Abby Hoffman Trophy

The Abby Hoffman Trophy, awarded to the winners of the Esso Women's Hockey Championships was first awarded in 1982. Abby Hoffman played minor hockey on a boy's team until it was discovered she was a female. The media coverage of her story brought nation-wide attention to the limited options for young girls who wanted to play minor hockey. As an adult, Hoffman became involved in the CHA and its member branches, introducing a national women's hockey championship.


© Izak Westgate / Hockey Hall of Fame

Golden Path Trophy

With the rapid growth of women's hockey in the last ten years, the sport has also enjoyed a boom at Universities, with several schools running successful women's programs. The Canadian Intercollegiate Athletic Union sanctions league play from coast to coast with the champions winning the Golden Path Trophy.


© Lisa Harmatuk/Hockey Hall of Fame

The Championship Cup

The National Women's Hockey League began operation for the 1999-00 season and, though it aspires to become a professional league, it is for the time being an Amateur organization. The league began with a circuit comprised of club teams from Ontario and Quebec, though expansion in its second year has added a franchise in Vancouver. The teams vie for the Championship Cup in a traditional play-off format.


© Matthew Manor / Hockey Hall of Fame

Learning Objectives

The learner will:

  • Investigate the role that hockey plays in Canada’s national identity
  • Explore the history of hockey in Canada
  • Identify significant people involved in hockey in Canada
  • Examine the evolution of non-professional hockey in Canada
  • Explore the major amateur leagues, tournaments and awards available to male and female athletes

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans