The Commissariat 3D Reconstruction Project Virtual Museum of Canada
The Bytown Herald
Volume 1, No 1. 24 May 1832 français | home | feedback | credits  
about the project | the animation | still photo gallery | the transcript  

THE ANIMATION

The guided tour is narrated by Lt. Colonel John By and Lord Dalhousie.  Colonel By was the Royal Engineer in charge of the Rideau Canal construction and early Ottawa, known as Bytown, was named after him.  Lord Dalhousie was the Governor-In-Chief of Canada and Colonel By reported to him.  In less than six years, the Canal was complete - an amazing feat considering that only hand tools were used.  However, the project was not without its setbacks.  Through construction accidents and disease, it is believed that between 500 and 1,000 workers (or Canal navvies) were killed during the construction period.

You can view the Commissariat Reconstruction Project by downloading the eight video-clips below in the format of your choice.  If you are unable to view the video-clips, please click here for a photo gallery with accompanying text.

QuickTime MOV Format

Download the QuickTime Player

MP4 Format

Download Media Player (for Windows) OR download QuickTime (for Mac)

Disclaimer

Please note that this project recreates the Ottawa Locks site, including a detailed reconstruction of the Commissariat Building.  However, it does not show the early development of Bytown in the surrounding area.  In this production, the area appears as a green landscape.

National Research Council Canada Logo Bytown Museum Logo

Le projet de reconstruction 3d du Commissariat Musée virtuel du Canada
Le  Bytown Herald
Volume 1, No 1. 24 mai 1832 english | accueil | rétroaction | remerciements  
à propos du projet | l'animation | gallerie de photos | la transcription  

L'ANIMATION

Le lcol John By et Lord Dalhousie font office de narrateurs de la visite guidée. Le colonel By était l’ingénieur de Sa Majesté responsable de la construction du canal Rideau et c’est en son honneur que la ville d’Ottawa s’appelait autrefois Bytown. Lord Dalhousie était gouverneur en chef du Canada et le colonel By dépendait de lui. En moins de six ans, le canal était terminé, soit une réalisation étonnante compte tenu que seuls des outils manuels ont été utilisés. Toutefois, le projet a aussi connu des jours sombres. Au cours de la construction, il y a eu des cas d’accidents et de maladies et, croit-on, entre 500 et 1 000 travailleurs (ou « marins » du Canal) ont perdu la vie pendant la période de construction.

Vous pouvez visualiser le projet de reconstruction du Commissariat en téléchargeant les huit vidéoclips qui suivent, dans le format de votre choix. Si vous ne pouvez visualiser les vidéoclips, cliquez ici pour visualiser une galerie de photographies avec texte d’accompagnement.

Format MOV (QuickTime)

Télécharger le lecteur QuickTime

Format MP4

Télécharger le lecteur Windows Media (pour Windows) ou le lecteur QuickTime (pour Mac).

Avis de non-responsabilité

À remarquer que ce projet est une reconstitution du site des écluses d’Ottawa, y compris une reconstruction détaillée de l’immeuble du Commissariat. Toutefois, n’y sont pas illustrés les premiers développements de Bytown dans les secteurs environnants. Dans cette production, les zones en question figurent en paysages de verdure.

Conseil national de recherches Canada Logo du Musée Bytown