History of Le Musée de la Vie Bourguignonne

Le Musée de la Vie Bourguignonne opened to the public in 1985 in the cloister of the convent of the Bernardines, the Cistercian order of Saint Bernard de Citeaux, for which construction began in 1679.

The museum, which moved into the cloister in 1982, has space on three levels.

On the ground floor, the Perrin de Puycousin gallery displays the rural and ethnographic heritage of Burgundy in the late 19th century. Furniture, household equipment and traditional costumes are displayed in showcases that explain how knowledge is passed from one generation to another or in lifelike reconstructions using waxwork figures. This late nineteenth-century approach to museums recalls the museum’s founder, Perrin de Puycousin.
Musée de la Vie Bourguignonne
Canadian Heritage Information Network

© 1997, CHIN-Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans