Exhibition Introduction Virtual Museum of Canada
Home | Feedback

Examining the Institutional View


This discussion will make regular use of the concept of "the institution." This word, problematic at the best of times, in this case requires some special attention so it can be properly defined in the contexts of this project. In its most general sense, "the institution" is considered by our authors to refer to those bodies that determine the "official story" of a place or situation. These bodies are often governmental, as in the case of a national tourism board or ministry of transportation, but they can also be commercial or corporate. They can even refer to an institutional body that has grown up organically-"popular wisdom" or "common knowledge" can sometimes exert just as strong and monolithic an influence over people's perception as a carefully constructed government brochure. The two sections of this project focus on different manifestations of institutional influence: Subversive Souvenirs: Questioning the Institutional View in the Imagery of Tourism and Surveillance addresses the institutional visions that colour the tourism industry, and Subversive Cartography: Challenging the Accuracy of the Official Map addresses the institutional influence on mapmaking. Both sections have in common their discussions of the institution-and its discontents-in terms of their effects on our understanding of place.

In Subversive Souvenirs, which focuses on the tourism industry and on artists who examine the ways in which it can represent place, "the institution" refers in general to those bodies that present a monolithic vision of spaces and sites as tourist destinations. Specifically, the institutions in question here are the tourism boards that write the brochures, the corporate interests that often present a one-sided view of places to the world, and even the imaginary impressions we collectively have of places we've never been.

Tourism boards serve rhetorically as "the institution" in this discussion because they often present a one-sided or very subjective view of a place. For example, it is the zeal of the provincial tourism boards that are responsible, to a great degree, for the general portrayal of Canada's Prince Edward Island as a green-gabled island wilderness untouched by progress or time, and of Alberta as a land of rodeos, nonstop barbecues, and wholesome ranch-style living. Surely, there are ocean vistas and pigtails to be found in the Maritimes, and certainly the Canadian west has its share of beef and ten-gallon hats. But these are reductive stereotypes that do two things: they lure visitors and they misrepresent places. While tourists might be charmed by the palatable two-dimensionality of these brochure ideals, the intricate realities of Charlottetown and Red Deer are overlooked or, worse, Photoshopped away. Tourist boards, doing their best to improve the economy and help the world fall in love with the places they stand for, sometimes commit the incidental folly of oversimplifying and misrepresenting these places as well. They are "the institution" in this argument, then, because they present a singular view of place, and because they have the money, resources, and global profile to obscure alternative views.

Similarly, corporate interests can work as "the institution" in this discussion. Disneyland, for example, works hard to turn southern Florida into a land of cartoons and peppy grandeur; its footprint on the cultural landscape is so huge and indelible that these Mickey Mouse images obliterate any others that might try to emerge. The skiing industry, as another example, turns any place with a big hill into an alpine resort, leaving very little room for any other cultural or social identities that might try to assert themselves there. Likewise, huge corporate entities like Club Med or Sandals exert such an influence over the representation of the places they inhabit-Barbados becomes a land of hot tubs and swim-up bars; Jamaica becomes an island of harmless dreadlocked children and en-suite Jacuzzis; Mexico has singles nights and room service-that there is little chance for other types of culture or representation to thrive or even survive. These corporate interests act as "the institution" because they can, essentially, purchase an identity for the land they sit on and eliminate the possibility of alternative identities and representations.

In a very similar way, the industries that produce souvenirs determine the look and impression of a place. Canada's ambassadors to the world are, quite often, the tacky polyethylene Moose figurines that litter souvenir shops along the border, and it's hard to imagine getting out of Arizona without a Grand Canyon ashtray or leaving the airport in Scotland without a piece of something tartan. The very manufacture of these goods determines how such places will be represented and remembered. Even more ubiquitous are the postcard stands we see scattered like weeds anywhere with a hotel or a main drag. These little portraits-staged, airbrushed, and prettier than the real thing-wink back at us, repeating images of the place around us in miniature, over and over, offering thousands of tiny, perfect simulations of the real place we're in. Postcards, the backbone of the souvenir industry, are glossy substitutes for reality, almost eliminating the need to look around. With the reams and stacks of tiny, perfect Eiffel Towers, CN Towers, and Statues of Liberty, postcards describe an unlikely uniformity of representation, reducing places to their sets of predictable images. Postcards, snow globes, and the trinketry of travel-multi-billion dollar industries, all-work as "the institution" because they control the representation of place this way.

One of the more ubiquitous incarnations of the institution discussed in Subversive Souvenirs is that of the almost incidental monolith of stereotype. Built up over decades, with subtle or heavy-handed contributors like movies, rumours, propaganda, home slide shows, and wishful thinking, these stereotypes can become as enormous and impenetrable as any government or corporate institution. When we trust in them, and when there is a paucity of alternatives, stereotypes can become the incontestable documents of fact in our minds, and we can believe in them so much that they become self-fulfilling prophecies. If we expect to see cowboys when we travel to the American west, we will see them, even if it means they must be hallucinated or manufactured.

These definitions of "the institution" are all alluded to in Subversive Souvenirs, because the artists discussed all examine these phenomena and attempt either to draw attention to the subjectivity of the institutional view or to contradict it altogether and offer other views in its place. In Subversive Cartography, the institution takes on a slightly more consistent meaning-in this case, it refers to the organizations involved in the making of maps. Road maps, political maps, city maps showing landmarks and points of interest, landscape maps showing environmental features, or even transit maps: all of these tend to be authored by subjective parties with views that are necessarily skewed one way or another.

For example, road maps drawn up by car companies will take into account only those details relevant to their interests: major arteries, common routes, larger cities. Some will even include subjective details like where to stop for gas (if one of their shareholders is a petrol company) or who to call for a tow (if a shareholder has tow trucks). This is to be expected: car companies make maps for people with cars and cater to particular car-oriented proclivities. A CAA (Canadian Automobile Association) map of North America, for example, will help you get from Goose Bay, Labrador to Chihuahua, Mexico as efficiently as possible, and might tell you how to find every Denny's along the way. But it won't offer any information at all, none whatsoever, about the cultural life in Dayton or the street art in Berkeley or the inclement political vibes in Little Rock. Why should it? If you're driving across a continent, you probably don't have time to fuss with details like that. But the fact of their absence-and of the absence of everything not directly related to your A-to-B trajectory-illustrates one important fact about maps: they are, by definition, subjective and exclusionary. No map can claim to be telling the whole truth, yet quite often maps are given the kind of implicit authority that lets them stand in for reality. When this happens, they can be considered to represent the "institutional" view.

Even maps drawn up by seemingly trustworthy and incontrovertible bodies-like, say, the ministry of agriculture or the City of Toronto-are vulnerable to the same margins of error, omission, and myopia. All of the information on the City map may be accurate, but it still doesn't provide a true or complete picture of what the place it's representing is like. It does, however, operate as an "institutional" document-it is the City's official statement on what the City is, and the very credibility of its source strengthens the hold it has on people's imaginations. The City map is the official version, and so The City is the "institution" which offers its singular-and often incomplete-representation.

It's impossible to be complete, of course: even with state-of-the-art cartographic technology, no single map can fully represent the entirety of a place in all its nuanced complexity. The artists discussed in Subversive Cartography acknowledge this, and address the fact that quite often, maps are imbued with far more authority than they deserve. They show that only by offering myriad alternatives, and acknowledging that no one answer is the correct one, can an approximation of accuracy even be approached.

Both sections of this project address the role of the "institution" in terms of its effect on the understanding of place. One examines it in terms of its relationship to the tourism industry, and another examines it in the context of mapmaking and geography. In both cases, the artists involved look at and play with creating alternatives to the institutional view, and attempt to challenge its singularity, its authority, and its monolithic profile.


Copyright © 2006 Gallery TPW
All Rights Reserved

Introduction Musée virtuel du Canada
Accueil | Commentaires

Examen de la vue institutionnelle


Cette discussion se reportera régulièrement au concept de "l'institution". Ce mot, problématique dans le meilleur des cas, exige ici une attention spéciale afin d'être défini correctement dans les contextes de ce projet. Dans son sens le plus général, "l'institution" est considérée par nos auteurs comme ces organes qui déterminent "l'histoire officielle" d'un lieu ou d'une situation. Ces organes sont souvent gouvernementaux, comme dans le cas d'un conseil national du tourisme ou d'un ministère des transports, mais ils peuvent également être commerciaux ou privés. Ils peuvent même être un organe institutionnel qui s'est formé organiquement - la "sagesse populaire" ou "savoir commun" peut parfois exercer une influence tout aussi forte ou monolithique sur la perception des gens qu'une brochure du gouvernement conçue judicieusement. Les deux sections de ce projet portent sur des manifestations différentes de l'influence institutionnelle : Souvenirs subversifs : mise en question de la vue institutionnelle dans les images du tourisme et de la surveillance porte sur les visions institutionnelles qui colorent l'industrie du tourisme et Cartographie subversive : mise en question de l'exactitude de la carte officielle traite de l'influence institutionnelle sur la cartographie. Les deux sections ont en commun leurs discussions de l'institution - et de ses malaises - pour ce qui est de ses effets sur notre compréhension d'un lieu.

Dans Souvenirs subversifs, qui se concentre sur l'industrie du tourisme et sur des artistes qui examinent les différents moyens dont ils disposent pour représenter un lieu, "l'institution" fait référence de façon générale aux organes qui présentent une vision monolithique des espaces et des sites en tant que destinations touristiques. Spécifiquement, les institutions en question ici sont les conseils du tourisme qui rédigent les brochures, des intérêts du secteur privé qui présentent souvent au monde une vue unilatérale des lieux et même les impressions imaginaires que nous avons collectivement d'endroits où ne nous sommes jamais allés.

Les conseils du tourisme servent, pour la forme, en tant que "l'institution" dans cette discussion car ils présentent souvent une vue unilatérale ou très subjective d'un lieu. Par exemple, c'est le zèle des conseils provinciaux du tourisme qui sont, en grande mesure, responsables du portrait habituel de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard au Canada comme étant une île verte et sauvage avec des maisons à pignons, laissée intacte par le progrès et le temps ou de l'Alberta comme étant le pays des rodéos, des barbecues sans fin et de la vie salubre sur les ranchs. Sans aucun doute, on trouve de belles vues sur la mer et des petites filles aux cheveux tressés dans les Maritimes, de même l'Ouest canadien a sa bonne part de bétail et de chapeaux de cow-boy. Ce sont pourtant là des stéréotypes réducteurs qui aboutissent à deux choses : ils attirent les visiteurs et ils représentent faussement les lieux. Bien que les touristes puissent être séduits par le caractère bidimensionnel et charmant des lieux que décrivent ces brochures, la réalité complexe de Charlottetown et Red Deer est mise de côté ou, carrément effacée comme si elle avait été manipulée avec PhotoShop. Les conseils du tourisme, en faisant de leur mieux pour améliorer l'économie et aider le monde à s'éprendre des lieux qu'ils représentent, finissent parfois par simplifier à l'extrême et à présenter ces lieux sous un faux jour. Ils sont donc "l'institution" dans ce débat, car ils présentent une vue singulière d'un lieu et parce qu'ils ont les moyens, les ressources et le statut qui leur permettent de masquer les autres vues.

De façon semblable, les intérêts privés peuvent incarner "l'institution" dans cette discussion. Disneyland, par exemple, s'efforce de faire du Sud de la Floride un monde de dessins animés plein d'entrain; son empreinte sur le paysage culturel est si massive et indélébile que ses images de Mickey Mouse oblitèrent toutes les autres qui pourraient apparaître. L'industrie du ski, pour donner un autre exemple, transforme toute collectivité avec des collines un peu élevées en une station alpine, laissant peu de place à d'autres identités culturelles ou sociales qui pourraient vouloir s'y affirmer. De même, les grandes sociétés privées, comme Club Med ou Sandals, ont une telle influence sur la représentation des lieux où ils fonctionnent - la Barbade devient un paradis de cuves thermales et de bars de piscine; la Jamaïque est décrite comme une île peuplée d'enfants innocents aux tresses rastas et de chambres d'hôtel de luxe avec bain tourbillon; le Mexique offre des soirées célibataires et le service en chambre - que les autres types de culture ou de représentation ont peu de chance de réussir ou même de survivre. Ces intérêts privés agissent en tant qu'" institution" parce qu'ils peuvent, essentiellement, acheter l'identité du lieu dans lequel ils s'installent et éliminer toute possibilité d'autres identités et représentations.

D'une manière très semblable, les industries qui fabriquent des souvenirs déterminent l'apparence d'un lieu et l'impression qu'il donne. Les ambassadeurs du Canada dans le monde sont, bien souvent, les vulgaires figurines d'orignaux en polyéthylène dont débordent les magasins de bibelots situés près de la frontière et c'est difficile d'imaginer quitter l'Arizona sans un cendrier portant une image du Grand Canyon ou un aéroport d'Écosse sans un bibelot aux couleurs d'un tartan écossais. La fabrication même de ces articles détermine comment ces endroits seront représentés et inscrits dans la mémoire collective. Les présentoirs de cartes postales sont encore plus omniprésents, on les trouve éparpillés partout où il y a un hôtel ou une rue commerciale. Ces petits portraits - mis en scène, retouchés et enjolivés - nous font des clins d'œil, répétant en miniature maintes et maintes fois les vues du lieu, offrant des milliers de simulations parfaites en taille réduite du lieu réel où nous nous trouvons. Les cartes postales, la base de l'industrie des souvenirs, sont des substituts lustrés de la réalité, éliminant presque la nécessité de regarder autour de soi. Avec les piles et les stocks de toutes petites et parfaites Tours Eiffel, Tours CN et Statues de la Liberté, les cartes postales décrivent une uniformité improbable de la représentation des sites, les réduisant à leurs ensembles d'images prévisibles. Les cartes postales, les boules à neige et les bibelots touristiques - une industrie de plusieurs milliards de dollars - remplissent le rôle de "l'institution" car ils contrôlent la représentation d'un lieu de cette façon.

Une des incarnations les plus courantes de l'institution traitée dans Souvenirs subversifs est celle d'un monolithe de stéréotypes presque fortuits. Formés sur des dizaines d'années, avec l'aide de contributions subtiles ou flagrantes du cinéma, des rumeurs, de la propagande, des diaporamas maison, voire des rêves en couleur, ces stéréotypes peuvent s'avérer aussi énormes et impénétrables que n'importe quel gouvernement ou grande société privée. Lorsque nous leur faisons confiance, et quand il y a bien peu d'autres options, les stéréotypes peuvent devenir des documents de faits incontestables dans nos esprits et nous pouvons finir par y croire si fermement qu'ils deviennent des prophéties qui s'exaucent. Si nous nous attendons à voir des cowboys quand nous allons dans l'Ouest américain, nous les verrons, même si cela implique qu'ils doivent être des hallucinations ou des fabrications.

Ces définitions de "l'institution" sont toutes évoquées dans Souvenirs subversifs, car les artistes discutés examinent tous ces phénomènes et essaient soit d'attirer notre attention sur la subjectivité de la vue institutionnelle soit de carrément la contredire et d'offrir d'autres vues à sa place. Dans Cartographie subversive, l'institution prend une signification un peu plus cohérente - dans ce cas, elle fait référence aux organismes qui s'occupent de créer les cartes. Les cartes routières, les cartes politiques, les cartes de villes montrant les sites et points d'intérêt, les cartes du terrain indiquant les caractéristiques de l'environnement, ou même les cartes de transport : toutes ont tendance à être dessinées par des auteurs subjectifs qui ont des vues nécessairement biaisées d'une manière ou d'une autre.

Par exemple, les cartes routières dessinées par les compagnie automobiles tiendront compte seulement de détails pertinents à leurs intérêts : grandes artères, itinéraires communs, agglomérations. Certaines contiendront des détails subjectifs : où s'arrêter pour acheter de l'essence (si l'un de leurs actionnaires est une compagnie pétrolière) ou qui appeler pour une dépanneuse (si un actionnaire possède une dépanneuse). Il n'y a rien d'étonnant ici : les compagnies automobiles font des cartes pour ceux qui ont une voiture et servent les intérêts associés aux voitures. Une carte de l'Amérique du Nord de l'Association canadienne des automobilistes, par exemple, vous aidera à voyager de Goose Bay au Labrador à Chihuahua au Mexique par le trajet le plus direct possible et pourrait bien vous dire où trouver les restaurants Denny's sur votre route. Mais elle ne vous informera aucunement au sujet de la vie culturelle à Dayton ou de l'art de la rue à Berkeley ou des remous politiques à Little Rock. Pourquoi le ferait-elle? Si vous traversez un continent en voiture, vous n'avez probablement pas le temps de vous compliquer la vie avec ce genre de détails. Mais leur absence même - et l'absence de tout ce qui n'a pas un lien direct avec votre itinéraire de A à B - illustre un fait important au sujet des cartes : elles sont, par définition, subjectives et font des exclusions. Aucune carte ne prétend dire toute la vérité, pourtant bien souvent les cartes s'arrogent une espèce d'autorité implicite qui leur permet de remplacer la réalité. Quand c'est le cas, on peut considérer qu'elles représentent la vue "institutionnelle".

Même les cartes dessinées par des organes apparemment de confiance et incontestables - comme, par exemple, le ministère de l'Agriculture ou la Ville de Toronto-sont sujettes à la même marge d'erreur, aux omissions et à la myopie. Toute l'information figurant sur la carte de la ville peut être exacte, néanmoins elle n'offre pas une image réelle ou complète de comment est véritablement le lieu qu'elle représente. Elle sert, cependant, de document "institutionnel" - elle est l'énoncé officiel de la Ville sur ce qu'est la ville et la crédibilité même de sa source renforce son emprise sur l'imagination des gens. La carte de la ville est la version officielle, ainsi la Ville est "l'institution" qui diffuse sa représentation singulière - et souvent incomplète.

C est bien sûr impossible qu'elle soit complète : même avec la technologie cartographique la plus avancée aucune carte à elle seule peut représenter intégralement un lieu dans sa totalité, dans toutes ses nuances et sa complexité. Les artistes discutés dans Cartographie subversive le reconnaissent et abordent le fait que bien souvent on accorde aux cartes beaucoup plus d'autorité qu'elles ne le méritent. Ils montrent que ce n'est qu'en offrant des myriades d'autres options alternatives et qu'en reconnaissant qu'il n'y a pas une réponse correcte unique, qu'on peut envisager une approximation d'exactitude.

Les deux sections de ce projet traitent du rôle de "l'institution" en fonction de sa répercussion sur la compréhension d'un lieu. L'un l'examine sous l'angle de sa relation à l'industrie du tourisme et l'autre l'examine dans le contexte de la cartographie et la géographie. Dans les deux cas, les artistes considèrent des alternatives à la vue institutionnelle et s'amusent à en créer. Ils tentent également de remettre en question sa singularité, son autorité et son portrait monolithique.


Droit d'auteur 2006 Gallery TPW
Tous droits réservés