Quebec Major Junior Hockey League

In 1969, the last piece of the future Canadian Hockey League fell into place. The Quebec Major Junior Hockey League formed for the 1969-70 season. The league featured eleven franchises for its inaugural season and has now swelled to sixteen with the recent addition of the Montreal Rocket. Originally strictly Quebec-based, the league attempted U.S. expansion into Plattsburgh with the Pioneers in 1985-86, but the team lasted only seventeen games. The league had much better luck outside Quebec when it expanded east into the Maritimes, with franchises now located in Acadie-Bathurst, Cape Breton, Halifax and Moncton.

The QMJHL, with its accent on offensive hockey, has produced many scoring stars over the years including Guy Lafleur, Mario Lemieux and Vincent Lecavalier, and recently has become a veritable goalie factory. The offensive nature of the game seems to help produce top-notch goaltenders; such as Patrick Roy, Martin Brodeur, and Roberto Luongo.

With the bulk of Canada geographically covered by the three leagues, the Canadian Amateur Hockey Association felt that the leagues would be best served with some overall leadership. At the 1975 CAHA annual meeting, held that year in Quebec City, it was decided that the OHL, WHL and QMJHL would join together to form the Canadian Hockey League.


© 2001, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans