Beacons of Light - Lighthouses of Prince Edward Island Virtual Museum of Canada
Navigation
             

Wood Islands Lighthouse

Wood Islands Lighthouse was put into service in 1876 and is unique for being the last lighthouse on Prince Edward Island where the lightkeeper and his family lived within the lighthouse. The dwelling, which received some changes during its lifetime, is still attached to the tower.

Wood Islands has a long history of inter-provincial transport. A mail run between Wood Islands and Pictou, Nova Scotia, was the Island’s only water link with the mainland until 1827. Construction of the Wood Islands Ferry Terminal began in 1937 and made this harbour a very important one.

The lighthouse is now operated by a dedicated group called The Keepers of the Light, who established exhibits in the lighthouse on the history of the community, lighthouses, the fishery and ferry industries, and bootlegging.

Wood Islands Lighthouse 2006. CMA PEI
 
Wood Islands Lighthouse 2006.
   
Panoramic Tour of Wood Islands Lighthouse
 
Video Tour of Wood Islands Lighthouse
 
Video interview with Tom MacMillan
 
 
© 2007, Community Museums Association of Prince Edward Island Comments Credits Home Francais