocaust
Liberation
Displaced Persons Camps
Where Can We Go?
The Journey
Welcome to Canada
New Lives
Canadian Immigration Overview
When Adolf Hitler and the Nazis came to power in 1933, they began to systematically remove Jews from the cultural and commercial life of Germany. Jewish property and businesses were confiscated and Jewish children were denied the right to a public education. The Nuremberg Laws of 1935 further isolated Jews by revoking their citizenship. The goal was to make Germany judenrein (free of Jews).     more... »
Hitler, Adolf (1889-1945)
Founder of the German Nazi party and its leader from 1919 until 1945. Hitler became Chancellor of the Third Reich from 1933-45. He outlined his plans for territorial conquest and expressed his hatred for Jews in his autobiography Mein Kampf written in 1923. On January 30, 1942 Hitler set in motion the destruction and murder of six million Jews. He committed suicide in an underground bunker in Berlin on April 30, 1945.
Jew/Jewish
Someone of the Hebrew or Jewish people. Someone who is either born or converts to Judaism, which is the religion, philosophy and way of life of the Jewish People.
Nuremberg Laws
Anti-Jewish legislation announced during a Nazi party rally in Nuremberg, Germany on September 15, 1935. The first of a long series of decrees which stripped Jews of their German citizenship, defined a Jew based on the number of Jewish grandparents, prohibited marriages and sexual relations between Jews and Germans, prohibited Jews from hiring German maids under the age of 45 and raising the German flag.

Home

Pour voir davantage du Musée virtuel du Canada

Avant la guerre
L’holocauste
Libération
Camp de personne déplacéess
Où aller?
Le  Voyage
Bienvenue au Canada
Des vies nouvelles
Immigration Canada:aperçu
Ressources d'apprentissage
En Allemagne, Adolf Hitler et les Nazis se sont emparés du pouvoir en 1933. Ils ont commencé à éliminer systématiquement les Juifs de la vie économique et culturelle de l'Allemagne. Les lois de Nuremberg de 1935 isolèrent encore plus les Juifs en leur enlevant la citoyenneté et en leur confisquant biens et entreprises. On interdit aux enfants juifs d'accéder à l'école publique. Le but était de faire de l'Allemagne un pays "judenrein" (sans Juifs).     suivant... »
Hitler Adolphe (1889 - 1945)
Fondateur du parti nazi allemand, il l'a dirigé de 1919 à 1945. Il a été Chancelier du Troisième Reich de 1933 à 1945. Il a écrit les grandes lignes de son plan de conquête territoriale et exprimé sa haine à l'égard des Juifs dans Mein Kampf, son autobiographie qu'il a rédigée en 1923. Le 30 janvier 1942, il déclenché le massacre et l'extermination de six millions de Juifs. Il s'est suicidé dans un abri souterrain à Berlin, le 30 avril 1945.
Juif/Juive
Personne appartenant au peuple juif ou hébreu. Personne adepte, par naissance ou par conversion, du judaïsme qui est la religion, la philosophie et le mode de vie des Juifs.
Lois de Nuremberg
Ensemble de lois antisémites annoncées au cours d'un ralliement du parti nazi à Nuremberg, en Allemagne, le 15 septembre 1935. Elles marquèrent le début d'une longue série de décrets qui privèrent les Juifs de leur nationalité allemande, précisèrent la définition de la personne juive d'après le nombre des grands-parents juifs, interdirent les mariages et les relations sexuelles entre Juifs et Allemands, interdirent aux Juifs d'engager des domestiques allemandes de moins de 45 ans et de hisser le drapeau allemand.