Abby Hoffman Trophy

The Abby Hoffman Trophy, awarded to the winners of the Esso Women's Hockey Championships was first awarded in 1982. Abby Hoffman played minor hockey on a boy's team until it was discovered she was a female. The media coverage of her story brought nation-wide attention to the limited options for young girls who wanted to play minor hockey. As an adult, Hoffman became involved in the CHA and its member branches, introducing a national women's hockey championship.


© Izak Westgate / Hockey Hall of Fame

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans