A Day
Ideas
Time Travel
Activities
Resources
Ideas
Chanting

Seven times each day, Trappist Monks gather in the chapel for small services of communal prayer called Offices or Hours. Music plays a great role in the Offices as the monks consider chanting as "sung prayer".

The chant differs from most music because of its free rhythm and simple form. Different types of chants are chosen to suit the office and the different parts of the mass. For most of the chanting the cantor leads and the rest of the choir responds. Traditionally chanting was just the monks’ voices. Certain orders like the Trappistes, have an organ which accompanies some of the chanting with simple chordal background.

In the monastic chapel, the Monks sit in two sets of stalls facing each other. At the back of the chapel is a section for visitors who are offered copies of the chant books and welcomed to join their voices with the monks. Raising our voices in song gives life to the spoken word.

A more experienced musical historian will point to examples of categories of chant: antiphon, response, hymn. Equally, different forms of prayers are chanted daily: psalms, Salve Regina, Pater Noster. The mass itself is also divided into musical parts such as Kyrie, Agnus Dei.

Notes

1. "...and let us stand to sing the psalms in such a way
that our minds are in harmonie with our voices."
Rule of St. Benedict #19

©  Copyright 2005 St. Norbert Arts Centre — All Rights Reserved

Une journée
Concepts
Voyage dans le Temps
Travaux
Ressources
Concepts
div>
Le Chant

Sept fois par jour, les moines se rassemblent dans la chapelle pour célébrer les Heures, c’est-à-dire de courts offices de prière en commun. La musique joue un rôle important dans les offices, car les moines considèrent le chant comme une prière.

Le chant grégorien diffère de la plupart des autres formes musicales par sa forme simple et son rythme libre. Les textes chantés varient selon les offices et les différentes parties de la messe. Le chef de chœur entonne le chant et le chœur répond. Traditionnellement, les moines chantaient a capella. Dans certains ordres, comme les trappistes, les moines s’accompagnent à l’orgue. Dans ce cas, l’organiste donne la note et joue une mélodie aux accords très simples.

Dans la chapelle, les moines s’assoient dans des stalles qui se font face. À l’arrière de la chapelle se trouve une section réservée aux visiteurs, qui peuvent se joindre au chant des moines en suivant dans un recueil de chants. Chanter à l’unisson donne vie à la Parole de Dieu.

Pour un historien de la musique, il existe de nombreux types de pièces vocales : antienne, psaume antiphoné, répons, hymne. De plus, différentes prières sont chantées tous les jours : psaumes, Salve Regina, Pater Noster. L’ordinaire de la messe comporte également des parties chantées telles que le Kyrie, le Sanctus, l’Agnus Dei.

Notes
1.
Et quand nous chantons les psaumes, tenons-nous de telle sorte que notre esprit soit d'accord avec notre voix.
Règle de saint Benoît, 19

©  2005 Centre des arts de Saint-Norbert. Tous droits réservés.