Cover of Report of Resolutions Adopted at a conference of Delegates, at Québec, October 10, 1864

This is a list of the 72 resolutions passed at the Québec Conference (by delegates from the provinces of Canada, Nova Scotia and New Brunswick, and the Colonies of Newfoundland and Prince Edward Island), held October 10-27, 1864. The report explained the laws and institutions that would govern confederation. The resolutions were the basis of the 1867 “British North America Act” that created Canada. The decision to build an intercolonial railway was also made at the Québec Conference. MG24-B96, R2707-0-5-E, MAINS23081, MIKAN 104498

Québec, Quebec, CANADA
© 2007, Library and Archives Canada. All Rights Reserved.

Cover of A Proclamation for Uniting the Provinces of Canada, Nova Scotia, and New Brunswick...

This proclamation by Queen Victoria, dated May 22, 1867, declared that as of July 1, 1867, the province of Canada (Ontario and Quebec), Nova Scotia and New Brunswick would be united into on Dominion under the name of Canada. July 1 became known as Dominion Day (now Canada Day). Also included were the names of those summoned to the Senate of Canada. MIKAN 2953839

Queen Victoria
Ontario, CANADA
© 2007, Library and Archives Canada. All Rights Reserved.

Learning Objectives

The purpose of this series of images is to give primary evidence for students to explore on the topic of Canadian Confederation.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans