Canadian Junior "A" Hockey League

The Canadian Junior "A" Hockey League has eight member leagues encompassing 92 teams in 2000-2001. Junior "A" hockey provides an option for players hoping to advance to collegiate hockey and the professional game. The Canadian Junior "A" Hockey League was formed at a meeting in Winnipeg held November 19-21, 1993. It was determined that there were 118 teams operating within the eleven junior "A" leagues, plus Thunder Bay. The CJAHL was formed from the Canada West Association of Junior "A" Hockey which had been operating since 1990.


© 2001, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans