Home

See more of the Virtual Museum of Canada

Before the War
The Holocaust
Liberation
Displaced Persons Camps
Where Can We Go?
The Journey
Welcome to Canada
New Lives
Canadian Immigration Overview
To find the thousands of children lost in the post-war chaos and to reunite them with their families, teams from the Red Cross, the United Nations Rehabilitation and Relief Administration (UNRRA) and Jewish aid agencies combed Europe looking for "unaccompanied" or orphaned children.

Some of the orphans were gathered up in makeshift orphanages like Kloster Indersdorf or sent to DP camps. Relief organizations cooperated to gather names of survivors and distribute the lists to the various refugee camps.
Kloster Indersdorf Orphanage
Established by the United Nations Rehabilitation and Relief Administration (UNRRA) after World War II as the only international children's centre to care for orphaned or unaccompanied children. Located in a sixteenth century monastery, near Dachau, Germany.
Red Cross
International organization, founded in 1863 according to the terms of the Geneva Convention to care for wounded, sick and homeless during wartime. Its mandate later expanded to include the monitoring of humanitarian international law. The Red Cross attempted to assess conditions in prison and concentration camps during the war but was refused entry by the Nazis. After the war the Red Cross assisted in tracing survivors, in family unification and resettlement.
Refugee
Someone who flees their country of origin because of a well-founded fear of persecution due to race, religion, nationality, membership in a social or political group.
UNRRA
United Nations Relief and Rehabilitation Administration founded in 1943 by the Allies to aid refugees in the liberated countries of Europe and the Far East. After the war, it provided relief and helped millions of displaced persons repatriate or emigrate.

Home

Pour voir davantage du Musée virtuel du Canada

Avant la guerre
L’holocauste
Libération
Camp de personne déplacéess
Où aller?
Le  Voyage
Bienvenue au Canada
Des vies nouvelles
Immigration Canada:aperçu
Ressources d'apprentissage
Afin de retrouver les milliers d'enfants perdus dans le chaos de l'après-guerre et de les réunir avec leurs familles, des équipes de la Croix-Rouge, de l'UNRRA (l'Administration des Nations Unies pour les secours et la reconstruction) et des organismes d'aide juifs passèrent l'Europe au peigne fin à la recherche d'enfants "non accompagnés" ou orphelins.

Certains de ces orphelins furent regroupés dans des orphelinats improvisés comme Kloster Indersdorf ou envoyés dans des camps de personnes déplacées. Des oeuvres de secours coopérèrent pour réunir les noms des survivants et distribuer les listes à divers camps de réfugiés.
Orphelinat de Kloster Indersdorf
Après la seconde guerre mondiale, l'UNRRA (l'Administration des Nations Unies pour les secours et la reconstruction) a joué un rôle majeur dans la prise en charge des orphelins ou des enfants non accompagnés en organisant le seul Centre d'accueil pour enfants international. On avait installé ce centre dans un monastère du XVIème siècle près de Dachau en Allemagne
Croix-Rouge
Organisation internationale fondée en 1863, selon les termes de la Convention de Genève, pour prendre soin des blessés, des malades et des sans abri en temps de guerre. Son mandat s'est étendu plus tard à la surveillance du respect du droit international humanitaire. La Croix-Rouge a tenté d'évaluer les conditions de vie dans les prisons et dans les camps de concentration pendant la guerre, mais les Nazis s'y sont opposés. Après la guerre, la Croix-Rouge a participé à la recherche des survivants, à la réunification et à la réinstallation des familles.
Réfugié
Toute personne qui fuit son pays d'origine à la suite de craintes bien fondées de persécution à cause de sa race, de sa religion, de sa nationalité ou de son appartenance à un groupe social ou politique.
UNRRA
L'Administration des Nations Unies pour les secours et la reconstruction fut fondée en 1943 par les Alliés pour aider les réfugiés des pays libérés d'Europe et de l'Extrême Orient. Elle a porté secours sous forme de dons alimentaires et de vêtements et a aidé des millions de personnes déplacées à être rapatriées ou à émigrer après la guerre.