Home

See more of the Virtual Museum of Canada

Before the War
The Holocaust
Liberation
Displaced Persons Camps
Where Can We Go?
The Journey
Welcome to Canada
New Lives
Canadian Immigration Overview
Those who came to Canada as part of the War Orphans Project found themselves scattered across the country, some in the larger cities, others in smaller communities. In some cases, there were incompatible differences between the orphans and their host families. These orphans made several moves to other homes before they were finally settled. However, most of the families provided a secure base from which the orphans could begin their new lives in Canada. Many of the orphans formed lifelong bonds with their foster families. In many cases, social workers and members of Canadian Jewish Congress also played central roles and went beyond their professional duties to help these young people.      more... »
Canadian Jewish Congress / CJC
An organization of the Canadian Jewish community, founded in 1919, but was dormant until events in Europe revitalized it in 1933. During and after the war, it worked to secure asylum for Jewish refugees in Canada.
War Orphans Project
An initiative of the Canadian Jewish community that secured the permission of the Canadian government to admit Jewish orphans after the war. In 1947, Privy Council Order #1647 was issued permitting 1000 Jewish war orphans, under eighteen years of age, to immigrate to Canada under the auspices of Canadian Jewish congress, with the stipulation that full responsibility for the children's welfare be assumed by the Jewish community.

Home

Pour voir davantage du Musée virtuel du Canada

Avant la guerre
L’holocauste
Libération
Camp de personne déplacéess
Où aller?
Le  Voyage
Bienvenue au Canada
Des vies nouvelles
Immigration Canada:aperçu
Ressources d'apprentissage
Ceux qui sont venus au Canada dans le cadre du Projet des orphelins de guerre se sont retrouvés éparpillés à travers le pays, certains dans de grandes villes, d'autres dans de petites communautés. Dans certains cas, il eut des différences incompatibles entre les orphelins et leurs familles d'accueil. Ces orphelins furent confiés à d'autres familles au sein desquelles ils purent enfin se fixer. La plupart des familles cependant leur offrirent une base solide sur laquelle ils purent commencer une vie nouvelle au Canada. Beaucoup de ces orphelins formèrent avec leur famille d'accueil des liens qui durèrent toute leur vie. Il ne faut pas non plus, dans de nombreux cas, négliger le rôle important des travailleurs sociaux et des membres du Congrès juif canadien qui dépassèrent de loin le cadre de leurs devoir professionnel pour aider ces jeunes gens.     suivant... »
Congrès juif canadien (CJC)
Organisme fondé en 1919 par la communauté juive du Canada, mais qui est resté peu actif jusqu'en 1933, moment où il a fallu réagir aux évènements qui se produisaient en Europe. Pendant et après la guerre, le CJC s'est efforcé d'obtenir l'asile des réfugiés juifs au Canada.
Projet des orphelins de guerre
C'est grâce à cette initiative de la communauté juive du Canada que le gouvernement canadien a autorisé l'admission d'orphelins juifs après la guerre. En 1947, le décret 1647 du Conseil privé a autorisé 1000 orphelins de guerre juifs, âgés de moins de 18 ans, à immigrer au Canada, sous les auspices du Congrès juif canadien, sous réserve que la communauté juive canadienne prenne la responsabilité entière du bien-être des enfants.