Welcome to the story of the college's growth from the early 1950's to the present day.
Wishes From The West
15 October 1945
The school opened November 6, 1944 with six students and six faculty members - Glen S. McLean, W.J. Ern Baxter, Lorne O. Pritchard, Mr. & Mrs. W.B. Marshall and A.D. Marshall. Classes were held in the basement of the Eston Church. After Christmas, enrollment rose to twenty. All students boarded in private homes.
Zealous to serve the Lord and spread the gospel, men and women realized that Bible school training was the first step towards that goal. Throughout the 1940's and 50's these men and women were equipped with the necessary tools. Courses were offered in Bible Construction, Bible Doctrine, Child Evangelism, Church History, English, Pastoral Theology, Typing, Music, Pauline studies, Personal Evangelism, Christian Evidence, Devotional Studies, Homiletics, Tabernacle Studies, Prophecy and The Holy Spirit.
Students traveled great distances to FGBI. At the beginning of each school year the CNR train would roll into town. Bright eyed eager men and women would disembark from the passenger cars to be welcomed by the town folk. Eston was to be their home away from home.
The Prairie Elevators
The "prairie" folk enjoyed the "coast" folk as they sounded out each other's greatest ignorance. Laughter surrounded the notion of an elevator. To the "urbanites" an elevator was a contraption that took people from one floor to another. But what's this? An elevator in Eston? How ridiculous! It didn't take long to discover that Eston did have elevators, the grain elevators that dotted the prairie skyline.
South Saskatchewan Riverhills
Eston Saskatchewan Riverhills
From the beginning regular outings to the nearby river hills have been a highlight of school life.