Home

See more of the Virtual Museum of Canada

Before the War
The Holocaust
Liberation
Displaced Persons Camps
Where Can We Go?
The Journey
Welcome to Canada
New Lives
Canadian Immigration Overview
On Kristallnacht — the Night of Broken Glass — November 9, 1938, Jewish synagogues and businesses in Germany and Austria were attacked and hundreds of Jews arrested. This marked a new level of ferocity in the Nazis' anti-Semitic policies.

As European countries came under German occupation during World War II, Nazis applied anti-Jewish measures and established ghettos to confine Jewish populations. By the end of 1941, the Final Solution, the Nazi policy of exterminating all Jews, was in place and the mass deportations of Jews to the concentration camps had begun.     more... »
Concentration Camps
The Nazis established prison camps shortly after assuming power in 1933 to hold and isolate political opponents and those considered to be "racially" undesirable such as Jews and Gypsies. Most of the approximately 1800 camps were transit or labour camps. The first were Dachau, Buchenwald and Sachsenhausen. After the occupation of Poland, extermination camps were established for mass murder at Auschwitz-Birkenau, Treblinka, Sobibor, Belzec, Chelmno and Majdanek.
Deportation
Part of the Nazi program to remove Jews from Germany in order to increase living space for ethnic Germans. Initially an effort to rid German-held land of Jews, deportation eventually became a means to deliver Jews to concentration camps and implement the Final Solution.
Final Solution
The Nazi code name for the plan to exterminate the Jews of Europe. Intended as a resolution to what the Nazis called the 'Jewish Question'. The plan was formalized at the Wannsee Conference, held in a suburb of Berlin in January 1942.
Ghetto
The Nazis revived the medieval term ghetto to describe the compulsory "Jewish Quarters" often in the poorest section of the city, where Jews from the surrounding areas were forced to live. Surrounded by barbed wire or walls, the ghettos were sealed before the deportation of Jews to the concentration camps. Established mostly in Eastern Europe, the ghettos were characterized by overcrowding, starvation and forced labour.
Kristallnacht
The "Night of Broken Glass" was the Nazi orchestrated attack against German and Austrian Jews on November 9, 1938. Hundreds of synagogues were burned, thousands of Jewish businesses were destroyed and 30,000 Jews were rounded-up and taken to Camps de concentration. The event marked an escalation in the Nazi persecution of Jews.
Nazi
A member of the National Socialist German Workers' Party (NSDAP) founded in 1919 and brought to power in 1933 under Adolf Hitler.
World War II
The war fought from 1939 to 1945, in which Great Britain, France, the Soviet Union, the United States, Canada, China, and other allies defeated Nazi Germany, Fascist Italy, and Japan. After Germany invaded Poland in September 1939 Britain declared war against Germany. Canada entered the war shortly afterwards. The United States entered the war after the bombing of Pearl Harbour in December 1941. The war ended with the surrender of Germany in May 1945 and the surrender of Japan in August 1945.

Home

Pour voir davantage du Musée virtuel du Canada

Avant la guerre
L’holocauste
Libération
Camp de personne déplacéess
Où aller?
Le  Voyage
Bienvenue au Canada
Des vies nouvelles
Immigration Canada:aperçu
Ressources d'apprentissage
Le 9 novembre 1938, lors de la Kristallnacht —la nuit des carreaux cassés — les synagogues et les entreprises juives furent détruites en Allemagne et en Autriche et des centaines de Juifs furent arrêtés. Cet évènement marqua une niveau accru de férocité des politiques antisémites du régime nazi.

À mesure que l'occupation allemande progressait en Europe pendant la seconde guerre mondiale, les Nazis appliquaient des mesures contre les Juifs et établissaient des ghettos afin de les y confiner. Dès la fin de 1941, la Solution finale, la politique nazie d'extermination des Juifs s'organisait et les déportations massives de Juifs vers les camps de concentration avaient commencé.     suivant... »
Camps de concentration
Les Nazis ont organisé les camps peu après leur prise du pouvoir en 1933 afin d'enfermer et d'isoler leurs opposants politiques et ceux qu'ils considéraient comme "racialement" indésirables comme les Juifs et les Tziganes. La plupart de ces camps, dont le nombre approchait 1800, étaient des camps de transition ou de travail. Dachau, Buchenwald et Sachsenhausen furent les premiers. Après l'occupation de la Pologne, ils organisèrent des camps d'extermination à Auschwitz-Birkenau, Treblinka, Sobibor, Belzec, Chelmno et Majdanek.
Déportation
Un des principes du programme nazi pour chasser les Juifs d'Allemagne de façon à accroître l'espace vital des Allemands de souche. Au début, la déportation répondait à l'intention des Nazis d'exproprier les Juifs qui possédaient des terres sur le sol allemand, puis elle est devenue un moyen d'expédier les Juifs vers les camps de concentration et de mettre en oeuvre la Solution finale.
Solution finale
Nom de code des Nazis pour le plan d'extermination des Juifs en Europe. Ayant pour objet de résoudre ce que les Nazis appelaient la "Question juive". Le plan a été élaboré lors de la conférence de Wannsee, qui s'est tenue dans un faubourg de Berlin en janvier 1942.
Ghetto
Les Nazis ont repris le terme moyenâgeux de ghetto pour décrire les "quartiers juifs" obligatoires, souvent établis dans la partie la plus pauvre de la ville, et où l'on obligeait les Juifs des environs à venir s'installer. Entourés de barbelés ou de murs, les ghettos étaient complètement fermés avant la déportation des Juifs vers les camps de concentration. Établis surtout en Europe de l'Est, les ghettos se caractérisaient par le surpeuplement, la famine et les travaux forcés.
Kristallnacht
Le 9 novembre 1938, au cours de la "Nuit des carreaux cassés", les Nazis orchestrèrent leur attaque contre les Juifs allemands et autrichiens. Des centaines de synagogues furent incendiées, des milliers d'entreprises juives furent détruites et 30.000 Juifs furent victimes d'une rafle et expédiés vers les camps de concentration. Cet évènement marqua le début de l'escalade de la persécution des Juifs par les Nazis.
Nazi
Membre du parti national-socialiste des travailleurs allemands, fondé en 1919, et qui s'est emparé du pouvoir en 1933 sous Adolphe Hitler.
Seconde guerre mondiale
La guerre dura de 1939 à 1945. La Grande Bretagne, la France, l'Union soviétique, les États-Unis, le Canada, la Chine et les autres Alliés battirent l'Allemagne nazie, l'Italie fasciste et le Japon. À la suite de l'invasion de la Pologne par l'Allemagne en septembre 1939, la Grande Bretagne déclara la guerre à l'Allemagne. Le Canada entra en guerre peu après. Les États-Unis entrèrent en guerre après le bombardement de Pearl Harbour en décembre 1941. La guerre se termina lorsque les Allemands se rendirent en mai 1945 et les Japonais en août 1945.