Creator(s): Massey Area Museum
Travel along a time tunnel of the fascinating photography of Hugh Cummings to see what life looked like a century ago on the north shore of Georgian Bay, and how the community has changed over 100 years.
A son of the Cummings family, he became an integral part of the Massey community when they moved from Michigan in 1898. Hugh, an amateur photographer, opened a photography studio in Massey in 1907, the same year the Massey Fair began. Although Hugh was well known for his photographs of the local landscape, his studio became popular with Massey area residents who wanted to record birthdays, weddings, christenings and other festivities.
The Massey and District Museum
Cumming's photography shop has been reproduced in the Massey and District Museum, including the table so familiar to many young subjects and their doting parents. Taking photographs of family events was time consuming, but Hugh found time to record life beyond the studio, offering many of these scenes on postcards for the general public.
Visit this Community Memories online exhibit to discover more about the life and time of this Canadian photographic pioneer.