The Force in the North

The Changing Name

The North-West Mounted Police (NWMP) is formed to bring law, order and Canadian authority to the North-West Territories (present-day Alberta and Saskatchewan).

The jurisdiction of the Mounted Police is officially extended to the Yukon.

The prefix "Royal" is conferred on the NWMP by King Edward VII in June, 1904, in recognition of their valuable and faithful service.

Provincial policing contracts are terminated and the RNWMP are now responsible for federal law enforcement only in Alberta, Saskatchewan and the territories.

Enforcement is extended to all four western provinces.

Federal policing is re-organized, the RNWMP absorbs the Dominion Police and become the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP). The responsibility for federal law enforcement is extended to all provinces and territories.