Beacons of Light - Lighthouses of Prince Edward Island Virtual Museum of Canada
Navigation
          Next Page  

Victoria Seaport Lighthouse History

Victoria was once one of Prince Edward Island’s busiest seaports. The story of the harbour, the range lights, their keepers and the community are presented in the Victoria Seaport Museum, which opened in 1990. It is operated by a non-profit group. In addition to the fishing and farming industries in the region, Victoria provided a link to the mainland. Ships like the S.S. Harland carried passengers on the three hour trip to and from Pictou, Nova Scotia.

The museum is housed in the small square tower that is unique on PEI as being the only light structure with two different range lights. The Leard’s Front Range Light is located directly above the long dark red striped day mark that extends from the lantern deck to the top of the window. The Palmer’s Back Range Light is directly above the triangular light red day mark that is attached to the metal railing of the lantern deck.

There are six range lights to direct marine traffic into the harbour. As mentioned, Leard’s Front Range and Palmer’s Back Range are in one building located at the West end of the causeway near the Visitor Information Centre and the wharf. The Palmer’s Front Range is simply a red light on top of a triangular day mark on a platform in the water between the wharf and the Visitor Centre.

Victoria Harbour. Circa 1900. Victoria Seaport Museum.
Victoria Harbour.
   
S.S. Harland. Circa 1900. Victoria Seaport Museum.
S.S. Harland.
   
Palmer’s Back Range Light. 1998. Carol Livingstone
Leard’s Front Range Light (right) and Palmer’s Back Range Light (left).
 
 
© 2007, Community Museums Association of Prince Edward Island Comments Credits Home Francais